We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
149
62
17
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
62
17
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snowy wilderness lodge snow football mrs claus rooms are basic national park gala night winter wonderland children and adults cookie decorating from start to finish magical holiday worth every penny the hotel staff power cut hot berry juice northern lights cabin crew
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2015

We stayed over the New Year as part of a Christmassy / Santa package as a family of 4. i won't review that, although it was excellent! But the hotel / lodge was perfect for such an experience. Wooden, warm and cosy, nothing pretentious, clean, friendly staff, dated... But in a nice way! I suited it's purpose perfectly. I don't think any of the ski 'resorts' in that part of Finland are that flash! But if you're looking to get away from it all, quite literally, this is the place. It does what it says on the tin. Wilderness Lodge. No one else near it, just there in the Nature Reserve by itself, fab! Down its own 6km drive, miles from anywhere. But don't worry that you'll be bored. It's just magical. Well it was for us. The outdoor activities around the hotel were enough, let alone the package itinery. The food was again, not flashy, but just what you wanted. Family food, carefully cooked, plenty of it. Gorgeous breads! The rooms were plain. But very warm and clean, all with corking views I imagine. All around us was a 'Frozen' wonderland, not a bad view in sight! So, if you're choosing a 'santa trip' you must chuck this hotel into the mix. It's just the perfect location, and you will come away with the most amazing memories, and photos, just sooo different from your 'usual' holiday. A beach is just a beach is just a beach from now on! Lapland, and this hotel are something different!

Room Tip: Everywhere is quiet, there's NO traffic! The rooms on the corridors that you have to walk down to get to the other rooms, may get a bit more noise... Everyone in clumpy boots going by, I did wonder about that. Ask for a room at the end of a far corridor ( no where IS that far, it's not a huge hotel anyway).
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Nessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2015

We visited just before Christmas and enjoyed a magical time. Thompson reps made the trip even more memorable and made every effort to keep the Children happy. The hotel is not glamorous, but who needs it in such a landscape. Food is simple but there was always something that you could eat, and my fussy son raved about the meatballs.
What makes this venue is the landscape and the people, everyone greets you with a smile and are so welcoming.
Husky trip is a must as is the reindeer ride, forget about the cost as it is worth every penny, and experience of lifetime. I was dubious about the visit to the Ice village but was pleasantly surprised, it is an impressive trip and there is plenty to do, it is not huge but at no point does it feel crowded despite a number of coaches there.
Highlight is of course the visit from Mrs Claus and then Santa himself, it is done so well and the Elves are brilliant. Thank you Snowy Wilderness Lodge , we had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cordyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

The Lapland Hotel Pallas is changed to the Snowy Wilderness Lodge for a wonderful experience in Finland's National Park. The Hotel staff were great and as this was a Thompson Holiday, the Reps and 'Elves' were, of course, magical. Santa and Mrs Claus visited the hotel on the Gala night. The 'tasters' of Husky Dog sleigh rides, Reindeer sleigh rides and Snowmobile rides were memorable. A visit to the Ice Village was delightful and everything that was on offer was well organised and thorough. Even when we experienced a power cut due to a tree falling on the power line- the Thompson Reps kept everyone happy and our Gala meal continued in style, lit by torches and portable lights! I would recommend this holiday to everyone - young and old.

Room Tip: The Hotel was an hour's coach ride away from the airport. it is in a secluded place, so very quiet. It has a small gift shop.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015

We were staying in cottages nearby and decided to have dinner in this hotel. The hotel was very full, but we got in and were served pretty quickly. The food was amazingly good. We were travelling with small children and even the picky eater finished their meal in no time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Strayanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Arrived tired, with a cold and steaming headache and was a bit disappointed with hotel - could do with a refurb, average food and a long power cut which meant we went to bed with no lights or water.
Woke the next day and the magic of the location kicked in and we had a great holiday.
Taster session was set in a magical location and although the tasters were short it was nice just to take in the landscape.
We only did the free snowmobile session as the trips are very expensive and as it was just my wife and I we wanted to just walk through the beautiful hills around the hotel taking it in.
Staff in hotel very friendly and Thomson staff great especially Eddie and Lisa whose energy, enthusiasm and personalities really added to the holiday.
Although the hotel isn't great we would return for the stunning location - will just have to save up first!!!

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank VegasVic20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews