We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Cottage in an ideal location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Beech Cottage

Beech Cottage and Birch Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beech Cottage and Birch Cottage
Beech Cottage and Birch Cottage Beech Cottage kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Beech Cottage and Birch Cottage
Beech Cottage and Birch Cottage
Beech Cottage kitchen
Beech Cottage kitchen
Beech Cottage kitchen
Beech Cottage lounge
Beech Cottage lounge
Beech Cottage lounge
Beech Cottage lounge
Beech Cottage open fire in lounge
Beech Cottage bathroom
Beech Cottage king size bedroom
Beech Cottage king size bedroom
Beech Cottage single bedroom
Beech Cottage family bedroom
Beech Cottage family bedroom
Beech Cottage outside
Beech Cottage outside
Beech Cottage garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
aledpc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cottage in an ideal location”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a wonderful week staying at Beech cottage. The log fire on arrival made the place cosy and welcoming. There was plenty of space to keep my bike, and the village was a great base for many cycling routes. The cottage had everything we wanted, and the kitchen had all the equipment needed to cook a meal.

Hartington itself is a nice village with a village store selling good beer, Cafe with tasty cakes, Cheese shop with a wonderful 'Snowdownia Black Bomber' cheddar and and the Devinshire Arms served delicious food. All of this was less than a minutes walk from the cottage. There are many short or long walks with great views around the village and it's close enough drive to all the sites in the Peaks.

All in all it was just the break we were after and we'd be happy to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind review.
I am glad you found the cottage cosy with the log fire, and well equipped for your stay.
Best wishes, Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supercycl...
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a holiday cottage should be”
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Extremely well equipped, even down to shower gel being provided. The cottage had everything that you could want in a cottage. The owners were very helpful and even decorated it for us in readiness for my friends birthday. The fire was lit when they arrived which was a very nice touch. The bedroom at the top of the house is huge and has one double and two single beds. On the floor below there is a double and a single bedroom.
Underfloor heating in the bathroom was much appreciated when getting up for a shower!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2015
Thank you for your kind review.
We are pleased you found the cottage comfortable and well equipped for your stay. We do try to put the little extras in the cottage, which people may forget to pack.
Would be lovely to welcome you back in the future. Fred & Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dyc46
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location and lovely cottage”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 2 nights. The cottage was lovely and in a really handy spot. We ate at the Charles Cotton Hotel both nights and had good meals, well priced.
We will be coming back next year hopefully the weather will be better and we will be able to explore more on foot.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you in 2015

Lesley & Fred
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DizzyLiz1...
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, well equipped cottage in a beautiful village”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Beech Cottage with friends for a weekend of walking. The cottage was warm and cosy, well equipped and very clean and comfortable.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Hartington, and found the cottage comfortable. We try to make it cosy for you to return to after a day out walking in Peak District.
Best wishes, Fred & Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiNatsH
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage, perfect location, nothing too much trouble......”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and 6 close family recently stayed at Beech Cottage and without exception we thought it was wonderful.

The owners, Lesley & David, were extremely welcoming, friendly and have literally thought of everything when it comes to kitting out the property.

Hartington itself is a delightfully picturesque, quite village which you can use as a base for walking or venturing to nearby towns. We particularly enjoyed Bakewell.

As for local eateries, we tried The Devonshire Arms and the Manifold Inn and would recommend both. If you wish to have a Sunday Roast at the Devonshire Arms however be sure to get there early as they had sold out long before we arrived for our pre-booked table at 6pm - would have been nice to have known this would be likely at the time we made the booking.

A definite recommendation for Beech or Birch Cottage though, we certainly intend to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
Simon, thank you for your kind review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Hartington and that you found our cottage to be comfortable and well equipped, and ideal for your family.
We hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Fred and Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 112
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing