We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boat House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Boat House
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

This was a lovely hotel. We booked out a room in the new part of the hotel that had its own balcony. The room was lovely and modern and was cleaned to a high standard. We had a great stay here and would highly recommend it! Breakfast was also really nice!

Room Tip: Paid a bit extra for one of the rooms in the new wing of the hotel - worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whyte1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theboathouse, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
we are glad you enjoyed your stay in boat of garten , however i think judging by what you have said you were at the boat hotel not here the boathouse guest house ( we don't have any balconies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    21
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
23
28
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

My partner and I went to Aviemore with our children to celebrate our sons first birthday, finding the boat was fantastic! Clean, comfortable, good size family room, pet friendly, brilliant breakfast! Everything we could have wanted but there was more.. The owners. Probably the nicest people we have met in ages! They even bought our son a teddy for his birthday, played with our children, recommended good places to eat. Just brilliant! Be confident and assured that choosing this b&b is a good decision! We hope you enjoy as much as we did!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riley07456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theboathouse, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
we so very happy that your enjoyed your stay with us , we did nothing out of the norm other than my wife taking a shine to the wee one and couldn't resist the temptation , i have to point out that gifts aren't the norm however you were lovely people and we couldn't help ourselves see you again soon hopefully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

A lovely place, very quiet location, easy to find, not too far from Inverness.
The owners were very friendly and helpful.
I had the four poster bedroom but wasn't charged any extra for single occupancy (unlike some other places), this room was clean and tidy, as was the whole place.
The full Scottish breakfast was unlike any I had seen before, enough food to keep you going until teatime!!
would recommend a stay there and I hope to go back there in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy_tdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theboathouse, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
we are glad you enjoyed your stay here , hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Lewis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

I spent three nights here and I would recommend it to anybody looking for a friendly family run Guest House in a quiet location. Clean, comfortable with freedom of access all day.
A must for bird watching with RSPB reserve nearby, steam railway enthusiasts with Speyside railway 'just down the road' and for your evening meal there is a Hotel next to the Railway station and an excellent restaurant in between.
Charming hosts who offer you a great breafast in this 'little gem'. And of course not forgetting Poppy for dog lovers.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IsleofLewisRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theboathouse, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
how could we forget you , it was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay , poppy (our dog) won't forget either see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

A good B&B in a nice quiet location. The room was well furnished and we had a four poster bed (although no drapes around the bed) The breakfast was very good with a good selection on the buffet side and a good cooked Scottish Breakfast.
There is a small sitting room with plenty of books, and we could come and go anytime.
My only gripe was that the walls to the next room seemed thin as we could hear the occupant of the next room, who was a bit noisy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theboathouse, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we are sorry about the noise from the neighbouring room,we can only apologise for that. hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
0.4 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
8.7 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.0 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Docharn Lodge Guest House
Docharn Lodge Guest House
#1 of 3 in Boat of Garten
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
7.3 km away
Eriskay
Eriskay
#14 of 32 in Aviemore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.6 km away
Fraoch Lodge
Fraoch Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House

Property: The Boat House
Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boat of Garten
Price range (per night): $123 - $194
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family run guest house located within the Cairngorm national park near to ski,golf, fishing,wildlife, rspb ospreys,steam railway, climbing, and everything Aviemore and the Cairngorms has to offer etc the list goes on pet and child friendly etc. 1/2 hour from Inverness airport with good bus and rail links too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Boat Of Garten, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing