We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,366)
Filter reviews
1,366 results
Traveller rating
370
615
236
107
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
615
236
107
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis courts great wine private terrace very nice hotel hotel is situated st valery swimming pool baie somme bay town bikes estuary weather
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,366 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017

On checking out I was told that the computerised billing system was faulty and that I would need to pay later. I made several attempts by telephone to extract a bill. When I did receive it I paid it bt bank transfer the same day. I contacted the hotel several times to check that the funds had been received. After several days I received a message asking me to pay the bill! Despite the fact that I sent them a copy of the email that they had sent me confirming that payment had been made, the receptionists refused to confirm that it had been settled.

Their action and attitude caused considerable stress and time wasting.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Iangb190759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwenaelleperisset, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

We have already spoken about this issue by e-mail. This is a difficulty related to our accounting, which does not question the professionalism of our teams. This is unfortunately the last image you will keep of our hotel, while your stay was pleasant. We are sorry for this inconvenience, but there is no mistake on our part. Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

This is a second-rate shabby hotel which just happens to have a fantastic restaurant. The location is superb but the room we were given was past its best to say the least. The grounds were lovely and the pool looked good and clean but we only stayed one night and so did not use it.
The restaurant is pleasantly situated, the food excellent and the waiter who served us was convivial. The food at breakfast was also faultless.
It is just such a pity about the rooms..........

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwenaelleperisset, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

We thank you for your stay and are delighted that you enjoyed our restaurant. You will have at least a good memory of this dinner at Cape Hornu.
We renovate part of the rooms each winter by keeping natural tones that will suit our guests. Perhaps you will have the opportunity to discover them during your next stay. Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

We booked late and could only reserve a family three bed bedroom. Last time we had a privilege room which was good value. This room on the other hand is not. It is cramped, paint is chipped, double glazing is shot so that you can't see out of the window and the bedroom has a clear view into another. (Not my sort of thing.). What a disappointment.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jocai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwenaelleperisset, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

We thank you for this new booking. There are many different rooms in our hotel, and it is difficult to guarantee the best rooms when you book at the last minute, as these are often the most requested. We know they do not appeal to everyone, but some customers like them, especially families.
For your next stay we advise you to book longer in advance, and so you can ask for your preferred room.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Baie de Somme.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We had a very quiet, comfortable bedroom. The swimming pool was excellent, the views are beautiful and we enjoyed the short stroll into the town along the bayside. The weather was hot and we ate an excellent breakfast outside, the garden and grounds are extensive with plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SGAR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwenaelleperisset, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Thank you for choosing Cap Hornu for your stopover in the Bay of Somme. When the weather is nice the park is really nice to relax and recharge. We look forward to welcoming you back to Baie de Somme. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

I had a business meeting at Cap Hornu and the domaine and the surrounding are very nice. On the other hand, the hotel will need to be renovated as the rooms look a bit used. Outdoors, also the tennis courts need some maintenance.
The quality of the meals served was acceptable for the occasion.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jordaanwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwenaelleperisset, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

We are delighted that this professional trip has enabled you to discover our establishment. We are aware that some rooms are waiting for a renovation and every year we improve the services and benefits. There are many rooms, but we will do work this winter in 14 rooms.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews