We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Goa Dona Sylvia Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mike's Place(Cavelossim)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Leela Goa(Cavelossim)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dona Sa Maria(Cavelossim)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,844)
Filter reviews
1,844 results
Traveller rating
959
629
187
48
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
959
629
187
48
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmama miathomson repseagull restaurantkebabcurrieschef afsara la carte restaurantsjungle bookbeach sellerssilver sandslobby managerbuffet restaurantevening entertainmentgreat holidaybeach shackpool staffdona sylvia resort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,481 - 1,486 of 1,844 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2010

a great pool, nice beach, the food was fabulous. attended a wedding and they decorated everything very nicely. the reception was very helpful and efficient. very cosy hotel, nicely located in south goa. the resort itself is very spacious and well laid out.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tascha007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

I am currently booking our holiday to Cuba and am reminded that I did not write a review for our trip to Dona Sylvia that we took in April

It was our first trip to India and without the invaluable assistance of Trip Advisor contributors I was well prepared for the holiday - particular thanks go to Meerkat for her help with the visa application

I was not disappointed one bit - Carvelossim is superb if you are looking for a far less busy resort which we were - Karaoke until 5am is not our thing. The little resort has a few shops and restaurants - in particular Mike's Place which not only serves the most fantastic food with huge portions but also has a vary talented live duo (keyboard & guitarist who play brilliant Santana) Mikes place also runs beach party nights which are great

The hotel was lovely - choice of food, cleanliness, sevice, standard of room were all good - I can't crticize any of it and I am fussy! Beautiful gardens and quiet and peaceful

The beach was great - we went end of season so we had the place practically to ourselves but there were still other people around - some of the beach shacks were still open serving the most astounding food at ridiculously cheap prices (even though we were AI we still ate at the beach nearly every day as it was so cheap and we couldn't be bothered to walk the 50 meters back to the hotel !)

Thomsom flight good - we paid for upgrade but when we saw the seating in the regular part we decided that in future an upgrade wouldn't be worth the money as standard seating was more that decent for a long haul

Our Thomson rep was Gaynor who I have to say was brilliant particularly as we were in the middle of the volcano ash palava - no fuss no problems with extending our stay at the hotel at no extra charge to us - frankly I could think of worse places to be stranded and I was only sorry that we were only stranded for 2 days

The food was delicious - huge selection and the best prawns and chicken skewers I have ever eaten - the best however was the tandoori chicken in one of the alc restaurants - it was sublime and I can still taste it today.

As we were end of season it was quite warm - about 42C with humidity at 84% - sea was a little rough - you could swim a little but it was more of wave jumping but still fun - breeze was welcome due to heat

We went on a 2 night 3 day trip to Delhi & Agra - we arranged this ourselves at half the cost that Thomson were offering the identical trip to - an absolute must and not to be missed

We also took a trip to the waterfall which was wonderful - it was the coldest water we had come across during our stay and was very welcome as even the sea was like bathwater

Did the elephant and spice trail - good fun

All in all it was so good we have decided to go again in a couple of years time - the only reason we are not returning next year is because we feel we sould go to the other side of the world and see what's there

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tomCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

The hotel property is good having Mediterranean type houses. The best part which i like is that this is a beach property. The Dining hall is also big and food quality is also good. I loved staying here for 4 days with my wife.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atulac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

This has got to be the most amazing hotel that I've ever stayed in...

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank staceynelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Mid size property by the beach..Cottages and facilities are a bit run down but still acceptable due to upkeep. Service of the staff was the saving grace , ready to please you with custom cuisine spiked with warmth and smiles. Range of beverages is rather limited to low end to mid range brands.

Suggest taking cabs from outside the Hotel while shopping is away at Madgao market a few kms away. Good for someone who prefers to explore South Goa or does not want to move around much..

Avoid using this property around Indian holidays as it tends to get large groups which are noisy and crowd facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajiv7860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews