We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful relaxation”
other travellers have booked this property
Sophia's House in the evening
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sophia's House in the evening
Villa and Patio Patio with a view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Sophia's House in the evening
Villa and Patio
Patio with a view
patio evening
infinity pool view evening
solar heated infinity pool
solar heated infinity pool
fully equipped kitchen
lounge wifi broadband and sat tv
lounge with patio doors to the solar heated pool
double bedroom
twin bedroom
twin bedroom
bathroom
shaded patio area with sea views
upper sun terrace
shaded patio area with views over Almyrida to sea
shaded patio view to the right
Almyrida Beach
Rethymno old harbour in the evening
sunset from the heated infinity pool
Balos Lagoon
Elafonissi beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Al_Cannon
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peaceful relaxation”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Had a great week as two couples. Loved the peaceful location and views over Souda bay. A couple of minor mishaps were very quickly dealt with by the owners. Almyrida bay is a 20 minute walk downhill and a few euros cab fare back. The pool was lovely to cool down in when the heat got too much but the breezes up the hill kept us comfortable. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Local supermarkets
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tufty2
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful views and tranquil location”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and I have just spent two peaceful weeks at Sophia's House. The views looking out over the valley and Souda Bay were wonderful. No traffic noise, no loud music, just total tranquility and visiting birds. The villa is well equipped with everything to hand and the pool was well maintained and very clean. I would say that a car is needed to get around. My husband forgot to pack his driving license, so it was best foot or should I say, feet forwards everywhere. However, we didn't really miss a car, as we saw lots more on our enjoyable walks than we would see if driving and walking helped to work off the lovely meals we ate and enjoyed!
We miss the views and peacefulness of Sophia's House and have no hesitation in recommending it to holidaymakers. Thankyou to Ruth for allowing us to share your delightful house, the views and Almyrida.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing, the villa, the views, the place and the people.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedao
Bury St Edmunds
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic villa, fantastic views, 100% would recommend”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We've just returned from a fantastic 10 day holiday at Sophia's House. The villa is in a quiet location with great views of Souda Bay. We collected our hire car from Chania airport and it took approx 40 mins to travel to the villa - the last stretch incs steep hills with hairpin bends so perhaps not for the inexperienced driver! The villa is very well equipped. Two of the bedrooms have patio doors that lead out to the patio/pool area, the 3rd bedroom is to the rear of the property so it doesn't have the view of the bay or direct access to the pool. All the rooms have air conditioning and large ceiling fans. The kitchen is very well equipped and the bathroom large. There is also a large selection of DVD's/books for you to use. The pool is solar heated and they do say that this will only raise the temperature a few degrees, so don't expect it to feel "warm"! It was perfect for cooling us down as the temperature was 30-35 degrees so we were in and out of it all day. Every evening we drove down to Almyrida where the choice of restaurants is enormous. It's lovely sitting overlooking the sea, watching the sun set. We didn't use the beach as we preferred the pool but it looked very enticing! We visited Chania twice whilst we were there. We did the hop on/hop off bus tour, well worth the 10 euros and it does go out as far as Souda so you could get on the bus there to save you driving into Chania. The stop is to the left of the bus stop near where the large ferry docks, there's a sign on the wall that gives you the expected times. The historic area of Chania is lovely, lots of nice small shops with friendly owners. I would happily recommend this villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location and view
Liked least: The section of road just before the villa as it's steep, single track with blind corners!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So peaceful !”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely villa in a really quiet and peaceful location . Wonderful views and the pool on the front terrace was a real bonus . The ceiling fans are great especially when not quite hot enough for the air con . Stunning part of Crete , particularly the mountains . Everything you need in Almyrida in terms of shops and some lovely tavernas . A great location to get away from the hustle and bustle of everday life , hope ot return to Sophia's house in the not too distant future .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jac569461
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“superb stunning property in idyllic location”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in May with my 2 daughters, 2 sisters and niece. The villa has breath taking views across a green valley to the sea which you can enjoy from the roof terrace or balcony, we often watched the beautiful sunsets with a glass of wine and enjoyed the wildlife (owls, eagles, polecats not to forget a few lovely cats!)
The villa has all the amenities that you could require for your stay and is situated above the small resort of Almyrida in the pretty little village of Aspro. The infinity pool is fantastic and how lovely to be able to have a morning dip or a great place to cool down after a long day out. The villa was such a haven that we could easily have spent the whole week just staying in with a stock of groceries and a good book!
You will need a car for your stay in order to get about and discover Crete. Plenty of nice little restaurants in Almyrida and a lovely little deli too.
To throw some adventure into our very laid back week we decided to take on the challenge of driving the scary track to the most stunning beach I have ever seen Gramvoussa, clear, clear water but the most breathtaking aquamarine and turquoise colours, truly a beautiful and awe inspiring moment in my life..
If you want a lovely away from it all place to stay where you can feel relaxed, rested and refreshed then I cannot rate Sophia's House highly enough for a memorable and beautiful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pool and views
Liked least: can't think of anything that I didn't like!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing