We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb standard”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallows Barn

Swallows Barn Cottage - an 18th century former cow shippon with corn loft on the first floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swallows Barn Cottage - an 18th century former cow shippon with corn loft on the first floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Swallows Barn Cottage - an 18th century former cow shippon with corn loft on the first floor
Haymaking time - view of Bosley Cloud and the historic 18th century 20 North Rode railway arches
The farm cows and calves enjoying grazing the lush and peaceful fields
The lovely River Dane and other streams run through the farm fields - great for picnics or fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Congleton, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
annemarie...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb standard”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We recently stayed at Swallows Barn, just before Christmas and had a lovely few days in the area. The cottage is of a very high standard, with lovely oak beams and doors and was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Brenda and Tom are very welcoming and obliging. we would definitely return. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2015
Many thanks for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to have you to stay with us and we're so pleased that you enjoyed our 'Swallows Barn' cottage and that you appreciated the Christmas touches / decorations. kind regards Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancer193...
Wing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb!”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Swallows Barn is only bettered by the warmth of welcome from Brenda L. Past reviewers have described the cottage well, but nothing could have prepared us for the quality of the furniture and fittings. We felt like moving in!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2014
Many thanks for your lovely comments - which recognised the care and thought that I put into the furniture and furnishings within Swallows Barn cottage. I'm so pleased that you appreciated them and thank you again.
best regards Brenda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean C
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage with excellent facilities”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed in Swallows Barn for a week recently and it was like home from home with a well equipped kitchen and lovely ensuite bedrooms, one with a walk in shower. There is even a cloakroom downstairs. The dishwasher, a big bonus, was easy to work and the stairs easy to access. The cottage is well located for Cheshire and the Peak District and the owners, Brenda and Tom, were very welcoming.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We have taken a lot of pride in attention to detail within the cottage - both in terms of furnishings and fittings - but also in high standard of cleanliness and presentation. We are so pleased that you appreciated our efforts and enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan M
New Bern, North Carolina
2 reviews
“A wonderful cottage and a great host”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a 10 day stay at this great cottage. Brenda and Tom have gone to great lengths to make this a wonderful place to stay. The place is beautifully furnished and meticulously clean and our reception on arrival from the USA was fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The furnishings are first rate
Liked least: There's nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in Swallows Barn. Our aim is always to provide a high standard of comfort, quality furnishings and cleanliness and your recognition of these qualities is much appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet you both and to have you to stay with us. We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future. With best wishes, Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of Swallows Barn. It was our pleasure to have you to stay and it seemed so strange when you left after your extended stay. We particularly missed the children walking round the farm and being so inquisitive - and enjoying sitting on the tractors and playing in the hay barn. It was fortunate that your stay coincided with lambing time so they were able to see and hold the new born lambs. We wish you well in your new home and life abroad. With kind regards Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing