We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“True relaxation”
other travellers have booked this property
Sophia's House in the evening
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sophia's House in the evening
Villa and Patio Patio with a view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Sophia's House in the evening
Villa and Patio
Patio with a view
patio evening
infinity pool view evening
solar heated infinity pool
solar heated infinity pool
fully equipped kitchen
lounge wifi broadband and sat tv
lounge with patio doors to the solar heated pool
double bedroom
twin bedroom
twin bedroom
bathroom
shaded patio area with sea views
upper sun terrace
shaded patio area with views over Almyrida to sea
shaded patio view to the right
Almyrida Beach
Rethymno old harbour in the evening
sunset from the heated infinity pool
Balos Lagoon
Elafonissi beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alys F
Thatcham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“True relaxation”
Reviewed 7 March 2018 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed at this lovely villa in 2016, when coming for a surprise visit for a family members birthday. A good size and comfortably furnished, with superb views, and in a peaceful location, we had a truly relaxing time. Loved the pool and just sitting looking out across the bay! We did have a hire car which we used to explore the area, but did also walk into Almyrida too. We will certainly be back sometime, soon hopefully!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caitlyn12...
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely views and super pool”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 2 weeks the heated pool and the views were the highlights for us brand new Weber BBQ was great. Lots of great restaurants nearby and a mice walk along the donkey trail to another little village Gavalchori also Kalyves is good.
Well equipped and everything worked as it should would stay again if revisiting the area. Very private and relaxing and saw lots of wildlife on the short walk down the hill to the village eagles goats lizards. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful and there is a taxi firm in the village to bring you back after your evening meal. Half a litre of wine 3 euros and a nice Italian ice cream shop in the village. Had a great holiday here also not far from Chania airport

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richcath2...
Caterham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Villa in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a week in April 2017. Although the weather could've been a bit warmer (we took our chances in April!) we all enjoyed our time here very much. The villa is very comfortable and the views are beautiful - the kids enjoyed the pool which was plenty warm enough despite the often cooler air outside. Almyrida beach is not far away at all - when we ate their in the evenings we walked down and got a taxi back for 7 euros for the 4 of us

We would definitely recommend a stay here to anyone, really couldn't have hoped for a better place to stay. Thanks to Ruth for a really great holiday and being very helpful with information prior to arrival.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al_Cannon
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful relaxation”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Had a great week as two couples. Loved the peaceful location and views over Souda bay. A couple of minor mishaps were very quickly dealt with by the owners. Almyrida bay is a 20 minute walk downhill and a few euros cab fare back. The pool was lovely to cool down in when the heat got too much but the breezes up the hill kept us comfortable. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Local supermarkets
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tufty2
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful views and tranquil location”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and I have just spent two peaceful weeks at Sophia's House. The views looking out over the valley and Souda Bay were wonderful. No traffic noise, no loud music, just total tranquility and visiting birds. The villa is well equipped with everything to hand and the pool was well maintained and very clean. I would say that a car is needed to get around. My husband forgot to pack his driving license, so it was best foot or should I say, feet forwards everywhere. However, we didn't really miss a car, as we saw lots more on our enjoyable walks than we would see if driving and walking helped to work off the lovely meals we ate and enjoyed!
We miss the views and peacefulness of Sophia's House and have no hesitation in recommending it to holidaymakers. Thankyou to Ruth for allowing us to share your delightful house, the views and Almyrida.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing, the villa, the views, the place and the people.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing