We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“THE PERFECT CHRISTMAS AT SHEPHERD'S COTTAGE”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Middleton in Teesdale, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claire S
Catterick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“THE PERFECT CHRISTMAS AT SHEPHERD'S COTTAGE ”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We have just returned home after spending Christmas at Shepherd's cottage and it was simply stunning. The location was amazing and our 20 month old daughter was fascinated by the sheep grazing within metres of the cottage. The layout of the cottage meant that the stunning views could be taken advantage of in the living room on the first floor- so relaxing and we savoured every moment of tranquility. We were spoilt with all the beautiful walks nearby including High Force, Low Force and all the gorgeous villages within a few kilometres of Holwick. Our dog had the most exciting time chasing rabbits and exploring every inch of the route we took each day. He would then slumber in front of the lovely warm fire back at the cottage. The cottage had been festively decorated for the Christmas period and we were able to take home some fantastic memories which will stay with us for a long time. Mr and Mrs Scott ensured that our stay was as comfortable as possible and there were some really lovely chocolates waiting for us on our arrival too. They were very friendly and we had the pleasure of chatting to the local villagers who again made us feel so welcome.
If we had to mention any negative points they would be that we wish we could have stayed longer. Gives us a good excuse to book again in the summer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
786aliste...
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful location...the perfect getaway”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We really do run out of superlatives to describe how amazing the location of this property is. If you love the outdoors, if you're looking to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life, if you love being surrounded by unspoilt countryside, away from the well-trodden tourist trails, then this really is THE PERFECT place to come. That is no over-statement. We stayed in Shepherd's Cottage for two weeks and we loved every minute of our time there - we will most certainly be coming back. Having stayed in many beautiful locations the length and breadth of the British Isles over the years, this definitely ranks very near top of the list in our estimation.

The cottage is a lovely place full of character, tastefully decorated and well equipped. No fixed line internet access, but we could get a good level of 4G mobile internet access (Vodafone), which was quite adequate; anyhow we were pleased to be able to escape the constant hassle of emails, etc, and just enjoy the peace and complete absence of 'noise' in all senses of the word.

Just a few minutes walk through a field, over a stile and you're on the Pennine Way, with the delights of Low Force (1 mile) and High Force (3 1/2 miles) within easy reach. Many other excellent walks possible right from the doorstep, offering access to breathtaking scenery and complete solitude. If you enjoy getting the map and compass out, as opposed to following the masses along well worn paths (eg well known region to the west!), then this area is the place for you; a short drive to most parts of the North Pennines offers a similar experience.

The owners, Mr & Mrs Scott, and their daughter, Karen, were very friendly and welcoming. We felt as though we were long standing friends coming to visit.

All in all, a wonderful experience we are desperate to repeat in the future. We are absolutely sure we will never tire of this place and its beautiful, idyllic setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
15111955
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
Reviewed 24 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Had a four night stay at shepherds cottage end of Nov.weather was terrible but this cottage is so warm and inviting the weather doesn't matter.the Scott family who own the cottage make every body feel welcome.lots of walks so take good boots,the local pub is a must visit.everybody so friendly.allready booked for seven nights in March 2016.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2015
Thank you for sharing this lovely feedback with us, we are so pleased that you had a lovely holiday! It is great to hear that you didn't let the weather stop you from getting out and about doing plenty of walking, and having the cosy cottage to come back to sounds perfect! We look forward to seeing you in a few months!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ed w
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Beautiful setting in middle of open countryside. Although compact, the cottage has every facility needed and was spotlessly clean. Warm welcome from owner on arrival. The wild rabbits, the many different birds were a joy to watch

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing