We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage - it's much bigger than it looks!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Meri Cottage

View from Market Place
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Market Place
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
View from Market Place
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage - it's much bigger than it looks!”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in March 2016

My girl friends and I have stayed at this cottage on a number of occasions and every time we have been made to feel at home. The cottage is very clean and has everything you need. The owners are very helpful and there are two car parking spaces at the front of the property which is great. There is also an open fire which we loved.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Thanks Liz.
I hope you find another opportunity to visit Hartington soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsie D
Eildon, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely wonderful stay...we didn't want to leave.”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

What a surprise when you walk in. It's like entering the Tardis there's so much room. So comfortable and inviting, as is the village. The Post Office come tearooms opposite is a delight, and Sue was extremely helpful. All the staff there are brilliant as is the food-- breakfast there every morning except one due to an early start, and the best shortbreads we've ever tasted.
The Devonshire Arms is a good little pub, either for a couple of drinks or a really nice meal.
The village is one that I would love to be a part of. Everyone we came across was so friendly and in for a chat...my husband was in his element. Very central to a number of other villages and towns, I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again. Especially if we could have Meri Cottage.
The weather was very kind to us most of the time, and we were able to sit out on the back terrace and really enjoy the ambience of it all at the end of a busy, or not so busy day. We slept in the terrace bedroom which we found to be really comfortable.
There is a little nook on the first landing which I found ideal for drying clothes. Plentiful supply of crockery, glassware and cutlery as well as other essentials. Also basic stores in the cupboards which, even if there weren't, you've got the Village Stores shop right next door, and the Old Cheese Shop is a delight.
The church is well worth a look. You don't have to be religious to appreciate this wonderful building and the history that goes with it.
Just writing this makes me wish we were still there, even though we are heading for our summer here in Australia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience, the feeling of welcome as soon as you walk through the door.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you, Elsie. I hope you find yourself in Hartington again one day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
2 reviews
“Excellent Cottage”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a lovely time, the cottage was beautiful and so spacious perfect for my young girls too. The location is brilliant, would definitely book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Front bedroom - bed comfortable and we could watch activity in 'the village' from the window.
Liked least: Only 1 toilet.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
Thank you, Deb, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cheeky83
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We arrived along with friends, one baby and a young boy to find a very spacious cottage. It's bigger than it looks on the pictures.
The cottage is in a good location not too far in the car to some of the bigger towns. Next to the cottage is a local shop which sells pretty much everything you should need.
We had food one night at the Devonshire Arms pub across the road which was also lovely and homemade.
The cottage itself was very clean and packed with lots of DVDs, books, games children's toys, picnic blankets, kite and so much more which made our stay easier.
Would happily recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Thanks Chris. I hope you can stay a bit longer another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing