We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for price”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
China Village Inn & Suites
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Galloway
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

Basic needs met
As every budget hotel be prepared for small towels and soap.
Fridge worked great
Close to AC
Hard bed
This place is no longer called China Inn, I believe it is the same owners new name and renovations, same old furniture and linens.
Hotel is now called American Star

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Shary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

2 - 6 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2015

We stayed here on a Saturday night and spent $145. It is understandable that this was a weekend rate but this hotel was disgusting.

Hotel room was filthy, towels were thin dirty rags, no garbage can was supplied. Stains and holes in the carpet and walls added to the charm. It's the kind of place that could be charging an hourly rate & you sleep with one eye open.

Lobby was locked, you had to buzz in and you are instantly hit with an intense smell of disgusting perfume.

To top it all off, the showers did not drain. My husband took a shower while standing in two feet of built up water. When I explained the situation to the staff they said you have to push down on a plug to have it drain. When I took the housekeeper up to show me we both struggled and then finally watched the water slowly drain. I asked for a refund of sorts but this was refused. I told the lobby staff that I would be writing a review and she answered with 'we have ways to take them down'.

Please save yourselves from this place! Take note it is called AMERICAN STAR not China Village.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JamieBreedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Me and my husband came to this room and booked for a week. When i went to the office to use the phone(The one in the room did not work) he told me it would cost me 15.00 min. He did let me use his phone but when i got off he asked if i was a massage student because he was looking for a massage student that wanted to make some money to go a little farther. Yes he was asking me if i were a prostitute. VERY UNPROFESSIONAL!!! The room was horrible there was mold and bugs in the bathroom and when i told him of this he moved us to a worst room that had holes in the walls. We already paid so we had no choice but to stay but when it was time to check out at 10 am his wife banged on our door and told us to check out. My husband was not dressed and i told her that i would move the stuff out when i steped out the room she ran in the room and just stared at my husband.. I had to yell at her to leave so my husband could get dressed please go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank parisg1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

First and foremost I want to start by saying that I have stayed at this hotel about 10 times over the last 4 years.It is usually a reasonable price for the area and the fact that atlantic city is about five mies away.The big guy who usually manage the property's name is Muki i believe.In the past he has been very helpful in accommodating my girlfriend and I.In addition on more than one occasion he has called a taxi for us to go to the casinos and made sure we did't get ripped off.Unfortunately this last weekend that I stayed here he was nowhere to be found.We arrived at about 3pm fri afternoon.The check in area door was locked and an elderly woman told me to wait.I finally read the sign on the door which was written in poor english I Shoud add.The sign said to speak to the man who cleaned the rooms.Finding this man was a challenge but when I finally did he walked me to the office and I proceeded to check in.He couldn't speak english to well which made check in difficult.I showed him my reservation which I printed out and gave him my license.He copied it and tried to keep my reservation.I told him that the reservation belonged to me.He gave it back along with my license.Then he asked me if I paid for the reservation.I responded yes it says so on the reservation.The check in office was locked all of friday and Muki didn't show up till some time saturday night.This made my stay unpleasant. Becasue everytime I needed something like towels or toiletpaper I had to try to find the guy who cleaned the room.This wasn't enough to completely ruin my weekend however in the future I may decide to go elsewhere.

Room Tip: The rooms with the Jacuzzi in them are the best rooms in this place.They cost more but they are wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank datruthisbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We deeply regret booking at this place. Don't do it!

Among the many issues:
Reeked of cigarettes
Unfinished home-repair project involving 2x4s
Ripped-up, stained carpet
No bed skirts--bottom mattresses are bare
Disgusting bath mat
Tiny and half-used bottles of shampoo, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galloway hotels
0.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galloway Atlantic City Area
4.6 km away
Marriott's Fairway Villas
Marriott's Fairway Villas
#1 of 19 in Galloway
440 reviews
5 km away
Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Country Hearth Inn Atlantic City/Galloway
3.9 km away
Atrium Inn
Atrium Inn
#6 of 19 in Galloway
28 reviews
0.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Absecon (Atlantic City) Galloway, NJ
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Village Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Village Inn & Suites

Address: 232 E White Horse Pike, Galloway, NJ 08205-9563 (Formerly American Lodge)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Galloway
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Galloway
Price Range: $47 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — China Village Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your China Village Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing