We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed recently overnight after a concert in Chester le Street.”
Review of Beamish Mary Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beamish Mary Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Stanley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Exceptionally rustic old village pub steeped in history and with amazing interior décor.
Check in was by the friendly barman, he answered all our questions regarding travel into Chester Le Street for the night's concert.
Superb selection of real ales, mostly local, and very reasonably priced. My Guinness was excellent, always a sign that the landlord knows how to keep his beers.
We ate in the inn at night and were floored by the massive portions of delicious hand prepared food. I would highly recommend the pie of the day.
As we were late back from the concert, the owner Simon stayed up to let us back into the building. We enjoyed a pleasant conversation regarding the history of the building before retiring for an excellent night's sleep.
Breakfast in the morning was in proportion to, and to the same standard as the previous night's dinner. We both checked out well stuffed.
Don't expect modernity, but the inn has real character with friendly staff and locals, plus excellent food and real ales.

Room Tip: The village road outside has little traffic, so front facing rooms are quiet with pleasant views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil9877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2017

What a wonderful experience, and such lovely and friendly staff. Craig even took my suitcase up to our room for me. My first review ever on Trip Advisor, but in this case I had to do it. Well done Beamish Mary Inn.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pip4654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Stayed three nights with our whippet and could not have been more comfortable and well-received. Really good food and beer. Great place to stay for visiting Beamish Museum, which was just down the road. Bus stops outside of the inn. Durham was an easy visit too with just one bus change. Lovely local people with some good interesting knowledge of the area. Rooms and beds very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank whippetwalkingwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Very spacious room. Very clean. Most comfortable bed i've slept in away from home.
Nice toiletries included in the bathroom
Good service. Great location for the Beamish museum. Good atmosphere in the bar.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ph1l_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

We arrived at about 8pm on a Sunday night, after we'd been contacted by landlord Simon, to see if we wanted the kitchen left open for us, which was a really lovely touch.
The Beamish Mary Inn is a typical village pub, full of very friendly locals and with a welcoming atmosphere. We checked in were given a choice of rooms. We opted for room 2, which was fab. A very comfy bed and all the facilities you could need. We went back down to the bar and had a couple of drinks,before going up to bed.
We had a great night's sleep and got up the next morning to a full English breakfast, with option of cereals and juice, too. All very tasty!
We will definitely be back! Normally, we would have opted for a cheap, soulless, chain hotel, but if you're looking for a more friendly and welcoming service, then this is the place to come!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RepTrougher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
1.7 km away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
3.2 km away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
459 reviews
7 km away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
#1 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
105 reviews
7.5 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,213 reviews
3.6 km away
Riding Farm
Riding Farm
#2 of 10 in Gateshead
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beamish Mary Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beamish Mary Inn

Address: No Place | (next to Durham and Chester Le Street), Stanley DH9 0QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: AU$85 - AU$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beamish Mary Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Beamish Mary Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing