We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A brilliant house that provided everything we...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Malton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
travellgh...
Lake District, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A brilliant house that provided everything we needed”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our daughter and children were visiting from Australia and we decided to have a holiday with them, to include our son and his family. We picked North Yorkshire as a good half way point and booked The Trainers House which was perfect in every way, Our party consisted of five adults and five children so there was loads of room for us. It's location 3 miles from the market town of Malton and 6 miles from Castle Howard plus its proximate to York and Scarborough gave us many options for visits.

We were met on arrival by Dave England, the property manager, who gave us a tour of the house and provided all the help we needed. He was a wealth of information about the area and took the time to make sure we knew we could always contact him if there were any issues to be resolved or advice needed. The card, flowers and wine were a lovely welcome.

The house is well laid out, the comfortable bedrooms are spread out through the house and the bathrooms well positioned. The attic bedroom was commandeered by the older children which worked for the adults too! The kitchen is very well equipped and the two dining tables were ideal. We had five children (aged 4yrs to 9yrs) on one table and the adults on the other, just perfect. The lounge is huge and very light and airy, it has different seating areas so you can all be together or just read and relax. The garden was well used by the children and the outside table and chairs accommodated us all. Last but not least was the swimming pool which was brilliant. It was used every day and gave so much pleasure to everyone. It provided a relaxing and fun end to each day.

We visited the pub in Westow, the Blacksmiths Arms, on two occasions and the food was lovely. We had a great time in the house and were reluctant to leave. Thank you again to Dave for all his help.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and pool were both great
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at The Trainer's House, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay there. It sounds like it was the perfect place for your family holiday, the space really working for all aspects of your time together! Plus the swimming pool - what a wonderful bonus! We certainly hope you return for another holiday very very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laundrylo...
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“We'll be back...”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a lovely week we've had at The Trainer's House. The house doesn't lack anything - plenty of crockery and cutlery and even baking equipment. Washing machine saw daily action with ten adventurous children in situ! The pool was a HUGE success and the kids swam at least once a day. They also made friends with Rio, Biscuit, Flash and Tinker in the stable yard. The most notable thing however was how lovely Dave, the caretaker was - he even lent us a hammer and chisel in case we found a dinosaur at the beach :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool!
Liked least: Plastic mattress cover
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
We are absolutely over the moon that you had such a great holiday at The Trainer's House, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us. It sounds like the children had a whale of a time, especially with their daily dip in the pool and the animals to keep them entertained! We will certainly pass your compliments along to the caretaker for taking such great care of you and hope that you return for another stay soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine E
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Went with friends and family to celebrate my 60 th birthday and what a beautiful house and place to do it the house is amazing pool lovey and lovely walks can't say anything negative about this place a good place to visit is the Robert E Fuller art gallery at Thixendale well worth a visit and thanks to Dave who was at the end of the phone if needed would certainly go back .

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2015
We are so happy that you made The Trainer's House a part of your very special celebration, and we are over the moon that it proved to be such a good choice for your party! Thank you so much for sharing your holiday experience with us. We hope that you all come back and visit us again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meyerman
Lincolnshire, uk
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location & Property”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our visit to the Trainers house was 18mths in the planning, having to book so far in advance to secure the half term week. with 2 families coming together to celebrate significant birthdays, wedding anniversaries and a long awaited adoption. The group comprised of 4 adults, 1 teenager, 5 children ages 10-2yrs, with visiting adult guest throughout the week.

Even before arrival the contacts with both owner Mr Fairley & manger Dave England were excellent, useful& informative. Arranging for an outside caterer Carol Milburn to come in and prepare a celebratory meal for us, contact her on cpmilburn@outlook.com or via Dave England. The agreed menu was superb, very informal & friendly, and well priced at £18.50 pp, Carol was a really nice person, who simply kept in the background and prepared & served the meal to the table.
On arrival we were given the tour of the property etc, guided around the use of the pool, which the children thought was superb & great for all the family. Accommodation was very spacious, with well proportioned bedrooms, a vast lounge & sitting room. Kitchen & dinning room were well stocked and an abundance of seating with two large tables etc. Dave was very efficient in keeping things going, for example the electric cooker developed a fault with one of the oven switch's, within hours an electrician had visited identified the problem on the Saturday, returning on the Tuesday morning to replace, keeping the log pile & fire wood stocked, never being intrusive etc, and a really pleasant bloke! The people we encountered around the stable block were very friendly, the groom and as well the owners daughter, taking time to talk to the girls about the horses etc, Although Malton is only aprox 90mins drive from our respective homes in Yorkshire & Lincolnshire, I cant imagine why we haven't visited the area before, beautiful countryside, ideal base for trip to York, Whitby on the coast etc. The Mrs & co visited the Verbina Spa for the at Helmsley and had a superb pamper & chill out time, with a visit on a vey wet day to Eden camp, which we all thought was an excellent day out and to experience just a small taste of war time Brittan.
The property is clearly looked after, though with high volume of bookings maintenance does become an issue, and in places areas are looking tired, nothing that a good decorating contractor couldn't sort though, filling cracks and emullsioning walls etc. Not a criticism just an observation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy R
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The Trainers House is the perfect place for a large group get together”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a perfect welcome , with an informative tour of the house from Dave. Wine and flowers on the table. We were all blown away with the house , it literally has everything you need , spacious light rooms,beautiful safe grounds, local walks, divine swimming pool . You really do not need to use the car for the entire stay. The trainers house is the quietest property I have ever stayed in and we are already talking about and planning a return visit. Thank you to all concerned for a truly amazing relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness and oeacefulness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing