We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Every Time”

Anderson's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 13 - USD 25
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: WelcomeWhether you've something to celebrate, are at the end of a hard day's walking in the hills, or simply fancy a break from cooking at home, it is our wish at Anderson's that you all feel welcome. Forget pretence, the atmosphere here is relaxed and informal, so sit back, switch off, and savour the pleasure of great food and drink. Local Produce At Anderson's we are committed to using local Scottish produce when it is in season, so needless to say, our menu changes each month, along with our daily specials. Each dish is lovingly prepared and bought together in such a way as to bring out the very best of truly great, fresh ingredients. Although our menu is creative, our aim is simple, to present you with food that we are confident you will enjoy, and that tastes fantastic.Family Friendly The whole family is welcome at Anderson's, and it is important to us that everyone can tuck into something they will enjoy. So for children we can either offer half portions of anything on the menu, or for specific likes or dislikes, please feel comfortable to say, and the chef will be happy to come up with something to suit- within reason! Similarly please make us aware of any special dietary requirements you may have.“It’s great to see a restaurant like Andersons opening up in Boat of Garten. Owners Steve and Claire have put a huge amount of thought and effort into their set up, and their intended philosophy of utilizing the best of Scottish produce should be a real boost to the local restaurant scene. I wish them every success for the future.” Nick Nairn
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

I usually visit Boat of Garten on holiday every year or two years and always dine in Anderson's. I only have one thing to say - you will NEVER be disappointed in here. The staff are friendly and the food is gorgeous along with the prices being reasonable for what you get and the quality of the food!!

This is the best restaurant I think I have ever stumbled across in Scotland and will always continue to visit here when I am in the area.

Recommend that you book a week - 3 days in advance as this is a very popular wee restaurant that I couldn't fault :)

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Emmaw1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2018

Dining at Andersons was a lovely experience.When we arrived we were welcomed by the friendly staff.
The Ambiance was relaxing and cosy and Service was prompt.
It was a nice little touch to be given some flavoured bread and butter to nibble on until
the orders arrived.
I had the Tartiflette as a starter which was really tasty. Personally i would not have had
it as a main course as its quite a luxurious rich dish, but could see it not being a problem
for other people.
Mains we had the roast beef special and the highland beef pie.Both could not be faulted
for quality and taste.
To finish we tried 4 flavours of ice cream. The chefs are very clever and talented with their creations. To think That Strawberry and Basil with a chocolate and balsamic ripple would work but believe me it does!!
My only critique and it is a very small one, is that the blackcurrant and liquorice was very
strong on the Liquorice to the point of over powering the blackcurrant. Personal taste maybe but it was strong. However i still ate it all , but might give it a miss next time.
Over all Andersons Restaurant is a must visit for a meal if you are in the area.
Ps just remember to book before you go.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Returned here 3.10.18 ,when staying in the area, one year on from the last time. Excellent food, atmosphere, and service. Pie night has resumed and was excellent.
As always a great experience, so we are returning Friday evening. Booking recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
3  Thank ShanksPonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Anderson’s is a great find and well worth a visit. We stayed a week in Aviemore and having read good reviews of Anderson’s decided we’d make the trip to Boat of Garten. We liked it so much we booked a second visit within the same week.

On our first visit I had really nice venison and my partner had Tartiflette (a ski trip and now home favourite, which was really tasty but maybe a little too cheesy compared to what we’re used to). What really blew our minds was the sticky ginger pudding with vanilla ice cream. Coming from the home of sticky toffee pudding I can honestly say this was better than the original!

On our next visit we both had the chicken stuffed with black pudding and Drambuie sauce which was amazing, followed by the same pudding.

If there are any negatives, the beers are a bit limited and one of the glasses of wine we ordered was forgotten but apart from that the service was excellent. The quality of the food really warrants a visit, advance booking essential.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank thescoobypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

We ate at Anderson's one night while staying in Boat of Garten and found it very good
Interesting selection of dishes and good service
Nicely furnished and warm

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anderson's Restaurant also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to Anderson's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing