We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A grand design near Oban!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ardtorna B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardtorna B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Barcaldine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A grand design near Oban!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Absolutely gorgeous B&B, purpose built - stunning views, immaculately presented - very modern and white walls/ bright colours chic! We were suitably impressed. Karen and Sean are lovely hosts, breakfast was great.

We were slightly split on the location - whilst it's great to have the 'getting away from it all' feeling, we ate in Oban each night/ went to McCaig's Tower, so had to repeat the drive a few times; we still had a great time though and actually chose to do a walk near the B&B which turned out to be perfect!

Lots of wee touches that really add up to a fantastic place to stay! We'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehouseconnel, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at Ardtorna. I am delighted to hear that you liked the very modern design of the property.
It was a pleasure to meet you both, and i do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    25
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
426
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

I cannot fault this fantastic B&B. I am almost reluctant to spread the word as this little gem should possibly be kept a well-guarded secret. To celebrate my graduation, my partner and I enjoyed 5* luxury in a fantastic location affording great views over the loch. From designer interiors, an amazing breakfast to little touches such as a free dram before bedtime, Ardtorna did not fail to deliver. Very friendly hosts made us feel very welcome and we enjoyed our complimentary wine upon arrival. A romantic retreat well worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loulabella73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehouseconnel, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for your review on your stay with us at Ardtorna. it was a pleasure to meet you both, and chat to you during your stay. Delighted too to hear that you both enjoyed the design and facilities of our bed and breakfast.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I found this B&B on laterooms and was wowed by the interior and standard of hospitality so booked a cheaper rate room at £80. This was a bargain!

The rooms are lovely, contemporary, modern and absolutely stunning. Beautifully furnished and I loved all the little extras, chocolates, molton brown toiletries etc.

On arrival it was pitch black so I missed the turn in, much easier to see in the daytime (obviously) but as it's a dark sign its easy to miss in the night. After calling I was given directions and found it ok.

Karen and Sean welcomed me and were just lovely. Karen even made me scones with clotted cream and jam. (Karen if you ever need a lodger just ask!!)

I slept like a baby, especially after a relaxing jacuzzi.

Breakfast is chosen the night before, though I suspect if you changed your mind they would be ok with this. I was the only one staying the particular night I was there so had breakfast solo, this wasn't a problem as the lovely Fiona was there to chat to. Perfect boiled eggs too!

The only thing that was a tiny bit annoying was that they don't take credit card, this is written in massive letters on late rooms but somehow I missed it! Also no VAT receipt so not ideal for claiming back through work.

These 2 tiny things are barely worth mentioning though. Fantastic B&B, great food, incredibly welcoming and free baileys! What more could you ask?!

I whole heartedly recommend this place and will be telling all of my friends/family to pay them a visit!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senttocoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sumarlidi67, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us recently. it was great to hear that the home made scones went down well, and that you were able to enjoy all our facilities at Ardtorna.

It was lovely to meet you, and I do hope to see you again next time you are up on business in the area again.

You paid reference to that fact that we do not take credit cards. We do , however , accept electronic bank transfers in addition to sterling cheques and cash. We are in the process of setting up for credit card facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

If the weather had been as warm as the welcome we got, I could have been in the Caribbean, as it was, I was on the West Coast of Scotland on a wet and miserable day but the Ardtorna B&B is definitely an oasis of calm and tremendous comfort.

The first impression is that the 5 stars could be for the view alone, which even the weather couldn't spoil. But, it's not only the view that will set this B&B apart from any that you may have thought were top of the tree. The attention to detail in the rooms, the high-end fixtures and fittings, the jacuzzi bath, the wi-fi, the huge bed, the iPod docking station/table lamp, the communal nespresso machine and the complimentary Isle of Jura Malt were just a taste of how much thought Karen and Sean have put into this truly beautiful place.

Having made my choice of cooked breakfast option the night before and going for the Ardtorna speciality of poached eggs on a bed of bacon with grilled Haloumi cheese with capers, I was in heaven. The selection of cereals, juices, teas, coffees and a home made fruit smoothie was fantastic and had it been a particularly heavy night, the option to make your own Bloody Mary with all the fixings was there as well.

To be honest, words could never do the Ardtorna true justice. You will just have to take my word for it. I guarantee that you will not be disappointed though...no matter what time of the year or whatever the weather is throwing at you.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAFGolfnut40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sumarlidi67, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Thank you for your glowing review on your 2 night stay with us at Ardtorna. I am delighted to hear that you were most impressed with all we offer, and that you too appreciated our location.

it was a pleasure to meet you both, and to be able to chat to you during your stay. i do hope it will not be too long before you manage another trip up our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Stumbled upon this wee highland gem online and i can honestly say we havent stay at a better place in many a year.
Ardtorna wouldnt look out of place in Grand Designs, from the outside it looks magnificent, but once you get inside..wow, the whole place is immaculate we stayed in the Tioram room which had a Spa Bath which was magnificent.
I took my wife away as a surpise for our 20th anniversary and she was as was i gobsmacked.
Sean and Karen go out of their way to make you feel welcome, all the small touches like leaving a wee dram out for a night cap are what sets this place apart from anywhere else.
We will be back in the Spring time and i am sure we will be regular visitors in the future.
Oh and dont forget to book Spa passes with Ardtorna for Isle of Eriska.
We stayed for two nights and left feeling so relaxed and chilled out,if you want a wee treat then i would most definetely recommend Ardtorna.

Room Tip: Book Tioram, lovely relaxing Spa Bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaz161070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehouseconnel, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us at Ardtorna.

I am delighted to hear that you liked the unusual design of our place. Also I was most pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy all the little extras that we like to offer our guests.

The spa passes are a real treat - we love The Isle of Eriska Hotel. We are in a very fortunate position to be able to offer this facility to our guests while staying at Ardtorna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcaldine
5.6 km away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
5.8 km away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
24.7 km away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
21.6 km away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
21.8 km away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardtorna B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardtorna B&B

Property: Ardtorna B&B
Address: Mill Farm, Barcaldine PA37 1SE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Barcaldine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barcaldine
Price range (per night): $273 - $300
Hotel Class:5 star — Ardtorna B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardtorna is a purpose built eco friendly property. It is Scotlands only 5 star gold bed and breakfast with the AA. In 2013 it won the best ' Guest House / B and B for Scotland with the AA, Visit Scotland and The Scottish Hotel Awards, making it the first time in history that all 3 organisations picked the same accommodation ! It picked the title again of " Best Guest House for Scotland ' in 2015 from The Scottish Hotel awards. All the deluxe bedrooms with vaulted ceilings are en-suite with either a spa bath and a high powered shower or a colour changing wet room. Each bedroom has spectacular loch views. Each room has full sized Molton Brown toiletries, TV, I pod docking station, DVD player,fresh flowers, Hand made chocolates, fluffy bath robes, gigantic bath towels, hospitality tray, etc are a few of the items for you to enjoy while staying at our amazing property. Scones straight from the oven are served with clotted cream and home made jam between 4 and 6 pm on the day of arrival. Each bedroom has a fridge with complimentary items such as nuts, sweets etc.During a stay at Ardtorna guests can help themselves to complimentary Malt Whisky and Home Made Whisky Cream Liqueur. Spa and golf passes are complimentary for any 3 night stays ( This must be arranged at the time of booking , and is subject to availability ). Please contact us directly by booking on our own web site or by e mail - this is always the cheapest option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Ardtorna B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardtorna Hotel Barcaldine
Ardtorna Bed And Breakfast
Ardtorna B&B Barcaldine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing