We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,364)
Filter reviews
1,364 results
Traveller rating
370
614
235
107
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
614
235
107
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis courts great wine private terrace very nice hotel hotel is situated st valery swimming pool baie somme bay town bikes estuary weather
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,364 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017

This is a second-rate shabby hotel which just happens to have a fantastic restaurant. The location is superb but the room we were given was past its best to say the least. The grounds were lovely and the pool looked good and clean but we only stayed one night and so did not use it.
The restaurant is pleasantly situated, the food excellent and the waiter who served us was convivial. The food at breakfast was also faultless.
It is just such a pity about the rooms..........

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwenaelleperisset, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

We thank you for your stay and are delighted that you enjoyed our restaurant. You will have at least a good memory of this dinner at Cape Hornu.
We renovate part of the rooms each winter by keeping natural tones that will suit our guests. Perhaps you will have the opportunity to discover them during your next stay. Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

We booked late and could only reserve a family three bed bedroom. Last time we had a privilege room which was good value. This room on the other hand is not. It is cramped, paint is chipped, double glazing is shot so that you can't see out of the window and the bedroom has a clear view into another. (Not my sort of thing.). What a disappointment.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jocai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwenaelleperisset, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

We thank you for this new booking. There are many different rooms in our hotel, and it is difficult to guarantee the best rooms when you book at the last minute, as these are often the most requested. We know they do not appeal to everyone, but some customers like them, especially families.
For your next stay we advise you to book longer in advance, and so you can ask for your preferred room.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Baie de Somme.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We had a very quiet, comfortable bedroom. The swimming pool was excellent, the views are beautiful and we enjoyed the short stroll into the town along the bayside. The weather was hot and we ate an excellent breakfast outside, the garden and grounds are extensive with plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SGAR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwenaelleperisset, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Thank you for choosing Cap Hornu for your stopover in the Bay of Somme. When the weather is nice the park is really nice to relax and recharge. We look forward to welcoming you back to Baie de Somme. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

I had a business meeting at Cap Hornu and the domaine and the surrounding are very nice. On the other hand, the hotel will need to be renovated as the rooms look a bit used. Outdoors, also the tennis courts need some maintenance.
The quality of the meals served was acceptable for the occasion.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jordaanwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwenaelleperisset, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

We are delighted that this professional trip has enabled you to discover our establishment. We are aware that some rooms are waiting for a renovation and every year we improve the services and benefits. There are many rooms, but we will do work this winter in 14 rooms.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

I booked here for one night in June. The rooms are single story, and get very hot and in the warm weather, there is no air conditioning.
The location is pleasant, but what, apart from cycling, is there to do? One night is sufficient.
My real complaint was the restaurant - quite expensive, not the problem, but my wife and I ordered one course off the a le carte menu, at 1930. It arrived at 2045 - ludicrous!
We were just about to walk out. The restaurant wasn't even that busy. The waiter was fine and apologetic, but it didn't help the delay. When we left, we spoke to a man who appeared to be the manager, with the waiter present, so he was well aware - his response "Anglais".
For one course each, and a bottle of wine - 78 euro - I expect better. I would not return.

Room Tip: Avoid in heat - first floor rooms get hot!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timetraveller-2007UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwenaelleperisset, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Restaurant du Cap Hornu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

We thank you for your stay and are sorry that your experience in our restaurant did not live up to your expectations.
There is so much to see in the Bay of Somme, the medieval town of Saint Valery sur Somme, the Crotoy port, the Marquenterre park, the abbey and the gardens of Valloires, the Hourdel lighthouse, the beaches Saint Riquier abbey, the Crécy forest, and much more when you travel a little to Amiens (the cathedral, the Saint Leu district, the hortillonnages, the Samara park, the caves of Naours ...). I could talk to you for hours, and our receptionists too.
I have no explanation for the restaurant's events. Each service is different, sometimes longer sometimes shorter, but we do our utmost to offer you every time quality products and make this moment something exceptional.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews