We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, can't wait to go again.”
Review of ali raj

ali raj
Ranked #5 of 164 Restaurants in Llanelli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 0 - USD 26
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 17 September 2017

went here last night, my daughter goes here with her school Heol Goffa quite regularly and loves it here so we thought we would try it, wish we had sooner, the food was PERFECT!! Now I am really fussy when it comes to Indian food, too hot and it spoils the meal and too mild and my meal is ruined, I had the Chicken Tikka Delight with mushroom rice and keema naan, every bit of the meal was excellent, my partner had Chicken Tikka Rogan, with pilau rice and plain naan, he also said food was excellent and my really fussy 18 year old daughter had a chicken rogan with coconut rice and peshwari naan and she really enjoyed, the staff were really lovely and chatted with our two children and made us all feel very welcome. The decor is one of the nicest I have seen in an Indian restaurant, very modern and traditional all at the same time. Food was served quickly and hot, plenty of room on the table as well, Drinks were served quickly too. My only one little gripe is that with the chutney tray there was only a little pot of lime pickle, but I could easily have asked for more but that is the only critisism I can make. Look forward to returning really soon. Thank you for a fantastic meal xxx

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Michaela1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Service was quick even with a restaurant full. Menu was explained when asked. Food was devine, checked on throughout the meal. Very friendly staff

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

It's been a while since we last had a take away from the Ali Raj, so when I went to pick one up as a celebratory meal on my wife's birthday we were in high expectancy. The place has been remodeled since my last visit and it looks great the people serving were very efficient and polite though the meal left a lot to be desired.
We live less than a minute away yet the food was not as hot as you'd expect. I had chicken Madras which is normally quite spicy but it could well have been a mild curry. My wife had chicken sag which also failed to please. And as a final nail, it was far too expensive.
I was a little surprised to see the place empty when I arrived there, could this be the reason why?

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iphillfine_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Called here with family and friends, my sister calls here a few times a year and suggested us to go there, was not disappointed, had some new to me dishes which included fish. The food was very tasty and nice portion sizes. Well we went away a very happy bunch. My only little gripe is the mains are served for me a bit too quickly after the starters, well do quick one of us hadn't even finished the starter. So next time I visit I will ask them to leave it 5 to 10 mins in between. But the food was really nice

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank 25taff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

I travelled from Birmingham England to Llaneli quite often in the past year and out of all the restaurants I had to write a review about this one. It was totally delicious, fresh and fast. I will be coming here again with a doubt. I liked it so much had to take some back home for tomorrow lol. Brilliant.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Amar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ali raj also viewed

Llanelli, Carmarthenshire
Llanelli, Carmarthenshire
 
Llanelli, Carmarthenshire
Llanelli, Carmarthenshire
 
Llanelli, Carmarthenshire
Llanelli, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to ali raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing