We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
374
38
17
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
38
17
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool beach bar half board next year soup round bed main course lovely hotel waiter service every member of staff his team two weeks bed and breakfast general manager our honeymoon restaurant manager moment you arrive
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 433 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful, relaxing two weeks at the Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel. From being greeted at Kavala airport we found the holiday experience lovely and we really enjoyed the ferry trip across to Thassos. Having the taxi’s to and from the ports was a lovely touch and meant on arrival in Kavala we had time for a quick drink and bite to eat before catching the ferry.

The hotel itself is lovely but on arrival we were given room 502 which we found to be very disappointing and not to the standard described in the brochure or expected from a 5 star boutique hotel. The room was very dark and we needed the lights on when we arrived mid-afternoon, there was no real seaview from the actual bedroom just from the balcony. The bathroom was very dark with no daylight and the room was just a room not a junior suite as described in the brochure, we didn’t have a sofa or table with chairs in the room. We were quite disappointed so my husband spoke to reception who in the end agreed to move us the next day.

We moved to room 308 which was a lovely room, much brighter with a seaview and we were much happier with our accommodation.

Apart from that early slip up I couldn’t fault the hotel, breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and attentive service. The pool areas were lovely and often very quiet with plenty of sunbeds and having the short walk to the sunbeds on the beach was blissful. You didn’t even have to get up to go to the bar as there was pool and beach service for drinks and also the occasion back rubs from the spa staff at the hotel.

We were on the half board option which was lovely although sometimes it was quite a limited choice as it was a set 5 course menu but only a choice of dish (meat or fish) for the main course. The menu was varied and they also did a few Greek dishes which were particularly good. It was far too much food for us each night and we did eat out a few times. We enjoyed eating at Green Sea, Finikas and Krambousa and also liked Aegean and Marina for pre-dinner drinks. We did eat at Enavlion which was recommended by the rep for our wedding anniversary and once after that but we found both times that the wait for food was extremely long. Both times we waited well over an hour for main courses, which seemed too coincided with us running out of wine and needing to order half carafe more. I felt it didn’t live up to its reputation and there were nicer local tavernas.

All the staff at the hotel were excellent and helpful, especially Liam who was always friendly, chatty, helpful and welcoming – a real asset to the hotels staff. We used the spa at the hotel which we enjoyed very much, the massage we had was excellent.

The location of the hotel was excellent and we enjoyed a trip on the bus to Thassos Town and Panagia, both which were lovely. You catch the bus from the supermarket in Golden Beach and also buy your tickets there.

All in all we had a wonderful relaxing holiday and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamM2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We arrived at Kavala Airport found our luggage, and did not see it again until we got to the Hotel.
From the Airport a private Taxi took us to the Port and we had a 35 Minute Ferry journey to Thassos where another private Taxi took us to the Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel. We checked in and went to our room and five minutes later our luggage was brought to our room.
The hotel is of a very high standard, and the rooms are excellent, Staff are good especially Corina on Reception, she always spoke to us and we got to know her quite well.
The hotel is positioned right on the Golden Beach and has its own private part. We did not eat in the hotel as we prefer to find different Tavernas which we did ( it would have cost us 40 Euros each per night) for the Buffet. Some guests we were talking to got a deal with Thomson and had a meal each night ( five courses) these people booked direct with Thomson, and we booked with our local Travel Agent so did not know about this, only finding out talking to other guests. Prices in the bar are very expensive.
Hotel grounds are very neat and tidy.
There are a lot of Tavernas a short walk away, and in the fourteen days that we were there we only had one bad meal.
People said in last years Trip Advisor that the area was swarming with wasps, well we can honestly say we only saw a handful of wasps during the two week stay, they were no problem to us at all.
We can highly recommend this Hotel if you want a quiet peaceful holiday, a car is recommended as there are so many beautiful places to see on the Island of Thassos, and it is so unspoilt, we will go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Malcolm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Can't fault our stay here at this gorgeous hotel with efficient and friendly staff and service.
Beautiful rooms kept immaculate. Lovely pool areas and beach sunloungers with drinks service. Breakfasts exceptional. Five stars!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SheffieldM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Just returned from a 2 week holiday at this beautiful hotel. The location was perfect - just a few yards away from the soft sandy beach. We booked bed and breakfast but were offered an upgrade to half board for 1p (yes 1p) per night and what a bargain it turned out to be! The chef was apparently new to the hotel and all I can say is I hope he stays, because the food was excellent! Every evening the menu consisted of 5 courses starting with home made soup, followed by a starter, salad, main course of either fish or meat and a dessert. The menu changed every day and we did not experience the same choices on any evening. The room was nicely decorated with a flat screen TV, sofa, table with 2 chairs and tea making facilities - a nice touch! The balcony furniture was wooden not plastic so much nicer in hot weather. The room was cleaned twice a day with new towels on each occasion and a turn down service every evening. The pool areas were spotless and enough sunbeds either here or on the beach for everybody. Althought the the beds were fairly close together on the beach it was never a problem as most were unoccupied!! Access to the beach was along a boarded walkway not a problem unless you required refreshment during your time on the beach. Well the hotel had thought of that as well - an extremely pleasant very cheerful young lad from Blackpool was at hand to collect your orders and deliver your drinks to your sun bed. All you needed to do was press the bell on the sunshade and within minutes Liam arrived sporting a huge smile ready to help. All the staff at this hotel were excellent very friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. The resort is fairly quiet and much more suited to those who want a relaxing holiday. Would I recommend this hotel? - yes definately!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindashrimpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

thinking about where to go on holiday this August and seriously considering going back to this hotel....absolutely fabulous location...and the most wonderful hotel...perfect for a honeymoon...and couples...we loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyHolidayersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews