We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Argo

Spacious and bright sitting room area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious and bright sitting room area
spacious and bright sitting and dining room area double bedroom overlooking sea views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Spacious and bright sitting room area
spacious and bright sitting and dining room area
double bedroom overlooking sea views
Master bedroom with en suite
Second bedroom with twin beds
Third bedroom with single bed and pull out bed
Main bathroom
Modern and fully equipped kitchen
Front entrance patio the Villa
views from the roof terrace
Drinks in the the veranda with views of the sea
Panoramic views from the front terrace
Enjoy lovely meals and drinks in the comfortable garden area
decking area in the extended garden - specious area to relax and enjoy the beautiful views
decking area in the extended garden
decking area in the garden - amazing views
view from the roof terrace
swing seat under a lemon tree in the garden.
View of the garden and beautiful surroundings from the roof terrace
Ancient Chapel next to the Villa
views from the the roof terrace
views of the white mountains from the terrace
Typical street in the  hamlet of Aspro
Enjoy relaxing and sunbathing in the garden
Almyrida Port at Twilight...
Seaside resort of Almyrida
Kalyves Beach...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Alex C
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My sister, husband and I have just returned from a stay at the Villa Argo and had a fantastic time. The villa was comfortable and spacious and had fantastic views with the sea in one direction and the White Mountains behind. The facilities at the villa were excellent and included free internet.
We found this area of Crete not only beautiful but historically fascinating and the use of a car enabled us to visit Chania and further afield easily as well as going to local villages where we sampled delicious Cretan food.
We would certainly recommend a stay at this lovely villa.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to send this very good review. It means a lot to us to know that you enjoyed your stay at the villa. We love it there and we are happy to hear that our guests like it too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Jul 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to send this very good review. It means a lot to us to know that you enjoyed your stay at the villa. We love it there and we are happy to hear that our guests like it too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gill-from...
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classy Property”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We LOVED this place, it is a GORGEOUS property.

It is clean, light, bright, spacious, airy, comfortable and peaceful.

The fitments are all good quality: marble tabletops and window sills, good solid-feeling doors (with effective fly screens), nice furniture and lovely tiling. Even the pictures on the wall were ones I’d happily have at home.

Villa Argo is very well equipped with just about anything you’d want. There’s plenty of crockery, cutlery, glasses, utensils and other kitchen stuff. Washing machine, dishwasher, iron, ironing board, hairdryer all make life easy. If you leave surplus non-perishables at the end of your stay, they will be left for future occupants, which is nice and not always the case – saves buying a number of things you didn’t want to carry on the plane.

There are even shelves full of books – both novels and really useful guide books – and games for the children (and adults, I suppose!).

All the water is pumped, so you can have your shower with good pressure and without having to fiddle for ages to get the temperature right. There’s air conditioning in the bedrooms and living area which works quietly and effectively.

There’s plenty of seating of various kinds, both outdoors and inside. Also loads of wardrobe space and – my particular foible – full length mirrors.

Outside, as you will have seen in other reviews, is a view to die for, right across Souda Bay to Akrotiri. You can appreciate it from the comfort of the large terrace which is really quite private and where we were always able to choose between sun and shade. There is also an enormous sunny roof terrace.

We were just two and we revelled in the space, but there’s plenty of room and equipment for 5 or 6.

If we’d had any problems, I’m sure they would have been dealt with quickly by Derick and Pam locally – but we didn’t, and that’s even better! Amy, the owner, was informative and friendly throughout the booking process.

Almyrida is a pleasant resort with beach, shops and plenty of bars, cafes and eateries, a walkable distance away (though I confess we didn’t walk it, in the over 30 degree heat of late June – going down there would have been no problem, coming back up a bit more strenuous!). We did, though, go for walks from the villa along the little roads, which have a tendency to turn into tracks and wander off over the countryside. Chania, not too far away by car, is also well worth visiting, especially the old harbour area and the little streets behind it. We also loved ancient Aptera, even closer, with Minoan, Roman and Venetian origins and staggering views.

We will always remember our time at Villa Argo sitting in the shade of the terrace, looking at that wonderful view, sipping cold rose wine and hearing the lovely hot sounds of cicadas and goat bells.

Highly recommended. We’d love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2013
Many thanks for the great review. We are very grateful for the time you took to write such lovely review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay in our villa and liked the area. We hope you will return and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Aspro.
Kind regards
Amy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views and breakfast on the terrace
Liked least: the walk back up the hill from the town - until we found a friendly taxi driver
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jul 2013
Many thanks for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the villa. We hope you will return and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Aspro.
Kind regards
Amy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from property, friendliness of area
Liked least: walk back up to property on a hot day
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jul 2013
Many thanks for the good review. Very pleased you had a good time and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the villa. kind regards, Amy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing