We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A really lovely place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Homestead

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Homestead @ Southcombe Farm The Homesteads lovely living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The Homestead @ Southcombe Farm
The Homesteads lovely living area
The Homesteads king size master bedroom
The Homestead @ Southcombe Farm is situated in its own private garden
The Square in Holsworthy.  Full of shops, cafes and pubs
Dam building on the farm stream
Spot wildlife on the farm
Help us feed the animals
Quiet country location, explore the farm
Great beaches and surf nearby
Lots of things to look at in the wildlife hide
Kids love doing river walks up the farm stream
Depending on the weather we always do a tractor ride for families with children
Lovely countryside all around waiting for you to explore!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holsworthy, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah H
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A really lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Really enjoyed our time at the Homestead. Paul, Jim and Eileen were very friendly and accommodating. The farm is an excellent place to stay – so peaceful, yet close enough to drive to plenty of places including the beach. Enjoyed seeing the animals around, particularly the ducks of a morning! The Homestead is a very clean, cosy place to stay and we would all recommend it! If we come again (we would not be surprised if it gets quickly booked up!), we will have to make sure we have a go at the canoeing offered! We are sure Paul would be an amazing instructor, and the only downside was there being so much to do, that we did not fit this in!
(P.S. Thank you for the arrival cake! Exactly what we needed after our journey - loved the chocolatey sponge!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to review the Homestead @ Southcombe Farm. Really glad you enjoyed the area as well as the farm! There is stacks to see and do round here. Hopefully we will see you again and you will get to have your canoe adventure :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus E
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Warm welcome and excellent accommodation!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Very impressed with the accommodation - plenty of space, immaculate and well appointed with all facilities - a home from home. The Clarkes were very welcoming - our 6 year old Son in particular enjoyed the tractor ride and feeding the chickens & ducks. Home made cake and fresh eggs on arrival were very much appreciated and enjoyed! Good location to - Bude is only 15-20 minutes away and plenty of other places to visit only a bit further out. All in all an excellent holiday and location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Homestead @ Southcombe Farm :-) We are all really pleased you had a great time. Thank you again for staying with us :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory H
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Homestead is a fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have just spent a week at the Homestead and it was fantastic, we all had a great time and will be going again in the future. The property is extremely well equipped only using top quality fixtures and fittings and easily warrants it's 5 star status. The Homestead on arrival was immaculate on the inside if you did not know that someone had stayed in it before you would think it had just opened it's doors for the first time when you arrived. The Farm itself is great for the kids and you have full access to anywhere you want to go and even though there is farm equipment about it is very safe for the kids, around the farm there is a nature trail that takes you about 40 mins to walk but the views and wildlife make it worth while. There is a Tyre swing in one of the fields and the kids loved it and to be fair I quite enjoyed it too !
Every morning you and the kids have the chance to feed the chickens, goose and the ducks ( They are really funny when you let them out) as for the owners Paul , Jim and Eileen you could not meet nicer people, there are people that are nice because it's in there best interest and there are people who are generally just lovely and Paul ,Jim and Eileen fall into that category. In summary you will struggle to get accommodation of this quality and location anywhere else in the UK
PS
We all miss Fudge the dog

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Homestead itself
Liked least: The snake my wife spotted in the grass !
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are all really please that you had such a good holiday and hope that you may return one day :-) Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R
Stockport
1 review
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We were lucky to stay in the Homestead for 2 weeks. Paul the owner is very friendly and welcoming. He is great with kids and every morning there is the chance to feed the animals and once in a week a ride on the farms tractor! The accomodation itself is great, nicely finished, very clean and tucked away in a private corner of the farm. There are nice walks around the land surrounding the farm and a play area with tyre swing and play house. Locally there is lots to do especially with kids. We were very lucky to have near enough 2 weeks of Sunshine so spent a good chunk on the excellent local beaches only a short drive away. We would definately recommend the Homestead to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Being on the farm, but having own little private corner.
Liked least: There was very little we didn't like.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us:-) We are really glad you enjoyed your holiday. Thank you again for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing