We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Weekend in the Highlands”
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Reviewed 7 November 2017

This hotel offers good value for money and is ideally situated to explore the Highlands of Scotland along with Loch Ness and the Great Glen. Only 45 minutes from Inverness Airport with many good golf courses within easy reach. With a few little tweaks this could quite easily become a 5 star review. The beds were extremely comfortable but were let down by the pillows which were hard and lumpy and only about 2 inches thick. The food in the bar and/or restaurant was good but I would classify as basic pub food rather than gastropub food, although the specials on the Saturday night were excellent. (Perhaps specials like this should appear every night!!). Breakfast could not really have been better with a large selection of hot food although I would have expected to see kippers on the menu. I could moan about the threadbare carpet on the stairs but this was minor, the room itself was in excellent condition as was its bathroom, but no soap was provided!! All in all value for money but could and perhaps should become a 5 star review. The staff were incredibly welcoming and service was excellent. The corridors leading to the bedrooms could be confusing with many twists and turns.

Room Tip: Don't go for a room with a skylight as there are no shades for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mcesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2017

We have stayed and eaten here before to much satisfaction. However, on this occasion we were disappointed. This is a gorgeous Victorian Hotel and will never be a "Country Inn". A country inn should be cosy, chintzy and have a "home from home" look and feel. All they have done here is stripped back and tried to make this commercial. It feels empty and unloved. A "pub with rooms". God help us if that were the case. This is not a pub with rooms. This is a grand old lady who is not being looked after.
The dining experience is fairly brewers fayre menu with better quality food. If you are not sitting in the bar area there are some chairs and couches in the reception hallway but no lounge. So your only other option is to sit in your room - oops cant do that as there are no chairs! So we had an early night.

I was looking forward to my bath after a week of showers - oops, they forgot to clean the bath (discovered this when I got into it ) which was scummy with a display of pubes - not nice. The room apart from that was clean and well painted except for the dust on the black lamp bases. No welcome pack, no phone for dialling reception. No check in / out, breakfast instructions. The room very much lacked personality. My pet hate two zip locked single beds was on offer - not good for a couple. Slept well enough tho.
Breakfast was ok - no choice of teabags, no milk jugs for the tables, no jam only marmalade, no clean cutlery - all gritty. The women's toilets were yukky - soap dispenser with old crystalised soap. Weird marks on the wall where the sanitary bucket is.
So not an inn but a hotel which has let it standards slip.
By the way, this hotel does not cater for families - there is not a family room / lounge. Also I do not appreciate the waiter wearing a kilt when he is not even Scottish.

Room Tip: Ask for a room round the back or mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBuchanansScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

The wood burning fireplace in the lobby was a welcome respite from the cold drizzle outside. The front desk staff was extremely warm and welcoming. The room was ok, but some of the public areas quite warn. Dinner was ok, as was breakfast, though nothing to write home about. Ok place to stay if in the area at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank psychomom715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

After a late ferry to Ullapool we needed a hotel inside 2 hours to break the journey home. Booking.com were offering a deal on the suites at the Boat, and since they took dogs we booked in there. Friendly staff on arrival and in the bar where we ate. Room 101 fine and comfy bed, but yes the stair carpets need some work! We had similar problems as others at breakfast - slow service to the extent that we were leaving when asked if we'd ordered.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will_Of_The_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Another visit and still open fires, tasteful decor and friendly staff. And this time there was a new menu - varied and delicious. It was also our first visit with baby and dog but the staff were unfazed and very welcoming. Outstanding value and a happy stay. Would recommend.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank 4579_anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
8.8 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
8.1 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
817 reviews
5.3 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
585 reviews
8.3 km away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
8.3 km away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range: $47 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing