We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
18
20
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
18
20
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mavis bank blue mountain peak at home wheel drive vehicle base camp mountains jamaica hike coffee kingston everton meals driver tour john gap plantation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2019

The idea of 'rustic' accommodations does not look the same globally and so one must arrive with an open-mindedness to the quaint rustic space that is Whitfield Hall.

A little over 20 miles from the hustle and bustle of Papine Square, Whitfield Hall lies nestled in the rolling green hills of Penlyne Castle. To get there in anything less than a 4 wheel drive vehicle would be foolhardy but once there - the serene picturesque hills welcome you.

With simple lodgings: a good bed, warm fireplace, good homegrown coffee or food this is the perfect spot to either use as base camp before heading out on a hike to Portland Gap, the famed Blue Mountain Peak or to spend a weekend relaxing in the Jamaican countryside.

The staff at Whitfield Hall are all members of the community, unobtrusive and care for you with familial eagerness.

Thank you so much for the hospitality we received at Whitfield Hall this weekend. Our family (a large and busy bunch, with kids) felt completely at home and we loved hiking, just sitting, and basking in the silence and the space.

Room tip: Communal living - bathrooms are shared and the main living space - perfect for mingling with other travellers
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kevinanna2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 September 2019

My wife and I and another couple had a wonderful 3 night stay at Whitfield Hall on August 26-29. Everything worked out very well from the transportation up from Kingston by Roydel to all the tasty meals provided by Everton the house manager. We had Charlie for our guide on a wonderful hike to Portland Gap. He did a great job also providing a tour of the coffee farm.
Everyone treated us with excellent care and went above and beyond to make us comfortable and welcomed to this special place.
We are already thinking of a return hopefully in the next couple of years and would hope to spend an even longer time doing some other hikes in the area and just relaxing in the beautiful mountain air.
Overall a great place to unplug and enjoy the mountains and nature.
Thank you all!

Room tip: Colonel Whitfield room is a private double room. Other rooms have bunk beds hostel style.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anytimetrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2019 via mobile

We spent one night in this lodge. After hiking up the peak we had a great brunch prepared by Everton. Lovely man managing this place like a boss. Great hospitality, good food, amazing fresh coffee coming from the mountain...
You don't want to miss that place.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 315mehdic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed there for two nights to make it to the peak after walking up from Mavis Bank!

No electricity, no hot water just back to the roots with gas lamps and fire places!

Everton made us feel very comfortable, cooked great food and was enjoyable to chat with!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AnsasErmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlaTravlers, Public Relations Manager at Whitfield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Thanks so much for the kind review. We're happy to hear that Everton made you feel at home. Hope to see you again in the Blue Mountains!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

We stayed at this plantation home the night before hiking the Blue Mountain. Expect warm and friendly people, but a rustic place. They have running water, but no electricity. So oil lamps at night. You feel transported back in time. Breakfast and dinner was great, they cook for you.

Room tip: you have to be up for a certain experience, if you like luxury, this is not for you.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemariec570
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews