We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and friendly, the place to stay in Diani”
Review of Diani Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Diani Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Diani Beach, Kenya
2 reviews
“Fun and friendly, the place to stay in Diani”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed in South Coast backpackers 2 weekends in a row and both times were unforgettably fun and friendly experiences. The staff are really helpful and know the area really well, so always ask for their advice first before heading out. The dorm beds were comfortable, with mosquito nets and security drawers beneath, which was handy. The hostel isn't in the centre of diani but that didn't make much of a difference as you'd catch a tuk-tuk, motorbike, matatu or taxi everywhere anyway. There's a real party atmosphere at the weekends but if you can, then stay a few days in the week too when the hostel is quieter with a more relaxed atmosphere. I'd really recommend this hostel to backpackers who are looking to party, have fun and meet people, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pricey320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    28
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
28
88
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Great little backpackers. Very friendly staff. Well stocked bar. Comfy beds. Good food. Only 5 mins walk to the beautiful beautiful Diani beach. Practically every IVHQ volunteer includes a trip to this backpackers for a bit of R and R...and a good party!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristyMiller373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Went to SCB for 5 days last week, the stay and staff were excellent. Staff got involved in activities and were helpful with ideas for activities/ things to do such as trips, clubs, food. The pay when you leave tab made the experience more relaxed not having to pay at the bar every 5mins and carry money around with you all night. The rooms were cleaned every day and the chef made the best pancakes. The weekends were excellent with games, music and cheap drinks and through the week there was a nice chilled atmosphere. We originally planned a 4 night stay but ended up staying an extra night and even then we only left as we had to flights booked otherwise we'd have stayed longer. I would 100% recommend SCB to others and would definitely go back to stay if I return to Kenya.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelbuff2012, Manager at Diani Backpackers, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Cassie,
thank you for taking the time to write a review. Also, thank you for staying!
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
If we can help with anything, don't hesitate to write us a message on Facebook, or by e-mail.
Cheers,
Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veracruz, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I spent a few days in this hostel. Nice grounds, pool, bar. TV and internet. Good food if not real Kenyan (-: I really liked the little wooden stand with nice pillows by the pool, even though it also seems to serve other purposes at night. The staff clean the bathrooms frequently which is a big plus. The nearby beach is lovely.

If you are in a party mood, it is your place. Mostly young backpackers around. Some free shots and wild atmosphere.

For a quiet holiday or over 30, it is probably not your place.

I qualify this hostel as good, good value, good facilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chivis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelbuff2012, Manager at Diani Backpackers, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Chivis,
we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Backpackers. We strive to keep the place clean and lively. However you only gave us an average rating. Is there something we could do better next time?
~Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

SCB is unbelievable!
Been to Diani several times and this is undoubtedly the place to stay if you're looking for a fun, party atmosphere.
Owners are awesome. Super chilled.
During the weeks it's more chilled, sunbathing, volleyball, swimming with a few beers, can watch movies/ play computer in the lounge.. but this place really steps up a gear towards the weekend! Be prepared to go hard Friday, Saturday and Sunday with pool parties all day, amazing music and partying all night.
If you enjoy having a good time with like minded people this is the place for you.
I noticed a bad review from a couple a few weeks ago.... They are obviously a little confused about where to go if you're looking for a private romantic break!! There are plenty of suitable places in Diani for romantic breaks... But if its chilled out weeks and party filled weekends you're looking for.. SCB is the only place to be!
We ended up staying much longer than originally planned (like most people) .. If you're planning to come here you should probably be prepared to be sucked in and not want to leave! The longer you stay, the better it gets!
Louis, Justin, Kevin.. Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelbuff2012, Manager at Diani Backpackers, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Debbie,
thanks for staying with us, and writing a review! It was our pleasure to accommodate you. Take care, and hopefully see you again soon!
~Justin
Manager, SCB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.7 km away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
160 reviews
1.4 km away
PrideInn Express Diani
PrideInn Express Diani
#20 of 29 in Diani Beach
114 reviews
1.9 km away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
9.5 km away
Diani Bay Resort
Diani Bay Resort
#29 of 29 in Diani Beach
31 reviews
9.0 km away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Backpackers

Property: Diani Backpackers
Address: 1400 K.F.I. Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya (Formerly South Coast Backpackers)
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Diani Beach
Price range (per night): $25 - $48
Hotel Class:2 star — Diani Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More stylish and security conscious than the average backpackers, Diani Backpackers has dorms and privates in a lovely house. Come to party at the 24-hour bar and pool, chill out in the lush garden, or catch up on sleep in the baobab dorm, where beds wrap around the trunk of a tree. There's a volleyball court, great daily menu and lockers. Turn right after KFI supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Diani Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing