We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
62
30
7
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
30
7
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub real ale full english breakfast family room friendly staff and locals two double beds attending a friends wedding evening meal home cooking stayed here for nights open fire lasagna ensuite bathroom mash dumplings pie sunday lunch
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2017

What a wonderful experience, and such lovely and friendly staff. Craig even took my suitcase up to our room for me. My first review ever on Trip Advisor, but in this case I had to do it. Well done Beamish Mary Inn.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pip4654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Stayed three nights with our whippet and could not have been more comfortable and well-received. Really good food and beer. Great place to stay for visiting Beamish Museum, which was just down the road. Bus stops outside of the inn. Durham was an easy visit too with just one bus change. Lovely local people with some good interesting knowledge of the area. Rooms and beds very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank whippetwalkingwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Very spacious room. Very clean. Most comfortable bed i've slept in away from home.
Nice toiletries included in the bathroom
Good service. Great location for the Beamish museum. Good atmosphere in the bar.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ph1l_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

We arrived at about 8pm on a Sunday night, after we'd been contacted by landlord Simon, to see if we wanted the kitchen left open for us, which was a really lovely touch.
The Beamish Mary Inn is a typical village pub, full of very friendly locals and with a welcoming atmosphere. We checked in were given a choice of rooms. We opted for room 2, which was fab. A very comfy bed and all the facilities you could need. We went back down to the bar and had a couple of drinks,before going up to bed.
We had a great night's sleep and got up the next morning to a full English breakfast, with option of cereals and juice, too. All very tasty!
We will definitely be back! Normally, we would have opted for a cheap, soulless, chain hotel, but if you're looking for a more friendly and welcoming service, then this is the place to come!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RepTrougher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

This pub serves a great choice of real ales at very good prices. The staff are friendly to. I've also eaten Sunday dinner here, service with a smile but not the best of lunches. A lovely rustic pub worth a visit.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank 413gailg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews