We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, ideal location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Emerald

Large and bright living/dining room with sea view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large and bright living/dining room with sea view
Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Large and bright living/dining room with sea view
Dining area
Fully equipped kitchen with electric oven, fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle
Shower room
Separate toilet
Amazing seacapes
Long stretches of beach for lovely walks
Victorian cliff lift and original Victorian pier
Woodland walk down to Italian Gardens
Cafe in the Italian Gardens
The Ship Inn Pub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andy B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, ideal location”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had a lovely stay ideal for walks on the beach and the woodland walk near the miniature railway with the dog, vista mar lovely restaurant and cheap, The ship served good portions some lovely pubs around too, the apartment was clean and comfortable and decorated well, my only recommendation would be a hair dryer, and maybe a floor lamp in the front room as not enough light for reading without having to have the big light on. Really dog friendly with throws for the sofas and the dog crate. We would definitely stay again. A warm welcome from Sandra and the wine and chocs were much appreciated.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2016
Thank you for this lovely review. Peter Kay would be proud of your reference to the big light! We do already have two hairdryers, I guess you didn't find them in the drawers in the bedrooms.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Heath...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice big apartment with great views and excellent location.”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This flat was large and comfortable. The beds were good with an excellent outdoor shower for dogs (not that we had one) but it was also great for rinsing off body boards and wetsuits. The location was excellent for quick access to the beach and the views from the lounge window were lovely. There were a couple of things that it would have benefitted from and these were: a washing machine; an ice box in the fridge; and a bit more cupboard space in the kitchen. Serious warning- if you are vertically challenged do not hire this flat because the kitchen cupboards are ridiculously high. I'm 5'5" and I had to stretch to get plates out of the lowest shelf of the cupboard and the higher shelves were completely out of reach. Apart from those issues this is a comfortable flat and I would recommend it to those of my size or taller. Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No washing machine
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. I'm pleased you found another use for the outdoor shower. As you say, it was installed primarily for dog owners (the dogs, rather than the owners) and I hadn't realised it would also be useful for surfers too! Unfortunately, the apartment is too small for a washing machine, there just isn't anywhere to put one. However, the launderette is no more than five minutes walk away. I do make reference in my visitors pack to the high cupboards in the kitchen. They came with the apartment when we bought it. We ask people not to use the upper shelves for safety reasons and there is plenty of other storage space in the dresser in the dining area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGrim55
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Perfection”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Great location and space. Easy meet and great arrangements and smooth administration.
Our one disappointment - someone has already booked it for the festival next year . I hope they have as wonderful holidays we did this year. J & M

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review. It was important to us to try to start guests' holidays in the best way possible so I'm pleased that you found our arrangements worked for you. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesleyf67...
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely seaside weekend”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Great apartment just across the road from steps down to the sea.
Really spacious & clean. Perfect for families & dog owners. Really easy to book & brilliant communications from owner.
Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
I'm really pleased you felt it was such a positive experience. I hope you can visit us again some time. Thank you for taking the time to send in your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
webstem2
leeds
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great bolthole at the seaside”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Had a great time at the Emerald - lovely meeter & greeter who gave us a warm welcome. Everything you want from a seaside holiday & more. Spacious & very clean with lovely sea views. The kids didn't want to come home. We will hopefully come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Height of cupboards in the kitchen - would be better with lower shelves
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for this. You are very welcome to come back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing