We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the best escapes”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Bears Barn

Bears Barn, Hartington - Teddy friendly
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bears Barn, Hartington - Teddy friendly
Bears Barn entrance. Cycle store in in under stairs cupboard. Lounge big enough for two, have a sofa each
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Bears Barn, Hartington - Teddy friendly
Bears Barn entrance. Cycle store in in under stairs cupboard.
Lounge big enough for two, have a sofa each
We have had many lovely comments about our comfy bed.
Kitchen diner
Day out in Hartington for our bears.
Bedroom to rear, bookcase with local area guides, eclectic books, selection of games and jigsaws.
Our lovely stained glass window, based on an old postcard of Alport, near Youlgrave.
Bathroom with electric shower over bath
Lounge with log burner for a cosy night.
Ready for dinner.
Park your car, unload, relax and enjoy the countryside.
Autumn leaf carpet
Village centre a very short walk away.
Longnor Fish and Chip Shop our favourite.
Lyme Park a lovely place to visit for Pride and Prejudice fans. 40mins drive
Calke Abbey
Hartington Village
Howden Dam - you can hear the water roaring
Manifold Trail provides  easy trail walking through the Valley. A short drive away.
Sheldon Church nr Bakewell
We have some lovely neighbours.
Peak Rail at Rowsley,  steam and deisel heritage trains to Matlock.
Crich Tramway Museum, good day out, near to Cromford home of the Industrial Revolution.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robin S
1 review
“One of the best escapes”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The Bears Barn Cottage is a beautiful slice of escape bliss, lovely lounge with log burner, fully fitted kitchen with everything including a dishwasher and a delightful bedroom with lovely four poster bed.
I had such a lovely time there walking during the day, sliding into the local pub a few doors away for a quiet drink and then relaxing in the warm lounge or soaking in the super modern bathroom!
Lots of walks and fresh air, warm cosy evenings and lovely pub grub = batteries fully recharged!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The four poster bed and bedroom
Liked least: only on street parking
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, it's always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. You mentioned that there was only on street parking, the Barn does have a private shared car park to the rear of the barn block. We have denoted our two spaces by a sign as shown in our advert and mentioned in the directions we sent.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best cottages we have stayed in.”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Spotless. Beautifully furnished. Lovely large fluffy towels and log burner. Had a fantastic week, in a lovely village too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely thoughtful provision
Liked least: Not really a view from the windows.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R G
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy Barn”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have been staying in Hartington for a few years came across Bears Barn by chance and wow what a find.
Good facilities,clean,tidy well presented and a nice welcome pack much appreciated.
Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario D
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Very Comfortable Place”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our first visit to this part of the country. We loved the area and Bears Barn. A very comfortable and cosy 'cottage' with everything you could possibly want provided within the accommodation. We would definitely recommend Bears Barn as a place to stay in the Peak District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris P
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in excellent location”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I spent the last full week of June at The Bears Barn and had an excellent week. The property was immaculately clean and very comfortable, especially the four poster bed.
Well equipped throughout and in one of the best locations in the Peak District.
I parked my car on the Saturday evening when I arrived and didn't start it up again until the following Saturday (so it was a very green week as well).
I did all my walking from the front door and managed 5 out of 6 days (so I was lucky with the weather.
Hartington has a couple of general shops, a very special cheese shop, a hotel and an excellent pub, the Devonshire Arms, of which more in my next review.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and that bed (most comfortable for any rental property in 40 years!)
Liked least: It doesn't have a garden to sit out in
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing