We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Middleton in Teesdale, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
26Martin0
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage.”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at Hush Cottage three times now, at all times of year and have loved all our stays here. The cottage really is a hidden gem, everything about it is of the highest standard, Alison and Richard have done a fantastic job putting together a top quality , well equipped cottage from which to explore the surrounding area.

It is beautifully presented and is ideally located for all the local amenities, pubs and restaurants and has many scenic walks on the doorstep.

We really can't recommend Hush Cottage enough, we will definitely be returning in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khughes13...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at hush cottage for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend and we were blown away by how lovely it was. We arrived to a gorgeous welcome hamper which was a nice start to our long weekend. The cottage is small but perfect for two people. It was very clean and had everything we needed. It is finished to a very high standard and the pictures don't do it justice.

Beautiful cottage

We went on a few lovely long walks including walking to High force which I would reccomend visiting.

We are in every night so can't reccomend anywhere to eat. The cottage has all the facilities for cooking in including a dishwasher which was a bonus.

We loved staying and would reccomend this cottage

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Hush Cottage is in the lovely Teesdale village of Middleton, a bustling community in the heart of a beautiful dale. There are many great walks of differing lengths and many good places to eat. The waterfalls at Low Force, High Force and Gibson's Cave are great.
The cottage is beautifully appointed and very tasteful. It is well equipped and extremely comfortable, a lovely retreat in which to relax. On arrival, we were amazed to find a very lovely hamper filled with all sorts of goodies. The owner is delightful and very helpful, and we had a great time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NigelBos
Wakefield, England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“small homely cottage ideal for couples”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

A very clean well equipped cottage which suited us for a week break. An excellent welcome basket on arrival. We found it quiet and you can sit outside in a courtyard which gets the sun. A fridge, coffee machine, dishwasher, toaster and tvs up and downstairs. No freezer. Car has to be parked 100 yards away but there is always some space despite most houses not having parking facilities. Nice village with good eating and plenty of local walks for all abilities. We will return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worrow01
southport
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Could have been much better”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The cottage is clean comfortable and has most items required Lots of hot water plenty of sockets and every item inside was of a high quality.My car a Captur was able to drive through the small pathway to unload
Unfortunately the Village Idiot seems to live next door with a least 3 dogs who bark first thing in the morning 6,45am and last thing at night,whilst one of them came into the cottage
You look directly on to his garden which resembles a scrap yard and annoyingly he has a door that slams throughout a windy night
He looked into our lounge several times and finally had a petrol grass cutter on full blast outside the living room window (you can see there is only gravel outside ) I went outside and moved him on
We were unable to use the small table and chairs as there were 5 lumps of dog turds out side the door and the sight and smell made sitting out impossible
So a great place to visit with lots to see but we would not book this cottage again for the reasons given

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing