We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I keep such a good memory of this place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
Ranked #2 of 6 Dalkeith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
labbeville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I keep such a good memory of this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Globally, we liked this place comparing with all we stayed at during our 3 weeks holiday in scotland. We have done over 10 hotels/B&B. We stayed in a family room very spacious on the ground floor with an access to the back garden. My two children loved it as they could play with the 2 dogs that belong to the owners. You have to like dogs if you want to use the garden! We do!
Lovely owners, you can feel that they do not own this business just for the money but for all the rest : meeting people and communicate with very good sense of humor.
Our bedroom was next to the kitchen which could be a bit noisy when the owners are preparing the breakfast.
Talking about breakfast. We loved it as you were tasting "old fashion" highland dishes.
The kids had plenty of choice (cereals, yogurts, fruits, ...) but they also tried the Scottish menu (6 and 7 years old).
When we left, after 2 hours of driving back south, we realised that we forgot our passports and wallet in the bedroom.
Little detail...we were Friday and going back to France on the ferry on Sunday night!
The owner kindly proposed us to meet eachother half way which we did and we ended up going for a walk with the dogs.
I will never forget.

Room Tip: just go there, you will not forget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan M, Manager at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Allez la France Vs Wales! A dog walk in The Scottish Borders with a guest family which obviously adored our doggies - GREAT!........and I got to sidestep some of the donkeywork on the day in question. We do hope to see you again - with a new puppy?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    44
    10
    6
    8
See reviews for
73
53
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Lindsay and i spent a week end at Rathan House . Highly individual service from the host/owner ewan (especially at breakfast. Lots of laughter and interest in the guests.
Extremely courteous and excellent rooms. The breakfast s are extra special.
We reall enjoyed ouselves and would go again. We nearly bought one of the puppies and afterwards wished we had
Highly recommended

Room Tip: very pleasant and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Spent 4 nights here visiting Edinburgh daily. Excellent bus service right outside door 20 to 30 minutes to the City and inexpensive day ticket £3.20 (parking in the City would have been a nightmare)

Rathan House is an excellent property, the rooms are well decorated and furnished and kept clean to a very high standard . The beds were comfortable and the new mattresses perfect for a good nights sleep.

Ewan is an excellent host and very entertaining at breakfast, although this often led to delays and confusion over breakfasts etc. I do feel a more staggered approach to breakfast times would be an advantage to all concerned.

Great stay and hope to visit again one day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NutmegUnited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We felt very welcome, and were given lots of useful advice with regard to catching buses and touring Edinburgh. Thank you!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We had a very nice stay at the Guesthouse at Eskbank in August. We had a room that slept 5 (2 adults and two older teenagers) of us comfortably, with a walkout to a beautiful and spacious back yard. Our beds were very comfortable, especially if you like firmer mattresses. Breakfast was definitely a highlight with several prepared menu items offered, including some traditional Scotish breakfast items such as salmon, herring, mackeral, etc., plus many cereal options, fresh fruit, juices. The location works well for someone who wants a more tranquil setting outside of town. There is plenty of room to park your car, but we took Ewan's advice and took the bus most of the time. It's about a 15-20 minute car ride into downtown Edinburgh (or about a 30-40 mn bus ride--the bus stop is about 10 yards from the property). It's also only about 15-20 mn from the airport, since you can completely bypass the downtown area and Ewan can recommend a car to hire if you are coming in late or leaving early. Ewan is a gracious host who loves to tell a good story at breakfast or in the evening. I only wish we had allowed more time to spend in Scotland and more time to spend around the property. The only negative was the bathroom was fairly small for a family of five and only had a shower (which had no curtain or door, which meant toweling up the bathroom after every shower). Overall, it was a very nice stay and a nice way to end our 2 week European vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalkeith
1.0 km away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
0.7 km away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalkeith
3.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
4.5 km away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
6.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank

Property: Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
Address: 45 Eskbank Road | Eskbank, Dalkeith EH22 3BH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Dalkeith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dalkeith
Price range (per night): $90 - $176
Hotel Class:4 star — Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BUS ( no. 3) to Edinburgh Royal Mile - 24 hra ( every 7 mins weekdays) from Rathan House driveway. Cost £1.50/ bus journey.Family Rooms - 2 doubles 3 twin 1 single 1 ( all ensuite)Airport ( 12 miles...95% dual carriageway) 16 minutesFamily holiday oriented upmarket Scottish Tourist Board quality rated 4 star guesthouse - with Parking in the Grounds - set in the leafy Eskbank conservation area with large sheltered peaceful 3/4 acres beautiful walled garden - with a croquet lawn. In an ideal location for park and ride to Edinburgh Scotland. . 7 all en-suite rooms with great memory foam medium firm mattresses. 1 very large and 1 smaller family room. 3 doubles and 1 twin . Near to Dalhousie Castle, Roslin Chapel, Dalkeith palace Adventure Playground and Country park & The Butterfly Farm. Well behaved dogs welcome. 13 Miles from Edinburgh Airport - along A720 (dual carriageway) making Dalkeith a great base for getting quickly to and from the airport for an Edinburgh fly/drive visit. It is also true that the road route into/out of Edinburgh is quicker than from any other direction. There are 6 restaurants/pubs within 2-5 min walk. 1 excellent - ITIHAAS - is 140 yds away. Bus runs every 10 mins to central Edinburgh from stop 30 meters from the driveway. Edinburgh Airport is a 14 minutes drive - 90% of which is dual carriageway...which makes Dalkeith a great base for Flydrive Edinburgh visits. Breakfasts:-Edwardian/ Highland in style - 10 cooked options including 5 seafood dishes - 3 courses - the opposite of an Ulster Fry. Signature dish - "Spealtragan" which few will have tasted. Curious? Let the fairy pipers DE-STRESS you at Rathan House in Eskbank! Dalkeith EH22 3BH ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathan House - The Guesthouse At Eskbank Dalkeith, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing