We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
88
65
36
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
65
36
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden poolself cateringpalm baythomas cook repfully fitted kitchenfamily holidaylate deallovely apartmentthese issuestennis courtscafes and restaurantsbuilding workplenty of sun loungerslocal supermarketeverything you could possibly needwatersidebedroom
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2017

Never been here before, that said we quite enjoyed it. The standard of the villa's and apartments vary quite considerably and is largely down to the individual property owners.
The public areas are tired and in need of some love and lots of investment.
Pot holed roads, pool areas in need of new furniture and not enough staff to name a few of the issues.
The area has suffered from the Macann incident and the 2008 downturn and both of these issues have had it's toll on the resort. We hope it can recover.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank AvidTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Quick late deal to Praia da Luz and the Ocean Club was wonderful. Although the resort was very quiet there was plenty of cafes and restaurants. The apartment was well equipped, spacious clean. 2 bedrooms with 2 bathrooms, large lounge/dining room with fully fitted kitchen and large patio was more than enough for the two of us. The Gardens pool was clean and had plenty of sun loungers and the bar/staff were excellent. All staff helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank _kathleenjinks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

It was very good, family loved it and we will definitely be coming back again! Staff are very friendly and the local people are very nice, the beach was also very good and the weather was nice as well

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank harley269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

We used to own a house as part of the club but our kids grew up so we sold up. We still visit every 12 months or so as we love Luz and have lots of friends there that we catch up with. We always stay on the Ocean Club site so that we can use the facilities and also holiday with our owner friends.
The Club has gone on a roller coaster ride, not only because of the 'Madeleine' incident which has cast a cloud over the resort for no fault of its own, but the recession and change of ownership have also taken their toll.
The club needs a lot of money spending on it. There were 4 pools, we understand that the 'adult' pool is closed for good - too costly to repair, the indoor Palm Bay pool is no longer part of the club and is also closed, the main 'pot' pool at the top of the resort is due to have major alterations and will be closed for summer. That leaves the garden pool or waterside as it was called. This is a lovely pool but will be nowhere big enough this summer.....both the pot pool and this used to be full of Sun worshippers and kids ....one pool will never manage. The tennis courts are very tired and need re surfacing at least. There were few staff around, we used to see gardeners all the time but none at all in our 10 day stay. In fact we only saw 3 staff in all our visits to reception and the pool.

The roadways and paths in resort also need sorting, we think UK roads are poor - these are far worse. A lot of tidying is needed, gardening and weeding, painting and general cleaning. Luz itself is the saddest we have seen it in 15 years , albeit this was Easter it is hard to see how much can be sorted before the main tourist season. At least there is less building work going on and very few cranes.

It won't stop us going 'out of season' again but never in the summer. We were told that the club is going to be full/very busy for this summer - it will be a bit tight around the pool if there is only one in operation. Fingers crossed it is tidied up as well as it does look a bit sad.

Ps the beach is still great !

Room Tip: Try and get a property in Ocean Club Gardens as they are the newest
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

It is a good resort but I have noticed that many families, us included, have stopped visiting since Madeleine McAnn went missing there, hotel staff are lovely and activities are great so don't be put off going by Madeleine McAnn going missing. It has nothing to do with the staff or security.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Jackowen2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews