We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (748)
Filter reviews
748 results
Traveller rating
436
141
72
46
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
141
72
46
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eden restaurant spa treatments eden suite our honeymoon spectacular location perfect stay great spa northern part lunch package compared to other hotels dinner reservations outdoor pool pica pica special touch standard room the cliff rooms are nice
Filter
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 748 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2011

the location and views are sublime, probably best on the island with dramatic cliffs. the hotel itself has a good feel with nice playfull architecture. the outdoor pool area and eden restaurants are very nicely done. the indoor pool is a bit dated and uninviting. the Cascades spa is somewhat gimmicky but as part of a package, fun to do - again mostly for the views. the rooms are spacious and nicely done. for a 5-star they could do some upgrades including more maintenance on the finishings (bathroom paint, sealants), more international channels on the tv and/or movies, coffee/tea maker, etc.

the hotel overall shows some wear/tear and provisional repairs.

the staff are generally friendly but could be a bit more pro-active.

Found food overall to be good with a complete breakfast buffet. the only major disappointment is the pricing of the food. it tastes good but for the prices charged the portions are quite small and very limited finishings. a basic hamburger lunch with fries running at 25eur without salad or other trimmings is steep. this applies to pretty much everything on the menu. we read several reviews prior to our visit with similar comments and would agree with them.

we were in the off-season (October) so the hotel was quite empty - can imagine that in peak season it may be a bit restless a.o. due to wooden flooring in the hallways which make lot of noise.

altogether a pleasant stay and certainly recommend the offseason package we got. at full list price, we would consider it overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DPL9473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We had our second trip to the Hacienda this September. We were there the same time last year, and when we got engaged in December, knew instantly it was where we wanted to get married. Arranging our wedding with the Hacienda from London was a breeze - so easy, very efficient and we never once had to visit during the planning phase - everything was very easily managed by email. We were not disappointed when we arrived - the hotel was as glorious as we remembered and we spent the days leading up to the wedding enjoying the sunshine, swimming and having fun with our friends and family - NOT racing around organising tiny details for the wedding - Agate from the hotel had taken care of everything. The food all week, and especially at the wedding was incredible and nothing was too much trouble for the lovely and very polite staff.

We'll be back every year. For a summary, here are some of the high points, and things to know in case they matter to you:

Best things:
- Attention to detail - for the wedding, attention to detail was incredible - they had thought of things we hadn't, and it was all done to the highest quality and without fuss. Nothing was too much trouble at all. We had the very best wedding imaginable, and our friends and family have all commented on how effortless and fun it was (we danced until 4am - not something you'd ever be able to do in the UK)
- The view - astounding
- The sun deck - great sun loungers, loads of towels, good bar service to your lounger - no reason to leave the hotel!
- The food - fantastic food and a good wine list
- Housekeeping - really good attention to detail - everything spotlessly clean each day
- Breakfast - excellent range. We ate breakfast late each day and then lasted through until dinner (good way to keep costs down a bit)
- Service - very friendly, nice staff, very prompt to respond to requests

Things to know about (not necessarily bad, but good to note if it's important to you)
- The gym - could use updating and it's very small. However, if it's a relaxing holiday you want, you don't want to be in the gym all day. There are some good places you can run or go walking if you don't mind hill and track running
- Wi-Fi - there is free wi-fi throughout the hotel, which is okay, but would sometimes drop out a bit
- Mobile reception - virtually no signal in the hotel or beside the pool. You can get reception if you stand outside in front of reception, but that's not ideal. Again, great for people who really want to get away from it all
- Cost - yes, it's an expensive holiday. But never did we feel like it wasn't money worth spending - we never felt like value for money was bad. You pay for the holiday, but you get full value from what you've paid (especially when it comes to the food - really lovely).
- Bathrooms - could be brought up to date. They're a bit outdated for a 5 star hotel
- Lack of iPod docks - would be a good addition to the rooms

Room Tip: Standard rooms are okay (we stayed in one on our first visit), but upgrading one level made a big difference - they were MUCH better
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L0nd0n_traveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I'm giving it five stars, but read all of the reviews below. Even the critical ones about room configuration and decor aren't wrong or exaggerated, so if they hit on points that might be major ones for you, pay attention. It just happened that the downsides to this place were so much the kind of thing I didn't care about and the upsides were so good, that I had a really marvelous and relaxing time here.

Being built into the hill (and really "into" it) overlooking a spectacularly beautiful cove, rooms are sometimes oddly shaped and bathrooms are small, particularly for big, tall wide-shouldered Americans. Even with some lifts, you have to climb around a lot of steps as things seem to be distributed over multiple levels (you even have to climb over a funky concrete "moat" to get to the sun chairs by the main pool area), so if mobility is an issue for you, this is also something to consider.

That all said, the place is a spectacularly beautiful oasis of peace and tranquility with lovely pools, gorgeous natural views and really pleasant accommodating service. The food is also really high quality with great attention to detail. We ended up taking most of our meals there and all of them, including the really fine buffet breakfast (but top-notch egg dishes made to order and brought to your table) with excellent fruits, Iberian ham and meat, fish and cheese varieties, big variety of cereals, yoghurts and excellent pastries and bread.

My other half was irritated by some incipient noises from the A/C that wouldn't go away and the smallness of the bathrooms (two of them in our suite). I was enchanted and would even consider just coming here myself as a place to escape and rest and recover.

Room Tip: Xamena suites have patios with their own very large hot tub and stunning views over the cove.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mgpaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Na Xamena is on the sparsely populated northern part of Ibiza island. It is in a beautiful location high above the sea, with a big "wow" view. The resort was designed in the early 1970s by the Belgian architect owner, using very organic forms (vaguely reminiscent of Gaudi). It is beautifully designed and we found it very well maintained. The decor is a blend of eastern mysticism and early 70s hippiedom. In fact, the resort seems to attract rich aging ex-hippies and honeymooners. It is as far removed from the action of Ibiza as you can imagine (a 40 euro cab ride from the airport). Once you arrive, it is unlikely you will leave the resort. Therefore, expect to take all your meals there. Fortunately, the food is very, very good, but it is also fully priced. Figure on 150 euros per day per person on meals (though it's not hard to do more). the cascades at the spa (hydrotherapy circuit) is well worth doing and at 35euros per person, a good value. The rest of the spa is really pretty much hotel quality (typically disappointing, particularly for deep tissue massage). The swimming pools are very nice. The hotel staff is young, not particularly well trained in the world of 5-star accommodations, but incredibly sweet and well meaning. You will need to ask for what you want and be patient with them. If you are looking for a relaxing place to retreat (and are not vexed by overpaying or less than 5-star service), this should be a memorable place for you.

Room Tip: Room 210 is considered a standard room, but has some of the amenities of a suite, including the large terrace overlooking the sea. The quality of the room will affect your stay, so ask in advance for details as the rooms vary a lot. It appears that all the King beds are two twins pushed together without enough of a topper for you not to feel the crack between matresses. You might expect better given the fifth star.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JeffZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

2nd visit to this hotel and wasn't disappointed. Amazing location. If you want peace and quiet this is ideal, however if you want bars and nightlife you do need a car as you are up in the hills. staff friendly and efficient and nothing too much trouble. Food in the restaurants great but the hotel is very very expensive. Expect to spend between 100 to 200 euros per day on food and drinks per couple, more if you eat in the restaurant. The rooms are clean and great to chill out in. We had one with Its own terrace and jacuzi. Worth paying the extra. if you want a place to relax and de stress this is the place. Will definitely be going back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellopuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews