We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hungry and happy”
Review of Rydon Inn

Rydon Inn
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Holsworthy
Price range: USD 6 - USD 19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Rydon Inn is a converted traditional Devon Long House, it has been beautifully developed, with high vaulted ceilings exposing all the beam work in the main pub area, this also includes an unconventional thatched bar. The idealiac conservatory eating area over looks our large landscaped gardens and peaceful lake which houses outdoor seating for those long summer evenings. There is a pool table to keep you and the kids entertained. If you would like something a little more private we have our restaurant in the original part of the Devon Long House, which is ideal for more secluded smaller group meetings or dinners.
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

Stopped on the way back from a day out and although busy 9 of us were able to be slotted in. Initial bar person was grumpy and not very welcoming but thereafter could not fault it. Food was fantastic and very reasonably priced.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank kielyporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2018

We were staying close by and thought we'd give this restaurant a try, we ended coming back on the following evening as well. It is easy to find and has a large car park. It is a really nice place to go to eat or just have a drink with friends.The staff are very pleasant and efficient. There is a nice variety on the menu with a specials blackboard, everything is reasonably priced and good quality. The childrens menu has some nice options of pan cooked chicken rather than chicken nuggets.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michellenF9805FU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Had a fantastic meal at the Rydon Inn. The staff were really friendly. The food was delicious and service was great. We were there on a Thursday evening and glad we had pre booked as it is obviously a popular place. Would definitely book to go there again when we are in the area.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank JackieMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Went to Rydon Inn based on reviews we found in the cottage where we are staying at (Granny McPhees in West Chilla ).

I'm glad to say we were not disappointed. The atmosphere was buzzing and the food was lovely.

Being a Saturday night the place was full of like minded people having a good time.

To start we opted to share the bruschetta which was really tasty. This we followed with a small fish and chips for my wife with doorstep bread and butter as a side order, where as I had the steak burger with cheese and bacon. The food we had was freshly prepared and came out looking wonderful. It tasted pretty damn good as well. Washed down with a pint of Holsworthy Brewery Conker King.

If we lived closer I'm sure this would become a favourite eating establishment of ours.

To all the team at Rydon, keep up whatever you're doing as it's clearly working.
Thank you for a lovely evening and memories to cherish.

Highly recommend, but make sure you book in advance as we witnessed 2 couples leaving disappointed as there were no tables available.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We were staying in the area and called in for an evening meal. What a find! Food was fantastic and the whole atmosphere and place was just perfect! We visited a few times while in the area and if we could move nearby we would so it could be our local! The ribs were to die for!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KimStyles50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rydon Inn also viewed

Holsworthy, Torridge
 

Been to Rydon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing