We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Relaxing picnic place

Located about one hour’s drive from Sydney, this is an ideal family picnic location for the entire... read more

Reviewed 16 September 2018
Panduka J
,
Colombo, Sri Lanka
via mobile
Really picturesque.

We visited this beautiful place for just a short time. There is a fair bit of parking and it is... read more

Reviewed 21 July 2018
Andrew M
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
Read all 15 reviews
  
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
7
6
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
6
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family picnic short stroll camping ground boating sydney
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2015

This place is popular with the locals in summer, the huge natural swimming hole is said to be bottomless! Kids love it and play and swim with boogie boards and all sorts of things to play with in the water, easy access from a sandy beach area. There is extensive picnic grounds and a camping ground. I haven't camped here in years, but I'm sure the prices are still reasonable. There are no powered sites that I remember. But for an area that is still quite close to Sydney, it's quite unspoiled! Has a shop to buy hot food, but not sure of opening hours. Also has public toilets/

Date of experience: May 2015
3  Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015 via mobile

I've been tent camping here a few times and love it!! I've done it solo, with my girl, and with the kids.

It's a little over an hours drive from Ryde depending on traffic and is well worth it.

Flat grassy camp sites, open fire pits, clean hot showers, flush toilets, a swimming hole, rapids, bushwalking, fishing, or just sit back and relax.

It's run by national parks and there are normally rangers on duty. There is also a volunteer caretaker camped on site. If you need to know anything, these guys are very knowledgeable.

There are a small number of shops only a 15min drive away, with a butcher, bottlo, deli, chemist, and mini-market.

It's best to book in as the gates close at 430pm. And if you don't have the code, you can't get in.

All in all, this is a great little spot only a stones throw from the big smoke. Awesome for going solo or with the family. Enter via Wolstenholme Avenue Greendale, NSW, Australia

Be aware, there is a general offensive noise curfew of 10pm, so if you're a yobbo, rack off somewhere else haha.

Thanks for reading.
Marc

Date of experience: May 2015
3  Thank Oziman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Only a few kilometres from Wallacia, this park offers a lovely day out or the opportunity to camp for a few days.
Head towards Silverdale and turn off to the left either just before, or just after the bridge over the Nepean. Either road takes you to an entrance to the park. Parking fee for a day only $7 but the gates close at 4.30p, sharp.
Situated right on the river, the area offers grassy terraced areas to camp or picnic and plenty of barbecues. Toilets are clean and easily accessible. The basin offers swimming, fishing or canoeing.
Take the walk up to Caley's Lookout for a view over the whole basin and surrounding area. Signposted at 45 mins it only took us half an hour although there are a lot of steps.
Run by National Parks, Bents basin is a great spot to spend a Sunday and not too far from Sydney.

Date of experience: April 2015
2  Thank MichaelN779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2015

My friends and I went to Bents Basin for a camping weekend. The rangers were lovely to talk to and so helpful from the time we made the booking. The campsite was spacious with enough number of fire pits and BBQ for everyone. The amenities are so clean and comfortable (hot shower included). An easy walk to the Basin itself which was a nice swimming spot with a lovely laid out picnic area. The Caley’s lookout walk was short (1.2km return)and a little bit steep but well worth the effort once you make it to the lookout platform.

The location is only about 15 minutes driving from Penrith and around an hour to Sydney CBD – I would highly recommend the Bents Basin for either a family picnic or a weekend camping for all.

Date of experience: February 2015
4  Thank Ashley_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews