We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great and unbelievable change....( in a good way)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Byke Old Anchor Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Byke Old Anchor Resort
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great and unbelievable change....( in a good way)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

i once came here with my dad when the old management use to run this place....it was bad.....like really bad....but i heard that its been taken over by different company so on my way to work i paid it a little visit....and let me tell you it was amazing and a phenomenal experience...the staff , the people , the services.....i know they are new, but amazing...they can definitely count on one person to come back......and those who think its bad....give the new staff some credit as they turned this place in something refreshing in just 4 months of their whole duration...........

Room Tip: just tell the reception folks.....PLEASE....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raghav a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    97
    63
    34
    61
See reviews for
121
82
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

stayed 1 week at the old anchor
when entering the gates for the first time you will notice the huge boat that is the reception/ night club and built around huge wonderful gardens are the apartment blocks We booked a 2 bedroom apartment sea facing but i regret that now as the river veiw which is the back of the complex and the scenery from them was much better with all the birds and boats ect ect
our room was a little worn out but was very clean and each room had seperate a/c also both bedrooms were en suite inbetween the bedrooms was a very large living room and a little kitchen The staff were very kind and helpful
As we were there they were re furbishing the rooms starting from the river apartments and are working there way up ,we looked inside one of the rooms that was just finished and they were completly re done from new beds and furniture to new a/c and windows I just hope that the price stays the same
The resort is pure veg which is fine by me BUT the breakfast was really rubbish who in there right minds puts chilli in baked beans and also the sambar was days old
the place is really nice and quite so ha d a great relaxing holiday
Thanks
to the mangement why dont you do dosa and thallis ect ect so much better than your menus
also change the night club in to a 5* pure veg restaurant instaed of a night club which nobody used

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed at the Old Anchor for 2 nights at the beginning of March. On the positive side 1. Great location-right opposite the beach.2. Polite and friendly staff.3. Good pool area and beautiful garden. On the negative side 1. Very shabby and run down rooms could do with a complete make over .2. The hotel has recently turned vegetarian (not mentioned on their web site.) Would I stay here again? The hotel while lacking a few comforts is certainly good value for money being cheaper than most of the other hotels in the area so most prob YES I would go back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lois45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridlington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

26-02-2012 having just returned from the old anchor/dalmia resort or what ever other name it is trading under it was a holiday from hell having booked 3 weeks we left after 8 days in all the 12 years we have visited goa this was the worst place we have stayed
it has now become a vegan hotel after we had booked no-one informed us of this and to make things worse a certain eastern block country's residents thought it was normal to clear the breakfast cusine ( as if that is what it could be called ) into there beach bags leaving very little for the remaining guests
drunken gangs at 3/4 inthe morning shouting and playing loud music, and if you said anything to these people it was confrontation and threats
such a nice place as Goa going down hill fast due to certain people turning it into another benidorm in high season
you have to feel sorry for the Goan people we can just stop going they have to live there

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cavelossim hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

If you are going to Goa to relax and to be away from crowd then this is the place for you. Situated in the Southern part of goa slightly away from the more crowd attracting sites this resort is appropriate for getaways. The beach is across the road and and is amazing to be in during night times.If yous tay here for most of your trip and in between take a cab to see rest of the city it can be a good break!

Room Tip: Preferably room on First Floor beach facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruchika3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
1.4 km away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
4.6 km away
Ramada Caravela Beach Resort
5.3 km away
Varca Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byke Old Anchor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byke Old Anchor Resort

Property: The Byke Old Anchor Resort
Address: Cavelossim Beach | Mobor, Salcette, Cavelossim 403731, India
Region: India > Goa > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
Price range (per night): $23 - $146
Hotel Class:3 star — The Byke Old Anchor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first ever Resort in South Goa Old Anchor has cast its spell on one and all. Here, from dawn to dusk, you can see the earth & the sea resting in one another's arms & dreaming of waves, tides, clouds, sands & lush green palms. Where you can succumb to timelessness with no schedule to follow except those set by the tide. Goa echoes with the magic of its natural panoramic beauty, beaches temples and churches with their distinct style of architecture, colorful festival, a rich cultural atmosphere and above all friendly and warm people. Silver sands, cool sea breeze, the parties at the shacks, water sports, swimming with the Dolphins or a lazy cruise down the river, what ever makes your holiday. Goa has it all. And there’s no better place to drop anchor in Goa than at The Byke Old Anchor Resort. You have the river on one side, a pool in the middle and the sea on the other side. Invigorating warm sun above and cool green shades below. The resort has 240 Deluxe bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Byke Old Anchor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byke Old Anchor Resort Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing