We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little pub with rooms, and good plentiful home-cooking”
Review of Beamish Mary Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beamish Mary Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Stanley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This is a traditional local pub, with two bars, one the basic type and the other more "lounge-y", which is where you eat. There was a good open fire, welcome on a dull October evening. There is a good range of real ale which is well kept (according to my husband who is a real ale fanatic). The food is good, all home cooked on the premises, and generous portion-sizes - don't eat here if your idea of a proper dinner is two broccoli spears and 3 peas on a slate with a piece of meat the size of an oxo cube and a smear of sauce! Here you will get a proper plate-full, plus a good range of veg. They stop serving food at 8.30 pm however. Breakfast is the usual juice and cereal followed by a full English, including fried bread, then plentiful toast, plus as much tea or coffee as you want. Again portions were generous, and I did not want anything more until very late in the day!
There is a nice beer garden and smoking area at the rear, and some parking at the front. You can also park in the side streets opposite but look out for notices about private land on which you may not park.
There are perhaps half a dozen bedrooms upstairs. People round here seem to keep early hours, so although our room was at the front over the bar it was quiet by the time we wanted to go to sleep just after 11pm, and there seemed to be little or no traffic on the road, but there are rooms at the back if you want. The beds were comfortable (two doubles in our room!), and although the en-suite was tiny it had everything we needed.
The staff were welcoming, friendly and obliging. It is literally 3 minutes drive from Beamish museum, so ideal for a visit there.

Room Tip: Location is quiet but ask for a room at the back if you want to go to sleep very early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2016

Stayed there for 2 nights early October. Room was spacious and clean. Evening meal had sirloin steak and all the trimmings for only £10.95 bargain. Breakfast was huge just managed to eat it all. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daddio999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights last week and 2 this week, mainly because we were visiting Beamish Museum. Room was large, spacious and had 2 double beds as well as 2 Windows making the room feel light and airy. Free toiletries and free parking. Ample tea, coffee etc as well as bottled water. Owner Simon even washed and tumble dried us a load of laundry! Where else can you get this service?

Cooked breakfast was superb, so too was the pub evening meals - all home cooked. All staff were brilliant, very friendly.

Beamish Mary Inn is within walking distance of Beamish Museum and we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We booked this Inn because it was near Beamish Museum and we had friends who stayed in No-Place many years ago. The inn is a beautiful old place that has been there for many a year. The decor is old fashioned and some would say in need of decoration but this is part of the charm of this place. Our room was clean and comfortable, not up to boutique hotel standards but adequate for our overnight stay. We also had dinner on arrival and the food was hot and plentiful. The staff and locals were very friendly and helpful. We had disturbed sleep not because of noise but the mattress on the bed was sadly in need of change as the springs were felt with every turn. We had a very filling breakfast the following morning before checking out. If you are looking for fancy frills this is not for you, but if you enjoy a bit of nostalgia and genuine home comforts then the Beamish Mary has it in bucket loads..It is also value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kaydivpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We go here regularly and recently went for Sunday lunch. Good selection of vegetables with both roast and mashed potatoes. 3 large thick slices and tender roast beef. Nice country pub atmosphere with friendly staff and a great selection of real ales. Highly recommended...best in the area by far and not too expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Brufsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
1.7 km away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
3.2 km away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
459 reviews
7 km away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
#1 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
105 reviews
7.5 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,213 reviews
3.6 km away
Riding Farm
Riding Farm
#2 of 10 in Gateshead
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beamish Mary Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beamish Mary Inn

Address: No Place | (next to Durham and Chester Le Street), Stanley DH9 0QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: $86 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beamish Mary Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Beamish Mary Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing