We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“6th time in heaven”

Review of Villa Alto Mare

Pool upper level
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool upper level
The villa from Alaties Beach View from the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Pool upper level
The villa from Alaties Beach
View from the living room
July sunset
Teck rattin white cotton and Greek blue
Entrance
Terrace upper level
The large living room
View from the pool
Internal stairs
Summer flower and Greek blue
infinity deck
Master bedroom
View North West from terrace ground level
Outdoor relaxing siesta bed
Alaties Beach, 400 meters from the villa
Catherine's kitchen
Alaties rocks view from the terrace
Villa Alto Mare. View from the sea
Fiscardo village, 8 km from the villa, 10 minutes drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Fiscardo, Cephalonia, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Demmen
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“6th time in heaven ”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I am the same as others to a certain extent. I don't want to share it but some things are too beautiful not to. We have been all around the world and without question we have NEVER found anywhere as idyllic as this place. After 6 times it feels like home and the owner refers to it as our home when we . The team involved are the nicest people. Catherine Marmet is the epitome of class, elegance and warmth. She is what French is with a twist of ceph. Caterina is lovely and unobtrusive as she services your villa - nothing is too much trouble for her. Yannis is just delightful. Polite, loving and nothing is too much. Such a hard working man. These wonderful people have seen our children grow and are genuinely loving and warm towards them and us. We class them as friends. This year ceph had a heat wave and we got our monies worth from the villa barely leaving it. It says something when a 13, 12 and 8 year old fail to be restless. Catherine is responsive from hiring a boat, finding a doctor to being a fountain of knowledge about anything. Last year we drove to ceph and she helped us with finding connections for ferries to routes. An adventure of which I would recommend. Memories are made of altomare and the journey. This year we flew. Villa has information sheets regarding locality including restaurants etc etc. A novelty is the local goat herder twice a day who you can watch from your balcony heard 300 plus goats with a stick to yelling. If lucky you may see one or two in the garden. Thankfully not in the pool. This year migrating swallows dive bombing nicely the pool to drink. Whilst you are in it it is an absolute experience. The views speak for themselves and if you think you have seen a sunset and s view you have not been here. Look at some of the pictures. Air con in every room. TV with collection of English dvds. No visit to ceph is complete without watching captain Corelli mandolin. Then go on the oval font and se assos to the left where filmed. Catherine ha the French touch but the unique and meaningful touch. If you are undecided about this villa and whether to book and I am not prone to flights is fancy and drama. I would say this. Book it. As it will not let you down.
Singularly Today's life is made up of experience rather than money. Take the chance and make the booking. I guarantee without fail that you will be back. Heaven forbid I die but if I do one day I would want a part me me brought back so that I would be here in some way forever.

Catherine, Caterina and Iannis. Thank you for welcoming us like family. To me friends are the family you choose for yourself
Dare to dream go to altomare

Efaristo me

John and Lucia Hagans including Noah Nate and Lycian

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Dear John Lucia Noah Nate and Lycian, I am just speechless!
I don't know what to say. A very warm thank you is not enough.
It's true that each of your visite at my house is like welcoming friends.
Most of my guest are repeat guest but you have reach a record !
Thank you again for your wonderful words. Looking forward to welcoming you again next year. Catherine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandyd030...
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning property, magical setting”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 5th visit to this stunning property. Catherine has made a 'heaven', total relaxation away from the 'real word'.
I thought long and hard about writing a review, as not sure l want to 'share' with others, it may be too difficult for me to book next time!!!
If you do visit, you MUST have a meal cooked at the villa by Katerina, the best experience. Local, simple food served with a stunning view, so much better than going out to eat.
Can't wait to return, already planning my trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning propert and location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
Thank you so much! Already holding Alto Mare for your next visit in 2018!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne W
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Couldn't be more perfect!”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What more can I say without repeating all the good points that the other reviewers have just said which are all true. Catherine, the owner, is the most helpful person you could want to rent a villa from and always on hand if you need anything - which we didn't as its all there as advertised and more. The views are amazing along 180 degrees of coastline and although there is only one taverna in walking distance down on the beach 5 mins away, its such a nice experience you wouldn't need any more. Fiscardo is beautiful, 15 min car drive away and full of very nice restaurants. Being right up in the north of the island it does take about 1 hour 15 min to drive from the airport but its such an interesting route with azure beaches and goats along the way, and following Catherines instructions it wasn't a problem. Worth knowing the route back to the airport as it isn't sign posted until the very end. Had to put on roaming to follow google maps and was fine. Will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Chilly evenings - nothing to do with the villa!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2016
Thank you very much Anne, for your nice words. I will definitely write some extra driving instruction for the way back to airport! However, the regular road should reopen end of 2016 and every thing will easy again. Looking forward to welcome you again at Alto Mare! Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the people
Liked least: drive from airport
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful setting of the villa, delightful taverna 400m away on beach and another 2.5km away on another beach, lovely walking trails around Fisardo
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing