We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,459)
Filter reviews
1,459 results
Traveller rating
456
471
278
162
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
471
278
162
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room steam railway roll top bath voucher deal bottle of prosecco two night stay both nights lovely hotel patio doors strathspey railway loch garten four poster bed both mornings a bit tired open fire enjoyable stay relaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 1,459 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017

An enjoyable four-day stay. The hotel has a relaxed, friendly atmosphere, and is in a lovely little village. Ate in the bar each evening - good value and quality. Breakfast could be improved, but was OK. Will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Booked late in the afternoon on Booking.com and got B&B for £44. I guess I would be disappointed if I had paid full price, it's a bit tatty here and there, carpets worn and showing signs of age, but fine for a one night stop. Didn't eat at the hotel, chose to wander to Andersons Restaurant which is only a five minute walk down the road

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

This hotel offers good value for money and is ideally situated to explore the Highlands of Scotland along with Loch Ness and the Great Glen. Only 45 minutes from Inverness Airport with many good golf courses within easy reach. With a few little tweaks this could quite easily become a 5 star review. The beds were extremely comfortable but were let down by the pillows which were hard and lumpy and only about 2 inches thick. The food in the bar and/or restaurant was good but I would classify as basic pub food rather than gastropub food, although the specials on the Saturday night were excellent. (Perhaps specials like this should appear every night!!). Breakfast could not really have been better with a large selection of hot food although I would have expected to see kippers on the menu. I could moan about the threadbare carpet on the stairs but this was minor, the room itself was in excellent condition as was its bathroom, but no soap was provided!! All in all value for money but could and perhaps should become a 5 star review. The staff were incredibly welcoming and service was excellent. The corridors leading to the bedrooms could be confusing with many twists and turns.

Room Tip: Don't go for a room with a skylight as there are no shades for them
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mcesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We have stayed and eaten here before to much satisfaction. However, on this occasion we were disappointed. This is a gorgeous Victorian Hotel and will never be a "Country Inn". A country inn should be cosy, chintzy and have a "home from home" look and feel. All they have done here is stripped back and tried to make this commercial. It feels empty and unloved. A "pub with rooms". God help us if that were the case. This is not a pub with rooms. This is a grand old lady who is not being looked after.
The dining experience is fairly brewers fayre menu with better quality food. If you are not sitting in the bar area there are some chairs and couches in the reception hallway but no lounge. So your only other option is to sit in your room - oops cant do that as there are no chairs! So we had an early night.

I was looking forward to my bath after a week of showers - oops, they forgot to clean the bath (discovered this when I got into it ) which was scummy with a display of pubes - not nice. The room apart from that was clean and well painted except for the dust on the black lamp bases. No welcome pack, no phone for dialling reception. No check in / out, breakfast instructions. The room very much lacked personality. My pet hate two zip locked single beds was on offer - not good for a couple. Slept well enough tho.
Breakfast was ok - no choice of teabags, no milk jugs for the tables, no jam only marmalade, no clean cutlery - all gritty. The women's toilets were yukky - soap dispenser with old crystalised soap. Weird marks on the wall where the sanitary bucket is.
So not an inn but a hotel which has let it standards slip.
By the way, this hotel does not cater for families - there is not a family room / lounge. Also I do not appreciate the waiter wearing a kilt when he is not even Scottish.

Room Tip: Ask for a room round the back or mountain view
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBuchanansScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

The wood burning fireplace in the lobby was a welcome respite from the cold drizzle outside. The front desk staff was extremely warm and welcoming. The room was ok, but some of the public areas quite warn. Dinner was ok, as was breakfast, though nothing to write home about. Ok place to stay if in the area at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank psychomom715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews