We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“absolutely brilliant!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tullochgorum Lodge

Beautiful granite-built lodge in half an acre of south facing grounds.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful granite-built lodge in half an acre of south facing grounds.
Fully equipped dining kitchen with granite worktop. 3 good sized double bedrooms with Egyptian cotton sheets.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Beautiful granite-built lodge in half an acre of south facing grounds.
Fully equipped dining kitchen with granite worktop.
3 good sized double bedrooms with Egyptian cotton sheets.
Outdoor hot tub for 6 positioned to maximise the amazing views.
Driveway into lodge.
Dining area of kitchen.
South and west facing sunroom.
Upstairs bathroom her WC, wash hand basin, bath and walk-in shower.
Downstairs bathroom has WC, wash hand basin and walk-in shower.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Boat of Garten, Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
casswife
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,019 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
“absolutely brilliant!”
Reviewed 26 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a long weekend recently with our daughter, son-in-law and two grandchildren to celebrate my birthday and our 44th wedding anniversary and had an amazing time. The cottage is charming, very large and very comfortable and the rooms are just as shown in the photos! There was nothing we could have wished for – every single item has been thought out very carefully to enable visitors to enjoy their stay. The kitchen is very modern and fully equipped and even has an oil fired stove should you require extra cooking facilities – I can just imagine what it would be like to spend Christmas there with a very large dining table and a traditional Christmas dinner laid out!
The very private hot tub is fantastic and despite the very cold temperatures when we were there it was put to good use and we had a lot of fun! The views from the lodge are wonderful and the sheep grazing in the field next to the lodge were an added bonus, especially for our 5 year old grandson.
I could write many, many, more good things about staying here but will just say that we all loved it and would highly recommend it to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything - couldn't fault it!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2016
Hi there,

I hope you had a fabulous birthday and wedding anniversary. Thank you so much for your wonderful review and I am delighted you chose our lodge for your special family celebrations. It is very satisfying to know that you created new memories there. I hope you come and visit again very soon.

Kind regards Justine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for taking time out to leave a great review.

Kind regards
Justine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eck A
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Amazing Cottage.”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at Tullochgorum Lodge for our honeymoon at the end of October. Its five minutes off the main road down a single track road on the banks of the Spey. If you want a private break it is perfect with stunning views.
The Cottage is massive and set in its own large grounds.Inside the cottage is stunning with no expense spared anywhere even on the smaller items. We used both fires in the lodge with logs from the well stocked shed, not that we needed to as the central heating has the lodge warm and cosy in ten minutes flat. Overall we had a great time and will be back.

Top tips, Aviemore is just over ten minutes away and the Mountain cafe does the best breakfast in town .The Cairngorm Hotel is cheap and cheerful while the Winking Owl does a great bar lunch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you had a great honeymoon and am delighted you chose our lodge for your special break. At this time of year it is fabulous to get the fires going and it is great to get tips about where to eat. I hope you come back for your anniversary.

Kind regards Justine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel52Fa...
Falkirk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for Friends and Family Breaks”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at the Lodge for a short break last Weekend and loved it. Beautiful location overlooking the Spey Valley and hills beyond, well equipped and spacious accommodation, lots of lovely walks nearby and close to several golf courses. Owner could not have been more helpful and has also just advised they are doing further improvements to the property in the near future including installation of a second shower upstairs. Separate lounges and a downstairs twin bedroom with shower room and toilet means that groups/elderly relatives or teenagers can have space to chill, watch TV or chat as the mood takes them. Ideal!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and decor
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review. Yes the layout really works well for holidaying with relatives and friends both from a privacy point of view and for those that struggle with stairs. Teenagers also love it there as the snug is a great spot to hook up their PlayStation or Xbox.

I hope you come back and enjoy the improvements.

Kind regards Justine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Blag...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“WOW”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We are birders/wildlife watchers and although this was not our first visit to the Cairngorms it was our first self catering holiday in the area.

This is a great base for exploring the Speyside area and wider Highlands region in general, but at the right time of year if you are a birder you could pick up all the Scottish specialities in a 15-20 mile radius.

This property is really secluded set within its own fenced off grounds well away from the farm and is sheltered within its own small woodland rear garden where there are bird feeders and small birds galore.

The views from this property are simply to die for and even though it's such a secluded spot you are only a few minutes drive away from the shops/bars/eating places and supermarket in
Aviemore.

The property is very spacious and clean and has everything you could want

The sun room looking out onto the Hot tub and the river Spey and mountains beyond was our favourite room and you could spend hours relaxing in there

We were greeted on arrival by 2 buzzards circling overhead and apart from the small birds (tits, finches and treecreeper) we had a great view of a ringtail Hen Harrier quartering in the field the other side of the river from the front of the property.

After a day exploring, the hot tub was an added luxury and afterwards you are quarantined an excellent nights sleep in the master bedroom upstairs.

A very well equipped kitchen and plenty of storage/hanging space throuout

The owner Justine is also very friendly and easy to deal with and answered all our queries/questions before arrival and was very helpful

Anyone that has visited the Cairngorms will already know the wildlife and general beauty of the region but this is an awesome location and a great property to relax in after a long days birding

We cannot wait to return

You will not be disappointed with your stay at Tullochgorum Lodge

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fabulous review. We are so happy you had a great stay and that there were plenty of different types of birds for you to see ,we hadn't quite appreciated how many there were ourselves so thank you for highlighting some of them. We are glad the lodge was comfortable and well equipped and that you had a relaxing stay. We hope you come back soon. Kind regards Justine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing