We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pagecroft Cottage

Pagecroft Cottage overlooks the South Tyne Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pagecroft Cottage overlooks the South Tyne Valley
The view from Pagecroft Cottage The spacious, welcoming kitchen offers plenty of room to relax
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Pagecroft Cottage overlooks the South Tyne Valley
The view from Pagecroft Cottage
The spacious, welcoming kitchen offers plenty of room to relax
The cosy sitting room with its ornate fire surround
Double bedroom
The sitting room is spacious and comfortable
The traditional country style kitchen
Try your hand at cooking on the oil-fired Aga
The romantic and comfortable double bedroom
Antique furniture in the double bedroom
Modern en suite bathroom with shower
Bright twin bedroom with lovely views
Family bathroom with its pretty antique suite and bath
The nearby outdoor seating area has panoramic views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Haydon Bridge, Hexham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Yorkie4
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The cottage is just lovely, warm and cosy and very much like the little house seen in the movie 'The Holiday'. It takes some finding because it is off a steep country lane, but it really is worth the effort (and the directions from the owner are good). Would definitely visit again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
werner k
colon
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We celebrated Christmas with our children it is the perfect place and the cottage has everything one needs .Thanks

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne G
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surpasses all expectations”
Reviewed 21 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

At first I thought that we were perhaps the first people to use this cottage, as it was in such good nick, and everything was super-clean. But the guest book indicated otherwise, with everyone commenting on these same things. I don't know how the owner manages it, but it really did feel as if no one had ever been there before you. It was decorated with really tasteful fittings; the kitchen was massive, with every utensil or cooking container you could imagine. And the view was brilliant. The neighbours were extremely helpful, and there is car parking for two vehicles. Really a quiet venue. I'd highly recommend it. We'd like to go back sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the attention to details by the property owner, both in fittings and in things they organised for their guests
Liked least: the steep stairway, rather short bed and an odd-sized toilet seat
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajenkinsP...
perthshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Probably the best yet”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

This is a well equipped cottage in a beautiful place with an extremely pleasant owner. It is furnished with some lovely antique furniture which adds to the quality feel as well as having all the mod cons you might need (except a dishwasher which we would not use anyway).Best of all it was warm and comfortable and immaculately clean (and I mean CLEAN!). This is very important and not always the case in holiday rentals. This place was absolutely spotless. I would stay here again without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very, very clean
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony F
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful well-equipped Cottage in Stunning location”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We spent ten nights in this lovely cottage. It was spotlessly clean with a well-equipped kitchen with Aga (no dishwasher) and a warm cosy living room. Imogen gave excellent service, and the welcome food pack and fresh flowers were a lovely touch. We enjoyed chatting with the owners as well. The road to the cottage is narrow but we met no oncoming traffic during our stay and there are adequate passing points. It is a very peaceful and relaxing place to return to after a day of walking and/or sightseeing. Haydon Bridge is an excellent base for exploring Hadrian's Wall, Newcastle, Durham and surrounds, Scottish Borders and the Northumberland Coast.
We were fine with the steep staircase but it may not be suitable for young children, people with less mobility and the elderly. Access to a small garden area would be the icing on the cake!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location,cleanliness,manager and owners,kitchen,view.
Liked least: No garden,no dishwasher.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing