We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallows Barn

Swallows Barn Cottage - an 18th century former cow shippon with corn loft on the first floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swallows Barn Cottage - an 18th century former cow shippon with corn loft on the first floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Swallows Barn Cottage - an 18th century former cow shippon with corn loft on the first floor
Haymaking time - view of Bosley Cloud and the historic 18th century 20 North Rode railway arches
The farm cows and calves enjoying grazing the lush and peaceful fields
The lovely River Dane and other streams run through the farm fields - great for picnics or fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Congleton, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mcsprog
Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is the second time we have stayed here, the cottage is lovely, very clean, well equipped with everything you could possibly need. Lovely and warm, plenty hot water. Brenda the owner is very nice, she happy to show the children the lambs and farm. Lots do do in the area and shops close by. Highly recommend and would be very happy to stay here again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2017
Thank you for your review following your stay in our Swallows barn cottage. It was lovely to see you again and we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay - particularly your trips to the nearby theme parks of Alton Towers and Drayton Manor Park - which I know you and your children all enjoyed. We hope you may be back for another holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SlugsandB...
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location, well equiped, everything we needed.”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage, beautifully decorated and furnished. So much thought has gone into layout and equipment and owners very helpful and friendly. We would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending to others and would happily rebook for another stay.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Swallows Barn cottage. It is very pleasing to hear that our aim to offer high standards is recognised and appreciated - and equally that the location is so central for all types of interests. We're very lucky to live in such a lovely area. and it would be lovely to welcome you back in the future. kind regards Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Oct 2016
Many thanks for your lovely comments. We gain a great deal of pleasure to see our guests' children enjoying the farm animals, tractors and diggers. We're so pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes Benda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall cleanliness and comfort
Liked least: If anything it is near a main road with traffic noise but not much of a problem.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our cottage - and experienced some of the superb attractions and beautiful countryside which this area has to offer. I hope we'll meet again in the future. kind regards Brenda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ClairPL
1 review
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Really comfortable and clean cottage. Fully equipped. We stayed for a weekend while visiting family - but could have stayed much longer. Brenda and Tom are brilliant hosts too. Will definitely be visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Many thanks for your lovely comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Swallows Barn Cottage and will look forward to your return visit. Best regards Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing