We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location and lovely villa”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Genevieve @ Caipirinha Cabanas
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Genevieve @ Caipirinha Cabanas
Lounge with a view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Villa Genevieve @ Caipirinha Cabanas
Lounge with a view
Outdoor dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Jennings, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PeterM198...
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and lovely villa”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Villa Genevieve for a week in February / March. First off, the property looks exactly as advertised, I´d even say the pictures don`t do it justice, so I posted some of my own in case anyone is interested. The villa is located on the southern end of a long stretch of beach by the village of Old Road. The Curtain Bluff resort ist on the very far other end of the beach, and there is no other direct access as far as we could see to the water other than from our villa or Curtain Bluff, so it truly felt like having our own very private stretch of beach just by our doorstep. The sand is of a light, golden colour, spectacular in the sunset which makes the villa´s balcony a wonderful spot to end the day and watch the sun sink, with a great view of Montserrat visible on the horizon. There are also plenty of spectacular glazing white sand beaches plus perfect turquoise water in the immediate vicinity, just 10 minutes away, including Darkwood Beach and Ffreyes Beach, probably two of the most beautiful on the entire island. We rented a Jeep (bumpy road conditions ahead!) which we´ve found very convenient and would very much recommend to explore the island (especially more remote places such as Betty´s Hope, Devil´s Bridge and Halfmoon Bay), but there is also a local bus stop practically right by the villa, for those who prefer this. The villa itself has all the amenities we could have wished for, modern, well-stocked kitchen, a generously proportioned living room, bedroom and bathroom, all with ventilators, good mosquito nets on the windows + a full-on mosquito net above the bed, though we didn´t really have to use the latter as long as we kept the bedroom door shut during the evening. The shower is spacious and full walk-in. There is also good Wi-Fi connection in the entire villa and on the balcony. Not fast enough perhaps to place your high-frequency stock trades, but certainly sufficient for Facebook, Youtube & Co. Right next by the villa is Boxer Shack restaurant where we had some great light food and which is run by Tony and Gill who also manage the villa. They were incredibly helpful, kind people who made us feel welcome from the start, provided us with all information on the island we needed, a welcome package waiting for us in the fridge and a detailed description how to reach the place from the airport, passing by a western-style supermarket on the way with a truly surprising array of items we certainly wouldn´t have expected to find on a remote Caribean island. As some previous commentators have mentioned, the villa being literally right by the sea, the sound of waves is a constant background at Villa Genevieve which someone sensitive to this kind of thing may find difficult at night, though I assure you this is not out of the ordinary and in fact we really enjoyed this element of being on an island and found it quite soothing and relaxing to go to bed to. In summary, we had a wonderful week and would have loved to stay longer. Thank you Danielle for this great place, and Tony and Gill for your hospitality and making us feel welcome Day 1.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location right by the sea, generous balcony to have breakfast on
Liked least: Not being able to stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2016
Hi Peter,

Thanks for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday and your stay in our villa.

Regards

Danielle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer9...
Fowey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful villa & location”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We booked Villa Genevieve for a well earned holiday, first in 10 years. We were looking for somewhere to rest and do nothing for 2 weeks and where better than Villa Genevieve. The Villa is in a lovely location. Any closer to the beach and you'd get your feet wet! We only swam in the sea by the villa once as it was a bit choppy and I am not the strongest of swimmers. However, 5 mins down the road is the beautiful Darkwood Beach. White sand and turquoise sea, supposedly the most photographed beach on the island. We were the only ones on the beach as the season was only just beginning and it was all a bit surreal when some local lads arrived at the side of the road and started playing some ( very good) music. I must mention The Boxer Shack restaurant which is just behind the villa and run by Gill and Tony. The food is fantastic and the company very welcoming.
There are only a couple of things that we feel are essential for a villa in this location and climate and that is air conditioning in the bedroom and a mosquito net over the bed.
Would we come again? Oh yes but only if the air conditioning and mosquito net have been installed in the bedroom. Other than that this is a well equipped and well maintained holiday home with excellent local management. We would fully recommend this to any first time visitors to Antigua..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked least: No air conditioning or mosquito net
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BishamBas...
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fabulous place to chill like the locals”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Two weeks of getting away from the rest of the world in Villa Genevieve. The villa had everything we needed to be self-sufficient. But when we wanted someone else to do the cooking, what better place than the Boxer Shack run by Tony and Gill which was next door to the villa. You've go to go for the lobster salad! Thanks Tony and Gill.
The No 22 bus service will get you to and from the supermarket and if you want to go further afield, the taxis are great value or hire a car for a few days.
Answering the previous comments posted on this property which worried us initially - the sound of the waves at night - we slept better in the villa than at home. Tree frogs? Didn't hear any. Mosquitos? Sensible precautions mean you reduce exposure to them.
To sum-up. A great holiday and so good to have Boxer Shack nearby.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poppyj90
1 review
“Beautiful villa”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in June 2014

Booked this beautiful villa and 3 others, a few weeks ago for Jul 16, for our wedding in Antigua. Danielle was very helpful and accomodating when we asked many questions about the villas. Her emails responses were very prompt. Unfortunately we have had to cancel the villas and again Danielle has been very accomodating.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDB-Bham
UK
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Wonderful alternative to a resort hotel”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
5
people found this review helpful

When we first booked this villa it had only just been opened so there were very few reviews and other information available. We thus took a risk on booking it but it turned out to be an excellent choice and we determined we would provide much more information here for other prospective visitors.

Firstly, it is not for you if you like to herded together with other tourists in a resort hotel, or if you are a light sleeper and would be disturbed by the crashing of the waves at night. Otherwise, this is for you.

The villa is built of wood on a beachside slope. At the immediate rear is another single storey building where the property managers live and back left is the Boxer Shack restaurant that the managers also run. That restaurant is typically open from Wednesday to Sunday, lunchtime through to dinner during the main season. The fact it is there means you are not alone and isolated, and it also means you only have to stagger 10 yards to eat if you wish to have a meal off from your self-catering. See separate review of the Boxer Shack and check it will be its open season before booking the Villa.

There is no glass in the windows, just anti fly meshes and louvres that you can open or close. Facing the sea, the full height “patio doors” open up to expose the whole kitchen/lounge to the wooden decking and sea view. There are very comfortable loungers on the decking and now a couple of patio umbrellas for shade BUT the bases aren’t really up to the task as the umbrellas really should be held upright by a table. We managed to get one up and usable by standing the bottom in one of the bases and lashing the pole to the back of a wooden chair to provide stability. It is quite windy in the whole bay and on the terrace, so make sure the umbrella is secured. Alternatively, the overhanging kitchen roof provides some shade if you pull the loungers half back into the kitchen to get shade.

The beach is just 20 or so concrete steps below you. It is between Morris Bay on the west and Carlisle Bay on the east. It hardly has anyone else on it, but the sea is English-like with white water and waves. A 10 minute walk left out of the property takes you down the hill to the other side of the Curtain Bluff Resort where there is a lovely sandy public beach with much gentler water. There is a drying rack on the villa decking but bring your own pegs.

Flies are an issue as other reviewers have mentioned BUT they can be managed by being sensible, ie closing up the villa doors before the sun goes down, always keeping the bedroom door shut like an airlock to keep that room free, and if you sit out at night cover up with long sleeves and trousers. We were there at a time of low insect activity because of regular overnight rain, but with these precautions we had many a happy evening meal out on our terrace.

There is a super king-size very comfortable bed and great walk-in shower. The kitchen is well equipped (use provided matches to light the gas hob) with fridge/freezer and efficient electric oven. There is an iron & board and a hair dryer. The infamous white leather settee in the lounge is a poor choice as not only is it not a serviceable colour and material, but it gets very hot if you sit on it for any time. Reading about it in advance, we took our own old sheet as a seat cover and that helped a bit. Power is 220v US-style sockets with several adaptors provided.

Out and about, there is no real need to hire a car. A taxi ride to most places (airport, Jolly Harbour, Nelson’s Dockyard etc) is around 33USD and the taxi drivers prefer this currency. The local buses however are more than adequate for many journeys and cost less than £1 per head for the same distance. You will need a taxi to and from the airport and one back from the Jolly Harbour supermarket to carry your heavy shopping, but otherwise use the 22 bus from outside the front door to go anywhere on the clockwise route around via several restaurants and Jolly Harbour to the capital St Johns.

The Epicurean Supermarket at Jolly Harbour (just inside the site on the right) is a full supermarket that can provide all your food and drink shopping. There is plenty of fresh meat and a comprehensive alcohol selection. Many items are from the Waitrose Essentials range. Buy 5 litre bottles of water there to use during your stay and bring several bottles back in a taxi. The welcome pack of many essentials provider by the managers was very useful.

The reception on the large TV is poor, even though it is “cable”, but the TV has an HDMI port so we watched our own UK TV programmes that we had brought on our netbook. There is a safe which is OK for passports and small items. Our netbook also just fitted in.

On our last day we were faced with a 9 hour gap between villa check-out time and airport check-in. The rental organisers were very helpful and found us somewhere to spend that time, which made the last day enjoyable rather than a chore.

In summary this is a very spacious, well appointed and affordable villa in an idyllic out-of-the way location. We had an excellent holiday there.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing