We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely child friendly 'upside-down' barn”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Barn @ Southcombe Farm The lovely lounge in The Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The Barn @ Southcombe Farm
The lovely lounge in The Barn
The lovely lounge complete with log burner
The master bedroom complete with lovely king size double
The spacious twin bedroom suitable for children and adults
The twin bedroom
The downstairs hallway
The kitchen with everything you would expect from a five star property
The bathroom is fully tiled
Free tractor ride for families with children
In the wildlife hide
The tyre swing
River Walking
Spot wildlife
Great beaches and surf nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holsworthy, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Adem_in_B...
Bedfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely child friendly 'upside-down' barn”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We (with our two children aged 4yrs & 19mths) had a lovely welcome. The barn is well appointed and comfortable. The children loved feeding the animals every morning and the tractor ride. There were lovely views from all the windows.

Paul, Jim and Eileen were very accommodating and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the barn for the week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeding the animals with the children
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are really pleased you had a great holiday. Thank you again and it would be great to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLB_SJB
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic property, excellent hospitality”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had 7 nights at the barn with our 4 year old daughter. We had a fantastic time exploring the farm and our daughter particularly enjoyed the experience of helping feed the animals each morning. The location was perfect for us as we wanted some where quiet yet in reach of the beaches of Bude and the surrounding area. The property is well equipped, well maintained, clean and tidy. A combination of the warm welcome and perfect weather means that we will certainly be returning again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location (on the farm)
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are really pleased you had a great time and will look forward to seeing you again. Thank You.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murr836
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy, comfortable toddler-friendly cottage”
Reviewed 25 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The weather was miserable, but the welcome from Farmer Paul and his family was incredibly warm. Our toddler loved going out to feed the animals, explore the farm, and ride on the tractor. He's still talking about Farmer Paul and the animals a week on - high praise indeed from a two year old! The barn itself was great - it had everything we needed for a week away, and was active-toddler proof. The bed was fab, with a really warm, puffy duvet. Lots to do in the area, the Tamar Otter centre was great fun, and Hartland Quay was good for walking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeding the animals. The bed
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again, Farmer Paul ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmJ19
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Cosy, clean and comfortable - just how we like it! Looking forward to being here again soon. Thank you for a lovely break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2013
Really glad you had a great break and thank you for taking the time to review us :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne L
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic half term break”
Reviewed 27 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We had a lovely half term break the cottage was lovely and cosy even though the mercury dopped below freezing at night, it was just what we needed. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived , the owners had a great deal of local knowledge, nothing seemed too much trouble. I loved seeing the ducks each morning just outside the windows and feeding the new lambs. It s a place I hope to return to in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Very clean and comfortable
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2013
Really glad you had a great stay, and thank you for taking the time to review us :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing