We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
176
27
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
27
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful beachother guestsbaby turtlesamerican ownerbedroom doorocean frontfamily styleweek tripboogie boardsa wonderful stayfresh juicelaid backsan juanhot waterpollogreat hoststurtle reserve
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

The hotel has a wonderful beach location on what we thought was the most beautiful coastline on our trip to Central America. The hotel can be reached by bus from San Juan del Sur, there are around four per day. At the time of our visit the bus stop in San Juan has temporarily moved due to construction work and is currently located by Case Oro hostel, one block away from its normal location.

The vibe around the hotel is very relaxed. Jan the manager is very helpful and friendly. There is plenty of seating around a lovely pool with surrounding gardens and great views onto the beach. There is an honesty bar for drinks which you settle on departure.

Our room was very spacious, quite rustic in style with cold water showers, the bed extremely large and very comfortable.

From Playa El Coco here you can walk to La Flor beach and the Refugio located there. This is a very pleasant 20/30 minutes walk along the waters edge.

Eggs and fruit are served for breakfast. Light lunches and evening meals are available on request although we opted for a very good new restaurant called Tortugas which has only been open a couple of months which we can highly recommend.

This was a very relaxing stay for us, a really great ‘chill out' place. The sunset views from the patio are amazing.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank T-SGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishing-Nicaragua, Manager at La Veranera - Playa El Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are glad you had a great, relaxing stay with us. Saludos! Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

Veredera was the most tastefully presented place we stayed in all of Nicaragua. A one level beachfront villa with a tiled roof on the amazing Playa el Coco just metres from the ocean with rooms surrounding a beautifully kept courtyard and good sized plunge pool, reminiscent of Relais & Chateaux for me, such is the tasteful presentation - minimalistic, rustic & colonial style. It’s more B&B than hotel in function with Jan catering and running the place for the American owner. Very reasonably priced, breakfast included. Didn’t experience hot water in the shower, I’m not sure if there is hot water elsewhere but the room was cleaned. Our bed & pillows were uncomfortable for me unfortunately, but I haven’t marked down for that because the overall comfort & pleasant surroundings were so nice. I highly recommend it.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JemmyButton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishing-Nicaragua, Manager at La Veranera - Playa El Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We are sorry, you did not feel comfortable sleeping. This is the first time that we got this complaint. We will definitely check with future guests if they feel the same and will replace if necessary. Gracias y saludos! Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

This hotel is located right on Playa El Coco beach - it’s basically a dream like deserted beach.
The hotel is wonderfully designed around a pool which over looks the beach. It’s one of the finest hotels I’ve ever stayed at.

The only negative is the poor reservation/booking system- it’s worth just getting a taxi to Playa El Coco and knocking on their door or walk along the beach until you find them.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishing-Nicaragua, Manager at La Veranera - Playa El Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Hola Charlie, muchas gracias for your review. I apologize for your inconvenience regarding the booking system, we are working on that currently and will have a better solution in the near future. It was great having you and hope to see you soon. Saludos! Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

When we arrived in San Juan del Sur coming from the peaceful Island of San Fernando ( Solentiname) it was a kind of shock in this crowd touristic city. Driving just 10 km more to the South we discovered El Coco Beach and La Verana, so beautiful, peaceful and calm. The perfect place when you want to make a break. Jan, the manager, is constantly taking care of your requests. The breakfast is generous. We had twice dinner together with Jan and 2 of his friends. Excellent fresh food, simple but delicious. Just what we need. The room we had was very large with view on the Ocean. For the rest you feel like home.
The sandy beach is fantastic very long with only few people. Not to miss, few km down the road, you have the protected area El Flor where thousands of turtles lay their eggs. We have watched the guards saving the baby turtles from being killed by vultures and to release the baby turtles in the evening while no predators are present.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Patrice_VDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishing-Nicaragua, Manager at La Veranera - Playa El Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Thank you very much for your excellent review, it was a pleasure having you and thank you for the new ideas in the kitchen. We had a Coconut Fish Soup yesterday. Saludos! Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

Super quiet place in a area where no one is. Quiet, peaceful, relaxing, La Veranera is a guest house that makes you feel at home. Staff is available whenever, the manager Jan is delightfull and very welcoming, he will help you out for anything. Special mention for the dinners at night, great fishes cooked, tasty meals and of course fabulous breakfast! Will come back for sure!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jeanK2611FJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishing-Nicaragua, Manager at La Veranera - Playa El Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Hola Jean, thank you for your review. Hope to see you soon on Coco again! Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews