We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“You very own piece of private paradise.. bliss!”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Genevieve @ Caipirinha Cabanas
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Genevieve @ Caipirinha Cabanas
Lounge with a view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Villa Genevieve @ Caipirinha Cabanas
Lounge with a view
Outdoor dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Jennings, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
268ZO
Antigua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You very own piece of private paradise.. bliss!”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I was lucky enough to stay at Villa Genevieve for my 30th birthday and loved every second.

Firstly the view is simply stunning, when you think of a secret caribbean hideaway this is it! You can hear the waves lapping on the beach, and the crickets and birds chirping away. Aside from nature - the area is very quite which is perfect if you want to escape and unwind for a few days.

The locals are very friendly too - during my stay I was training for a triathlon and cycled through a few of the local villages and always got a wave and a hello.. riding thru the 'rainforset' was really pretty too! The sundeck at the villa is fantastic and the sunlougers are so fun, nice bright tropical colours. The beach is less than 5m away so when it gets to hot you can cool off in an instant, you can snorkel and walk the beach looking for shells.

The villa has all you need to self cater and is well equipped, we drove to the local supermarket which is about 10-15 mins away and stocked up and then really didnt need to leave again. We did venture to a few of the local resturants - there are about 5-6 to choose from within 8-10 mins drive away. But other than that we lapped up our private paradise and would highly recommened this hidden Gem. Be sure to turn on the lights at night and enjoy the breeze and moonlight from the desk! its magical.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria E
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Although the views from this villa are stunning, the beach is not ideal for swimming because the waves are very powerful and chopsy, unlike all the other beaches on the island. We read reviews about the sound of the tree frogs and waves and thought how romantic this would be, even though some people complained, we thought nonsense we would love it. However, OMG!! they were ridiculously loud at night keeping us awake. If there had been windows and air con this would not have been an issue. You are located between two resorts but you will still feel very isolated and a little vulnerable as the grounds are open with no gate at the entrance. This part of the island is regarded by locals as the rougher end and our hired car had parts removed, such as the cover of the wing mirror and door trims were taken on separate occasions and according to our car hire company it was typical in this area. Hence feeling vulnerable.
The villa is beautiful from the outside but was poorly maintained inside mainly due to the plumbing. The bathroom tap trickled water barely releasing any water, the shower head was partially blocked with what seemed like a build up of limescale, the kitchen sink tap was shocking! it wasn't a tap more a hose with a rose and this detached and leaked everywhere and sprayed everywhere. During our stay we ran out of water for two days because the island was suffering a shortage, this would have been OK except the pump which should have provided us with water from the utility company had broken. This meant we had to purchase water from a supermarket for drinking, washing and cooking and even to flush the toilet, all this inconvenience and expense was without any kind of compensation. Thanks to our wonderful rep a plumber was called. I saw the old pump and it looked like it had been deteriorating over a very long period of time, hence little, if any maintenance had been carried out on it. The whole water fiasco should never have occurred if the pump had been maintained properly and plumbing in general. A bed mosquito net would have been very welcome. If you are thinking of using the kitchen a lot, like we did, the equipment is very basic.
Although we didn't go to Antigua to watch TV, the reception was poor and we couldn't hear it over the waves anyway. The white leather sofa is very nice, but not very practical when you are covered in sun cream and anti mosquito repellent etc.
This review may sound harsh and it gives me no pleasure to write it. But looking at the issues above, they could be very easily put right with a bit of investment and maintenance by the owner. Overall we were disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
Thank you for your review which we hope will give prospective clients helpful advice and enable them to select accommodation that is suitable to them. This villa is unique and not the right choice for everyone!

We are pleased that you describe the views as stunning and would agree that as this is a windward Atlantic beach it is only suitable for good swimmers and care should always be taken if the sea becomes 'choppy'.

The sound of the waves and tree frogs at night is one of the attractions of a beach villa but does not suit everyone, and on the odd occasion turtles come and start digging up the beach to lay their eggs.

Just a short walk down the road is Morris Beach which is a Leeward beach, very calm and suitable for weaker swimmers.

Vliia Genevieve was designed and constructed to be eco-friendly. It has Californian shutters to all doors and windows to benefit from free cooling from the constant fresh sea breeze. Hence no double glazing and no air conditioning, only supplementary fans for night times when the louvres are closed.

We do dispute your car hire company's comments; your door trim or wing mirror cover could have gone missing anywhere on the island or simply fell off going over the speed humps or pot holes - knowing the state of the hire cars. The villa is situated in one of the best areas of Antigua and is adjacent to the 2 best hotels on the island.

Your comments on plumbing are erroneous - it is not lack of maintenance but due to the government interrupting water supplies to ration it in periods of drought! You did suffer a loss of water for one day and night which was remedied by fitting a new pump to the back up water reserve tanks the following day - In island time this achievement was somewhat of a miracle!!! We will of course refund you the cost of the 10 litres of water.

We are really pleased that you describe Stacey as our wonder rep - she has just taken over management of the villa and is working really hard at all times of the day and night to please everyone and will replace the bed mosquito net that a previous guest managed to rip.

TV reception and wifi signal does sometimes vary - it is the Caribbean and beyond our control.

Lastly it is our villa and furnished to our taste with the white leather corner sofa - we do ask guests to treat the villa with respect and not to sit on the sofa with sun oils / repellents on - it can easily be covered over.

We regret that you were disappointed in your choice but we understand that the villa / island is not suitable for everyone.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gj25423
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cant go wrong”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Great location ... beach is all yours ...humma humma. Boxer shack good food nice people thanks Tony. Ill be back ... few bugs but great sleeping sounds waves tree frogs... wish i was there ...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location ...location
Liked least: not much ... use a bit of bug dope and all good. Go to Bloody Mary... great time fun locals.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thanks so much, glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterM198...
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and lovely villa”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Villa Genevieve for a week in February / March. First off, the property looks exactly as advertised, I´d even say the pictures don`t do it justice, so I posted some of my own in case anyone is interested. The villa is located on the southern end of a long stretch of beach by the village of Old Road. The Curtain Bluff resort ist on the very far other end of the beach, and there is no other direct access as far as we could see to the water other than from our villa or Curtain Bluff, so it truly felt like having our own very private stretch of beach just by our doorstep. The sand is of a light, golden colour, spectacular in the sunset which makes the villa´s balcony a wonderful spot to end the day and watch the sun sink, with a great view of Montserrat visible on the horizon. There are also plenty of spectacular glazing white sand beaches plus perfect turquoise water in the immediate vicinity, just 10 minutes away, including Darkwood Beach and Ffreyes Beach, probably two of the most beautiful on the entire island. We rented a Jeep (bumpy road conditions ahead!) which we´ve found very convenient and would very much recommend to explore the island (especially more remote places such as Betty´s Hope, Devil´s Bridge and Halfmoon Bay), but there is also a local bus stop practically right by the villa, for those who prefer this. The villa itself has all the amenities we could have wished for, modern, well-stocked kitchen, a generously proportioned living room, bedroom and bathroom, all with ventilators, good mosquito nets on the windows + a full-on mosquito net above the bed, though we didn´t really have to use the latter as long as we kept the bedroom door shut during the evening. The shower is spacious and full walk-in. There is also good Wi-Fi connection in the entire villa and on the balcony. Not fast enough perhaps to place your high-frequency stock trades, but certainly sufficient for Facebook, Youtube & Co. Right next by the villa is Boxer Shack restaurant where we had some great light food and which is run by Tony and Gill who also manage the villa. They were incredibly helpful, kind people who made us feel welcome from the start, provided us with all information on the island we needed, a welcome package waiting for us in the fridge and a detailed description how to reach the place from the airport, passing by a western-style supermarket on the way with a truly surprising array of items we certainly wouldn´t have expected to find on a remote Caribean island. As some previous commentators have mentioned, the villa being literally right by the sea, the sound of waves is a constant background at Villa Genevieve which someone sensitive to this kind of thing may find difficult at night, though I assure you this is not out of the ordinary and in fact we really enjoyed this element of being on an island and found it quite soothing and relaxing to go to bed to. In summary, we had a wonderful week and would have loved to stay longer. Thank you Danielle for this great place, and Tony and Gill for your hospitality and making us feel welcome Day 1.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location right by the sea, generous balcony to have breakfast on
Liked least: Not being able to stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2016
Hi Peter,

Thanks for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday and your stay in our villa.

Regards

Danielle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer9...
Fowey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful villa & location”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We booked Villa Genevieve for a well earned holiday, first in 10 years. We were looking for somewhere to rest and do nothing for 2 weeks and where better than Villa Genevieve. The Villa is in a lovely location. Any closer to the beach and you'd get your feet wet! We only swam in the sea by the villa once as it was a bit choppy and I am not the strongest of swimmers. However, 5 mins down the road is the beautiful Darkwood Beach. White sand and turquoise sea, supposedly the most photographed beach on the island. We were the only ones on the beach as the season was only just beginning and it was all a bit surreal when some local lads arrived at the side of the road and started playing some ( very good) music. I must mention The Boxer Shack restaurant which is just behind the villa and run by Gill and Tony. The food is fantastic and the company very welcoming.
There are only a couple of things that we feel are essential for a villa in this location and climate and that is air conditioning in the bedroom and a mosquito net over the bed.
Would we come again? Oh yes but only if the air conditioning and mosquito net have been installed in the bedroom. Other than that this is a well equipped and well maintained holiday home with excellent local management. We would fully recommend this to any first time visitors to Antigua..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked least: No air conditioning or mosquito net
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing