We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
210
63
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
63
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant bowling alley beach hotel infinity pool almyrida beach thea restaurant roof garden half board staff continue hot and cold food early season restaurant staff sister hotel lovely hotel nothing is too much trouble ground floor pool room was clean and comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017

My daughter and I stayed in October. The hotel was winding down as it closed for the season on the day we left. Lovely hotel, very clean and lovely staff.
Food not brilliant , we were half board. I think the breakfast menus could be better, changed daily etc. The evening meal very basic. But all in all we had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We went during the last week of the season and we were upgraded to a suite - beautiful, as they were making room for people in Alymrida Beach hotel so that it could be closed down for the winter. No complaints with the hotel itself, staff and cleanliness 4* but I can't give it full marks because of the food. We were upgraded to HB for free and only ate there once. Our room overlooked the sea which was lovely, but with Jacks Bar next door has the potential to be quite noisy during high season, we only had one night when the music stopped at about 11.30pm. The roof terrace has sunbeds and the infinity pool that I imagine would get very hot and crowded during high season. There are plenty of friendly tavernas along the seafront serving very good food. It's quite a good location for exploring the side of the island especially if you hire a care - try a local firm as it's much cheaper. Overall a really good break.

Room Tip: The suites are lovely with complimentary dressing gowns, slippers and bathroom toiletries provided. The hotel has the benefit of a lift if you have walking difficulties, especially if you want to go onto the roof terrace.
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lindi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We were actually booked into the Almyrida Beach Hotel but because it was the last week of the season, all the guests ended up staying in the Residence. We had a slight hiccup on arrival as we did not have the sea view we had booked but this was swiftly sorted by the excellent staff on reception.
The room was large and spacious with a king size bed and a single bed which we used as a sofa. There was air conditioning, a fridge, a safe (extra charge), tea/coffee making facilities, balcony with chairs and table, adequate storage, tv, slippers, bath towels, beach towels, toiletries, hairdryer and wifi throughout the hotel. It was very clean and the excellent cleaners made different towel animals every day which was a lovely touch.
Bar prices were reasonable with happy hour cocktails between 17:00 and 19:00 at 6.5 euros.
We had half board and thought the food was very good. Breakfast was buffet style with bacon, beans, scrambled and fried eggs, french toast, cereals, juice, pastries, cakes, fruit, porridge, cheese, cold meats, breads, jams etc
Dinner was also buffet style with soup, salad bar, risotto, pasta and sauce, fish, grilled meat, slow cooked meat, potatoes and vegetables. There was always a choice of at least 5 puddings in addition to ice cream and fruit. We found the greek dishes such as slow cooked meats, roast lamb, stuffed tomatoes/peppers and moussaka were particularly good and the banoffee pie was a highlight.
There was a roof top pool and roof top bar/restaurant with wonderful mountain views. The hotel has a bowling alley, pool table, ground floor pool and bar and we could also use the family pool of the Almyrida Beach Hotel. The hotel is centrally located with the beach over the road and plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. As it was the last week of the season, places were starting to close down but that suited us as we like it quiet. The hotel produces a booklet of walks which range from about 30mins to 2 hours and were very enjoyable.
The staff were excellent, very friendly and happy to help. They made our stay very relaxing and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ceri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

The hotel was chosen as an end of season hope to get some sun, and we did, Fine weather all week, about 25C. The hotel was a good choice, especially as we could make use of the facilities in the sister hotel across the road. This was especially good late October as the mornings were cool, too cool to eat breakfast outside on the Residence terrace, but we were able to eat breakfast inside the Beach hotel.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The cleaners were also very good and kept our room very clean and tidy. A nice touch was they decorated the bed with towel sculpture. We liked the room, and the bed was very comfortable. We were not too enamoured with the balcony as there was not a lot of privacy between ajoining rooms.

However, the location was good, just yards from the beach, which was sandy and no noticeable pebbles nor seaweed. Bars and restaurants just outside. We did like the fact there were numerous short walks around the village, through olive groves and the like. Nice.

The public transport was restricted to a bus to Chania

Overall, we were very pleased with this hotel

Room Tip: Keep an eye on the shower first time you use as our's wasn't very stable hanging on the wall
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MikeAnne210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

On arrival we where delighted to be upgraded to this hotel, it is modern and contemporary and much more us than the original booking! After a busy summer this was much appreciated, thank you so much! Beautiful roof top terrace, overlooking the sea, majestic mountains and the countryside. Every single day the cleaners made us a different towel shape, it was amazing, best cleaners here ever, hardworking and friendly. Relaxing breakfast buffet, it was great to choose your own seat and get your own hotel drinks, much more chilled than most hotels I have been too! Hot hot water, perfect for plentiful baths and showers.

TIPS
1) If you are into PHOTOS - great images in the reception area, the affinity pool, the bay on the walk up to Plaka and of course those marvelous mountains! Also if you head into Chania you can get a photo taken with a snake (at the harbor) and look out for the turtle, we spotted a massive one in the harbor area, very exciting! The sunset restaurant is also a good photo (the food is awful so maybe stick to a drink) as it is a great overview of the sea/the resort and the countryside
2) Divine BREAD up in Plaka at Elpsis restaurant, also quite pretty eateries up there, nice to have a break from the strip!
3) If you meander up to Klavos there is an SUPERMARKET that sells all English food, friendly.
4)) If you are into SWIMMING, BIKING OR RUNNING then this place will be a good challenge! Very hilly terrain, great training and lots of strava segments
5) We hired 2 decent ROAD BIKES from the Bike shop - Nikos Galanis - Agg Sikelianou & Schweitzer 17 Rethymno as we hired from them last time we where in Crete and they provide excellent service, speak good English and pick up and drop off at the hotel. We hired for 3 days and got a day free too!
6) Lots of VEGE food here, even a vegan burger on the strip! You might want to look at the starters as more options for veges' than the main and as a rule the starters are quite big (and also the same price as a main!)
7) The chef cooked us an OMELETTE at breakfast, it was to die for, totally delish, you have to ask for this but it's worth the wait
9) Check you CHANGE and the prices on the menu on this hol, 2 places tried to overcharge us!
10) If you like BOOKS go over the road, it's book heaven

AREAS FOR IMPROVEMENT
Heating the pool - it's freezing
More variety at brekkie (it's the same every day)

Stunning hotel, in a lovely location, quiet and peaceful, loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincessPink653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews