We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kate's Cottage

Kates Cottage Lismore Ireland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kates Cottage Lismore Ireland
Dining Room Spacious with views of the courtyard garden Garden Room-Great views of the mountains
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Kates Cottage Lismore Ireland
Dining Room Spacious with views of the courtyard garden
Garden Room-Great views of the mountains
Relax with Breakfast on the Terrace
Oak siting room ,antique furniture and plenty of books
Oak sitting room looking into the Garden room
Well equipped Kitchen-everything you would need
view from kitchen into the dining room
Luxury Bathroom New for this season
Power shower-Bliss
Master Bedroom
Bath & hand Towels
Second bedroom - 2 single beds (photo shows room set for one person) - views towards the mountains
Plenty of spring bulbs
Rural Peace
Sun in the Courtyard garden
Gone Fishing
Nosey Neighbours
views of the blackwater valley as seen from garden
rear lawn with views towards the blackwater valley
Mountain views
visitors book
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lismore, County Waterford

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Amanda C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived at Kate's Cottage and were very happy with the location. The cottage was easy to find, and it was so serene and peaceful, we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. It really was our home away from home - especially traveling so far with our 4 year old daughter. Lismore was one of our favorite places to visit. We explored the towers, the castle, and the few restaurants in town. The cottage was very well kept, and had all that we needed to be comfortable. Helen and David responded very quickly and gave us excellent directions. We will definitely be back when traveling to Ireland!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norahp182
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage and Lovely Gardens”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We are staying in Kate's Cottage and can recommend it highly. The living room is bright and spacious with double doors opening onto a large patio. A large table and chairs (cushions in the house) are there. This area is a real sun-trap. The kitchen is quaint but well equipped with all mod cons. The owners have made sure that absolutely everything has been supplied. A second set of French Windows opens from the dining room to the extensive garden which is really lovely with a crystal-clear stream running through it.
The bedrooms are roomy and well furnished in a cottage style. The king-size bed in the main bedroom is ultra-comfortable. The owners have provided really decent bed linen and pillows.
Wi-fi is available. It's a little bit temperamental but does the job okay.
The village of Lismore is a couple of miles away and a visit to the castle is a MUST.
Kate's Cottage is a home from home. We love it here and will definitely visit again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
Norah, thank you very much for your kind review . Kate's Cottage is a special place - it is so important to us that our guests feel relaxed and comfortable there. We are at the heart of the Waterford Garden Trail and Kate's is a great base to explore the south-east of Ireland. Again, thanks for your review and enjoy the rest of your stay. Kind regards,
Helen & David.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah1917
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect, comfortable and in such a beautiful place!”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Kate's Cottage is a great base for anyone exploring the south-east. It is comfortable and a real home from home. The owners have thought of everything and the house was very tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Lismore, Dungarvan, Youghal and Fermoy are just short drives away and it is handy for many other beautiful places.We had a great stay there. Thankyou!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: home from home feel
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. Kate's is our home in Irelamd and we take great pleasure hearing that our guests have had a relaxing time. It really is a place to unwind! Thanks again Helen & David.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jak Jak G
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Home from Home!”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A lovely cottage in a beautiful situation. Tastefully furnished with everything you could want for a very comfortable and relaxing stay. We found it a perfect base for exploring the south eastern area of Ireland - Waterford, Cork, Kinsale, Youghal, Dungarvan etc. Recently refurbished bathroom with a lovely hot shower and finished to a high standard. Light airy lounge with stunning views over the mountains. Owners Helen and David very responsive and nothing was too much trouble. Directions could have been clearer but our suggestions have already been taken on board - what more can you ask! Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the warm homely welcomng feel of Kate's Cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2014
Many thanks for your positive comments,We strive hard to make Kates a special place to relax and unwind in a lovely setting.
Must apologise for less than clear directions I sent these from my I phone instead of our normal method via the web page.
Thanks for your help in composing a more detailed guide.
Best Regards
Helen & David Thompson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage with everything you could need and so pretty and relaxing!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a lovely week in Kates cottage! My 3 year old son loved the freedom of such a big garden which is so well looked after! The scenery is fantastic and it is so peaceful! It is the best cottage we have stayed in as everything is thought of! Lismore is a beautiful area full of very kind and friendly people! We will be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review,we get great satisfaction from people having enjoyed their stay at Kates.
We would love you to stay again in our special place.
Many Thanks
Helen & David Thompson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing