We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cairnbaan Hotel(Cairnbaan)
USD 112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
USD 249
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hotel(Oban)
USD 156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Cottage(Arduaine)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveller rating
449
273
90
41
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
273
90
41
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarduaine gardenshighland cattlecedar wingnational trustbistro menuthe main housestunning viewsdining roommain restaurantpatio doorscontinental breakfastitison dealseafoodwell worth a visitscallopsboth nightswest coast of scotland
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 867 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at Loch Melfort, including the 3 night Christmas package. The location is truly stunning and the lodge rooms really make the most of this - what a view to wake up to in the morning! We were thoroughly impressed by the 5 star service we received throughout our stay. There were so many lovely touches such as the little gifts in the room on arrival, walnuts by the log fire, Christmas stocking, and lovely little decorations all around the hotel which made the whole experience extra special. The owners have done a fabulous job of updating the hotel without losing the wonderful old fashioned charm. It was well worth the journey from London and we hope to return again soon!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kitty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samantha e, Manager at Loch Melfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Kitty,
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us over Christmas, A truly special time for all of us as well , we have great fun planning the little touches that make the season memorable. Hope to see you again soon.
Sam
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we've spent Xmas at the Loch Melfort Hotel. The package includes everything you'd want from an escape at this time of year. The location is simply second to none and likewise the friendly staff.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Evelyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samantha e, Manager at Loch Melfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a kind review, all the staff and management of the hotel love planning the wee events and suprises for our festive guests. I do hope we you choose to stay with us again in the future.
With all best wishes,
Sam
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

As the title says, the view from this hotel is unrivaled. It is a few years since I last stayed there, but there is a vast difference in the hotel generally. We had a room in the wing of the hotel, more like a motel area. The downstairs rooms were being renovated so we were upstairs, along a covered walkway, but still open at the side to the elements, which were very cold during our visit. The hotel has two rosettes, but I am not sure what they are for. The food, which used to be about the best I had ever experienced, was expensive and disappointing. My starter of asparagus with a poached egg didn't seem to know whether it was hot or cold, tepid I would describe it, and the poached egg was overcooked. Main of monkfish wrapped in ham was quite nice but fractionally overcooked. Desert was VERY overpriced at, I think, £8.95, chocolate mousse, which was a served in a shot glass, tiny amount piped in bottom with some fruit piled on top. Breakfast was adequate, but the following evening we just wanted a light meal as we had over indulged in Oban at lunch time, so my partner chose pasta which was very unimaginatively served and not a lot else besides the pasta, and I chose a venison pie which was a huge amount of oversalted meat with not enough pastry.
The main complaint was with the accommodation. We had no hot water on the first night, complained in the morning and said they would deal with it. No hot water next evening, receptionist gave us the key to the room next door to use the bathroom or, if you ran the hot water there it came through in our room. Not ideal to shower in a room where you have to go out onto an open balcony in freezing weather. Spoke to another couple of guests who had no hot water either.
I don't think we will return in a hurry.

Room Tip: The 'motel' type rooms have outstanding views, as do the public rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magjean2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samantha e, Manager at Loch Melfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate all feedback, whether good or bad.

The sea view lodges are usually a big hit with guests as you get a balcony or terrace over looking the lodge through big double patio doors. However if this is not for you please just request one of our rooms or suits in the main house.

Im sorry you did not enjoy your food while you were here, I only wish you had said something at the time so we could have addressed the issues.

With regards to the hot water, unfortunately we did have an unexpected issue with the filters which affected you during your stay. I am sorry if it was not made clear, but, once the plumber confirmed it could not be fixed that day, we gave you the key to the room next door to either move into or, to save you the bother of this, use this room in addition to your own for the bathroom facilities. We moved the arrival who was due to go into that room and made it unavailable for sale to give you the freedom to do either due to the inconvenience you were experiencing, which I once again apologise for here.

Im sorry that you had a disappointing stay, I can only assure you that any issues with food would very much be a one-off for us and if you would like to experience the lovely views, service and location again i am sure you would not be dissapointed.

Best regards,
Sam
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

The hotel was very comfortable. We had a continental breakfast, which could have been better. The choice was limited. We ate in the bistro in the evening, and the food was very good. Our room was lovely and had a beautiful view. The only disadvantage was we had to go out of the hotel to get to our room. In wet and cold weather it would not be ideal.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank welshham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samantha e, Manager at Loch Melfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Most of our guests feedback that they love the sea view lodges as you get your own terrace or balcony with stunning views however if you choose to stay with us again please feel free to ask for a room in the main house, we will be only to glad to accommodate.

Best regards,
Sam
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

We had two fantastic nights staying in the Loch Melfort Hotel, near Oban. We visited the town of Oban, took a ride on a small boat with Duncan and saw a Seal with pups, and a salmon farm. the views are breathtaking. Thankyou to the Staff at Loch Melfort for making us so welcome, everything was perfect, really comfortable room with a view of the Loch, and great food too. We enjoyed the drive down from Edinburgh taking in the sights. We would highly recommend, and hope to return.

Room Tip: Discuss your requirements with the Hotel directly. Free WiFi was helpful
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank beverleyhopley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samantha e, Manager at Loch Melfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a kind review, we strive to make our guests experience memorable. I shall be sure to pass on your most generous review to all our staff.
With sincere thanks and all best wishes.
Sam
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews