We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing & relaxing holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Balcony with dining area
'Bom apetite'
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 3
Local area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Luz, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
NormanBri...
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing & relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Portugal and we'll definitely go back. Mar Da Luz is a stunning apartment complex and has an outdoor and indoor pool. February in Portugal is very quiet, which we loved. In the apartment complex we could use the indoor pool facilities every morning and were literally the only ones.
The apartment was very nice and spacious for the three of us. It was very well equipped with washing machine, toaster, dishwasher, oven, microwave, etc. It has a lovely balcony with a stunning view over the sea. The car can be parked safely in a garage underneath the apartment complex.

A couple of recommendations I would adjust in the apartment are:
- get new chairs (the current ones are white leather and the leather is wearing off and the ground is covered with little leather bits
- have a hoover in the apartment as it is easier to get rid of the sand
- there is internet in the main reception area of the apartment complex but not in the apartment itself
- there is a TV but the quality is quiet poor (I guess in the summer you won't use the TV as much as in the winter

Even though these are my recommendations, I would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view in the morning and the indoor pool.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Hi Norman

We are glad that you had a wonderful stay at our property.

In fact, it's impossible not be in love with every single detail.

Thanks for your kind words, they mean a lot to all the staff

Hope to see you soon

Kind regards

Liliana/Joao
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBikeMa...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartment in Quiet Area”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Clean modern apartment on quiet villa / apartment estate (Porto Donna Maria ) about a 25 minute walk into Luz.or about 35 minutes into Burgau. The walk to Burgau is beautiful along a rugged coastline with the occasional sheer drop off the edge.If you are into walking go in the opposite direction to Porto de Mos - another high topped cliff walk with a beautiful beach and Antonio's restaurant where lunch is fantastic

We loved it here and the walk along the coastal path in to Luz was not a problem for us but maybe for less energetic people.Its a good location if you have a car as you can easily access the main roads along the Algarve coast. It was very peaceful with little noise at night ( dogs barking was worst ). Kitchen facilities were good - everything is AEG and of a good standard for self catering. Bathrooms were lovely with excellent showers. Air con worked well and was very quiet.

Nice swimming pool and quiet pool area were very relaxing - gym was small but equipment was of a reasonable standard - indoor pool sauna , steam room and jacuzzi were excellent and useful if it is raining.

My main complaint was poor wi-fi and only available at reception - they are going to put it in all rooms next year so good news. There is underground parking available ( limited parking on street when busy )- however accessing it and getting out is a nightmare with a very narrow curving and steep entrance - don't bother unleass you are confident and if you can get on the street - you will most likely finish up damaging your hire car.
Would definitely stay here again if I went back to Luz

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern Apartment , clean with good facilities
Liked least: No Wi-fi in rooms currently
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Hi

It's such a pleasure read your words about your stay.

We are happy that you had a great experience during your holidays.

Thanks for your nice words, they mean a lot to us.

Hope to see you soon

Kind regards
Liliana /Joao
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heilbronn, Germany
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Indoor pool
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Hi

Thanks for your kind words about your stay but also about the property.

I'm glad that You had a pleasant stay at the property

Kind regards

Liliana/Joao
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
daddycuck...
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect for peaceful relaxing family break”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Mar da Luz is a beautiful apartment complex located about a 20 minute coastal walk from Luz itself.

We stayed in a spacious and spotless 2 bed apartment overlooking the pool. As it wasn't yet in season there were only a few other couples/families staying so we almost had the outdoor pool to ourselves! What a bonus! There is also an indoor pool along with a jacuzzi and fitness/weight equipment with Wi-fi located at the reception area. There is no bar/restaurant in the complex although there is one in another complex less then 5 minutes away. As it was off-season this was not open yet was not an issue as the apartment kitchen was perfect for cooking in.

As I've mentioned the village of Luz is approximately a 20 minute walk or 5 minutes by car and the village of Burgau (a little gem) to the west is approximately 8 minutes by car. The beach at Burgau is breathtaking, a small little cove of a beach with cliff's either side. Perfection. There are a few nice restaurants located in Burgau also.

Mar da Luz is ideal for those wishing for some luxury, peace and quiet. If you're looking for bars and niteclubs on your doorstep this is not the place for you. A hire car is handy for quick nips to the shop and for viewing the surrounding villages and countryside.

One thing I'd like to see is each room being provided with a map (even the free maps located throughout the Algarve) as well as each room having leaflets for the available take-aways/deliveries etc. Also it would be great if the wi-fi could be brought into the individual apartments instead of only at reception.

On a side note, Liz who we booked with was also extremely helpful and accommodating and professional throughout. Thanks again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: Only wi-fi available is at the reception area
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Dear all

We are thankful that you enjoyed your holidays. In fact, the property offer wonderfull conditions to a dream holidays.

Thanks for such a kind words.

Hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lee_dunmo...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our stay in Mar Da Luz Resort - Portugal”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment and the complex it sits within is superb and easily the best we have stayed in whilst in Europe. The pool and spa were a big hit with the kids. The close proximity to Praia da Luz and Lagos made it ideal for meals out and evening entertainment. A rental car is a must and meant we could explore the coast for beautiful nearby beaches of which there are many. Prav's agents in Portugal were great and promptly and efficiently attended to all our needs whilst we were there. I would have no hesitation in recommending this venue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful enviroment of the complex and great views towards the sea
Liked least: Just a little too far to walk into town so a rental car is a must
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Dear Lee

Thanks for your kind words. We are allways doing our best to keep guest satisfaction in a high level.

Thanks for your recommendation.

Hope to see you soon.

Lili
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing