We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aquapackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abel Tasman National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aquapackers
New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We had two nights on board the Aquapackers and loved it. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the BBQ dinner and breakfast perfect for our needs. We had a double room and the boys stayed in the bunk room and all had great sleeps even with a huge storm raging one night. We meet some great people on board as well and the boys especially loved playing scrabble with some travellers from the Netherlands as the language they used was Denglish.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelmumNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    18
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
35
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

This is one of the few places to stay in Abel Tasman National Park unless you pitch a tent. We enjoyed the unique and fun experience of staying on a boat in the middle of such stunning scenery. Much more comfortable than camping! Laidback and friendly staff, easy to chat to the other guests. We had a private cabin so can't judge the hostel-style accommodation. BBQ dinner on the deck was a great way to finish the day after hiking in the park.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

We spent a night on board aquapackers and had a ball! Dinner was delicious and great selection of cereal, toast & jams in the morning.The owners were social and laid back and we spent a few hours chatting over dinner and wine (dont forget to BYO as no alcohol for sale onboard). 

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oreghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

My friend and I had a great time on the boat. The hosts were great, good chat, made you feel at home and they were very laid back. We stayed in the bunk room which was basic but comfortable. It might not have all the luxuries but was a lot more comfortable than camping! It was very good value for money and a great place to stay. Very beautiful location and you could swim in the sea surrounded by incredible scenery. Would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Ticks all the boxes for basic back packing, but with an extra uniqueness slung in.

After being picked up from the beach by dingy, we stayed in a double room, which did what it said on the tin - comfortable and cosy.

The BBQ dinner was good quality and the staff are friendly, but by far the best feature was its surroundings - sea, sky and a beautiful national park. Having a few cheeky hop based beverages on the roof at night time, I lost count at how many shooting stars I saw.

Recommended for kayak trips (thumbs up for Kaiteriteri Kayaks) and those who don't mind the rocking of the ocean.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_The_Gerbi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abel Tasman National Park
10.4 km away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
7.6 km away
Split Apple Retreat
Split Apple Retreat
#1 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
19.9 km away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
6.4 km away
The Barn
The Barn
#4 of 4 in Marahau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
13.2 km away
Fraser Highlands Retreat
Fraser Highlands Retreat
#1 of 9 in Abel Tasman National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquapackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquapackers

Property: Aquapackers
Address: The Anchorage Bay, Abel Tasman National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Abel Tasman National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Abel Tasman National Park
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing