We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Staying at Saintfridays” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SaintFriday's Holiday Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Messenia Region
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
SaintFriday's Holiday Villas
Ranked #54 of 80 Hotels in Messenia Region
Queensland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Staying at Saintfridays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Staying at Saintfridays

I actually e mailed another site for information but their facility was closed and they recommended Saint Fridays. Why ??? My wife and I wanted to stay a minimum of 3 months commencing October. The original site does not operate in the Greek 'winter'.
So from the moment of e mailing Hilary and Paul and later phone calls I had no reservations in paying up and catching the last UK charter Flight they recommended . It was the last for Kalamata ...after that flight one had to fly to Athena.
(I explain we were long term house sitting in France and later UK and promised ourselves a long break in a special (for us) area.)
As arranged Paul was there to greet us (at an agreed price) and off we went at 10pm to St Fridays... about an xxxx hr trip.

Look at the site and all you see is true. there is no 'photoshop' used or smoke and mirrors information.
What you see is what you will experience. If you want the RITZ ... go somewhere else.

Now the area, Yes , it is alone hidden in the Olive Groves with a view out over the Sea and further . With the exception of one power line in the distance it was the same views as the ancients would have had. My wife an Archaeologist was over the moon.
St Fridays is a 30 minute lovely undulating walk to the shops which is a traditional Village. If you expect Marks and Sparks (UK)or Macy's (USA) forget it...Try more like small individual dimly lit friendly individaully owned shops (but not between 2 and 4pm...which might sound strange but you will enjoy the later night shopping as the result.)
We purchased what we wanted .So in answer to . ...Can I buy all groceries clothing Medical goods and eat at restaurants ???YES you can.
Languages ??? We overheard a few languages between traders and customers and we had no problems.
We got what we wanted at various old shops and we made wonderful assoccations with local business people.
Is there an ATM or Bank there..??? NO
Is there a coach service passing through that can get you to a Bank and ATM E Mail bigger coffee shops etc etc...Yes. The town on the coast is KORONI and is 15 minutes away by bus.
You see ; we use Public transport in all countries . So change down a gear and do what locals do in very up market aircon coach which is regular if you note scheduled timings.. But if you are not used to buses there are Taxi's at each town.
Our suggestion is you need to adapt to what is available e.g. get a bus time table and have the right fare. Dont tender a huge note.

We mainly stayed local for a few months and later hired a car for further expeditions ( for my wife Archaeology sites , for me Cafes).
We used local school and regular buses to search other Regional areas and enjoyed everything.

The Beaches from St Fridays are down thru the Olive groves and down a made road for a 15 minutes walk to the beach (which extends for miles/ks).

We were lucky as the owners were insitu for a time and I guess we were spoilt BUt after they left the local friendships (Greek and others )we made continued to make us welcome.
In summary in todays world when first choosing to arrange things (by E Mail ) it can be a fraudulent risk .I can state that the Family Greek Cypriot/Scottish owners (both professionally employed also in UK) are above reproach. My advice to help you find good places to stay like Saintfridays, when you are booking anywhere, don't hesitate to arrange things direct with the owners by e mail and follow up with phone calls to avoid the fraud risk.
We are going back there.

Room Tip: Email and tell the owners what you would like. they will listen and find out what's best for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnHC H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    0
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

This is a wonderful location with all you would expect. Views of the sea and mountains, olive trees, mountain roads and dirt tracks to drive along.
The apartments are simple, and for us that was their charm. No TV's etc to distract from the view and the silence (except the cicadas of course) but they had everything we needed.
There really is a beach about a 10 minute walk away, which is small, is great for swimming but not busy and is used by locals. The bigger beach is the other side of Koroni, about a 10 minute drive away.
Paul and two of his daughters were there during our stay, and they could not have been more helpful. They were very relaxed and easy going, giving our children the freedom to explore. Paul is very knowledgable about the local area, and can suggest local places to eat and places to see and when the markets are on. But, they were not overly attentive and were not disturbing us every day which was great.
Unfortunately we had a bit of a medical emergency with one of our children whilst there (nut allergy related), and Paul and his eldest daughter really helped us out with their knowledge of the area. Invaluable.
If you want simple (not basic) accommodation in beautiful surroundings and are looking for a classic 'get away from it' holiday, with local villages where Greek is still the main language spoken plus Koroni which is more of a tourest trap (Castle, English spoken well by all) then this is the place for you.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank TLERM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

This is a unique experience. It is not a five-star resort, rather a collection of villas set in an exqusite olive grove with views down to the sea and across to the Taygetos Mountains. There is an uncrowded beach about ten minutes down the road. The accommodation is simple but comfortable, with an enormous verandahs - a wonderful place to sit and read and look at the view. The atmosphere is friendly and informal. Up the road at Charakopio, an unspoilt Greek village, are two really good tavernas Yianni's (Fouli cooks old-style Greek food) and Niko's, which does good bbq . The more touristy, postcard-pretty Koroni is only minutes away. It's a short drive to Methoni and Pylos and Kalamata is an hour away; the museum is a must. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlanK35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

When you find a Gem like this you are torn between telling everybody with great enthusiasm or keeping it to yourself in the hope that it doesn't get changed too much.
We have stayed at Saint Fridays three times with the next trip already booked. I think that says it all.
If you go to saint Fridays and you expect it to be like a 5 star hotel, you will be bitterly disappointed. But if you go for a peaceful holiday in beautiful part of unspoilt Greece you will have to look at lot harder to find a better location.
The accommodation maybe a little basic, but clean and comfortable with everything you will need. I agree with one of the other reviewers that the description on the website does give the impression that they are all detached bungalows but this is a technicality.
And why have a pool? You have the biggest pool in the world 500yards away.
The villas are all very quiet, private and have superb verandas with spectacular views over the Messinian Bay, making the most of the beautiful sunrises, if you can get up that early in the morning.
On our first visit Hilary and Paul were very welcoming and friendly. We are veterans to the area, so we know our way around quite well.
On the second and third visit, we were looked after by Andreas and Sylvia who were just lovely.
The nearest town with its tavernas is a 2Km uphill walk, older people than me do it everyday and it does make coming home easier after your night out on Greek food and local wine at Nico's taverna! Bring a torch.
Koroni with it's many and varied restaurants and tavernas is only a few minutes drive away and is great for watching the Greeks on holiday. Get your Greek phrase book out if you plan to venture to some of the smaller villages during the day, a lot of people don't speak any English, but why should they?
The local beach is one of the best in the Peloponese, and made us very lazy about going elsewhere to find another. You can reach this by taking a stroll downhill through the olive groves which takes me with my dodgy knee about 10- 15 mins.
If you want lots of activity, nightlife and amusement arcades for the kids outside your door, this is not the place.
If want to sit on the veranda and take in the tranquil views and NOT hear people coming home drunk singing kareoke songs, yelling and banging doors all night, come here.
There is only one bad thing I can say about saint Fridays: it makes me very very sad to leave and go home.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank citori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2008

My family and I had a wonderful time at Saintfridays .
The villa was beautifully clean, the directions were very clear and the views were amazing. This isn't a package holiday, it's unique and the drive from Athens is part of the adventure. We stopped in the mountains for breakfast and stopped at Kalamaki for a swim. On the way back we went to Ancient Corinth and the canal and spent a night in Athens which was great fun.

Paul and Hilary the owners gave us a great welcome and bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable and had every thing we needed. The children have begged us to return this year and it's a promise we will keep.

The beach at Gargarou is lovely and the sea is crystal clear. We ate in the village at Nikos - do order the roast pork for Sunday lunch by Saturday night at the latest. Koroni is great for evening strolls and so safe for the children. We also took the opportunity to visit a few sites - Olympia , Ancient Messini, Mystras and Voidakilia Beach near Nestors palace.

Memories of sitting out on the balcony at night seeing the twinkling lights over on the Mani and Koroni to the sound of crickets and cicadas kept me going all winter knowing that I had secured my little patch of heaven again for summer 2008.

  • Liked — Location and atmosphere
  • Disliked — Leaving at the end of our holiday
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susanpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Messenia Region hotels
0.0 km away
Villa Teo
Villa Teo
#1 of 1 in Mikri Mantineia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 km away
Kastania Guesthouse
Kastania Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Kastania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 km away
Studios Koukis
Studios Koukis
#1 of 1 in Kitries
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino
0.0 km away
Elite City Resort
Elite City Resort
#2 of 21 in Kalamata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.0 km away
Horizon Blu
Horizon Blu
#1 of 21 in Kalamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SaintFriday's Holiday Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SaintFriday's Holiday Villas

Property: SaintFriday's Holiday Villas
Address: | Gargarou Beach, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 80 Hotels in Messenia Region
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
SaintFriday's Holiday Villas Greece/Peloponnese

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing