We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in great prices from these sites
Booking.com
USD 226
View deal
eDreamsUSD 226
PricelineUSD 251
Agoda.comUSD 226
TripadvisorUSD 226
Prestigia.com
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
148
9
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
148
9
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free laundry slice of paradise unique property infinity pool hotel enjoys amazing sea views staff were exceptional other guests exceptional place fishing boats dolphin bay waves lapping busy beach antique furniture serene place portuguese style beautiful experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2021 via mobile

Ahilya has probably spoilt us for any other choice of resort in Goa. The location right next to the waves, the quirky architecture, the understated - yet gorgeous rooms filled with absolute treasures, the communal living rooms with artefacts from across the globe, the sunset from the infinity pool, the cute plunge pool, the glorious flowers and greenery, the playful dolphins putting up a show in the morning while you are at breakfast !!, the lights at night giving the property a dreamy ambience - everything builds up to a perfect experience. The food complements this , and is top notch; the dining areas are varied and everyone of them with gorgeous views ..
The icing on top of this delectable cake is the wonderful people who work here- who are discreet, never hover , leave you with a feeling of seclusion, but seem to totally magically appear when you want absolutely anything ... it honestly impressed us immensely..
The beach could be cleaner but we didn’t bother much with it , being content to just see the fishing boats bob in the waves and go about their business..
If you are not looking for a cookie cutter 5 star resort but want the feeling of understated calming luxury, you just cannot go wrong with this choice. I have recommended this to all our friends!
Smita runs a brilliant ship. Kudos to all! We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sensation1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2021

Ahilya by the Sea is beautiful. The waves come up to the walls of the property. I even saw a dolphin emerge from the water for one delightful moment before it dived back in. That has got to be one of my best memories from the trip.

There are frothy flowers on the trees at Ahilya. The gardens are so interesting, with stone toads peeping at you from the most unlikely places and a fascinating selection of plants.

The staff is excellent. They are efficient and pleasant. They made many of our experiences there so memorable because of how gentle and considerate they were. There was an instance when we were sitting down to breakfast outside and the sun was coming in our eyes, so we were shading our faces with our hands and talking. A staff member came up to us and asked us if we wanted a sun umbrella. It was just little things like that.

The food is so flavourful. A special thank you to the chef for veganizing the food for me. The vegetable biryani, coconut raita and besan sheera were special stand outs.

While we loved everything else about the place, the manager- female, middle aged, with short hair whose name I don't know- was incredibly hostile. She was arrogant and quite odious, to be honest. We are regular people and don't really do anything to illicit this kind of behaviour. There was no one incident that triggered this. Right from the beginning, all the encounters we had with her were unpleasant. We were there for 6 days and a few days into the trip, after encountering this uncalled for behaviour more often than I was ready to put up with it, I was put off for good.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dhoopa_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeshwant Holkar, Owner at Ahilya by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2021

Dear Dhoopa_Singh,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your feelings on the stay. Our entire team aims to make sure that our guests feel welcome, comfortable, and at home.

We do regret if there were any negative feelings created. I would like to personally understand the matter further.

If ok with you, I'll ask our team to connect and find a convenient time to speak.

Thanks and regards,

Yeshwantrao Holkar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2021

We had a wonderful stay. Our room was small but well appointed and maintained. The hotel's location is amazing with it being nestled right by the beach. The amazing sea views and the sound of the lapping waves are experiences that we will not forget anytime soon.

The staff are very well trained, managing to be unobtrusive and attentive at the same time. They were always ready to attend to us almost to the point of being intuitive. Without them around, this would just be yet another property with a great location.

The quality of food was adequate as expected, however we chose to take almost all our meals elsewhere.

Highly recommended for a short getaway....my wife and I are already looking forward to our next stay here.

Date of stay: February 2021
Thank Happiness62425181789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2020

Located in North Goa, this gem is a set of villas perfectly placed to host intimate getaways surrounded not just the most beautiful views but also the most kind staff. The hospitality pours through their wonderful culinary preparations & the one and only amazing Smita eho manages the show. Can't wait to do this again very soon!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank nomad_90s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
info AhilyaByTheSea, Sales at Ahilya by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2020

Dear nomad_90s,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to share this review. We're delighted to know you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to welcoming you back to Ahilya by the Sea soon!

Best regards,

Yeshwant Holkar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2020

HQ arranged for my stay at the beautiful property of Ahilya by the Sea. It was the most memorable stay I have ever had in Goa. The property is so raw and so magical at the same time that you'll rejuvenate fully. The hospitality was impeccable and so were the facilities. I absolutely adore Ahilya and I highly recommend you stay here to experience pure bliss right by the ocean :) #DreamVacation #LuxuryHoliday #Goa #BeachFun #Bucketlist #Wanderlust #TravelTherapy #InfinityPool #TravelPhotography #CoupleGoals

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Justtravel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
info AhilyaByTheSea, Sales at Ahilya by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2020

Dear Justtravel1321,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to share this review. We're delighted to know you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to welcoming you back to Ahilya by the Sea soon!

Best regards,

Yeshwant Holkar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews