We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sol Cayo Largo(Cayo Largo)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 235
USD 173
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Pelicano(Cayo Largo)(Great Value!)
USD 198
USD 121
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gran Caribe Club Coral(Cayo Largo)(Great Value!)
USD 100
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Iguana(Cayo Largo)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Guanaba's nest(Playa Giron)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Villa Lindamar(Cayo Largo)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Villa Soledad(Cayo Largo)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Bravo Villa Coral(Cayo Largo)
bedfinder
View Deal
Reviews (2,087)
Filter reviews
2,087 results
Traveller rating
425
816
468
234
144
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
425
816
468
234
144
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaya blancadaiquiri barchickenfishmain buildingpizzabungalow roombeach bara la carterepeat guestsocean viewhot dogssandwichesking size bedtowel arthotel beachhouse band
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 2,087 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Our week at the Playa Blanca was relaxed, comfortable, and we left the resort feeling as though we had been welcomed by Cuban friends and family, not just the staff of a resort. A definite bonus is the fact that you can be on the beach within and hour of landing at the local airport!

The beachfront at the Playa Blanca is very narrow but the waves and surf are dramatic and beautiful to watch and play in....yet within a short walking distance, the beach widens out and there are palapas for shade. The trick is to reserve your palapa early in the morning by leaving a few CUC with the beach staff.

We stayed at one of the Oceanview bungalows...second floor with a balcony and wonderful view of the ocean. Though the room was simply appointed, the beds were comfortable, fridge, air conditioning, and tv worked fine and warm water was available if you let the shower run for a few minutes. The room was kept spotless, thanks to Francesca, our exceptional maid. We made a request for a few items to be restocked in our fridge and got prompt assistance from Francesca herself.

The meal service was consistent and the food verged from average to exceptional. It's expected with buffets that some food tends to sit for long periods and look tired. Also there aren't many choices for fresh fruit and vegetables but careful choices made for some delicious meals. Breakfast was one of our highlights, starting with a couple of lattes at the reception area bar where we would sit, café style, to watch the resort wake up and feel the morning breezes. We followed up with breakfast in the main dining room...omelets and wide selection of baked goods. The breads, croissants homemade donuts and shortbread cookies were among the best we have ever experienced....kudos to the chef. And many, many thanks to Anais our server at breakfast and dinner for friendly and attentive service!! Lunches at the Ranchon, overlooking the ocean were also enjoyable.
Other highlights included a great dance troupe and house band which made the evenings enjoyable. One evening at the reception bar stands out as a wonderful vocal artist serenaded the guests with her version of Leonard Cohens Hallelujah...stunning!

The resort itself is a bit relaxed and tired feeling with obvious exterior maintenance issues in a few places but so what...the feeling of Cuban charm and friendliness abounds and the island beaches are amazing. A big thanks to all the staff at the Playa Blanca and especially to Dianelys, the Public Relations Manager for attentive service and an enjoyable experience. Scott and Richard

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RichardnScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada B, Director General at IBEROSTAR Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Scott and Richard,
The way you describe and share your experience with us, commits us to be better every day.
For all the staff of your Iberostar Playa Blanca it is very important to give with our services the creation of unforgettable moments.

Thank you for sharing with the rest of the world and giving us the opportunity to be recognized for your comments.
We hope to welcome you again,

Saludos,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Two of my really good friends were celebrating monumental birthdays so we decided to go to Cuba. This was their first time and by the end of the trip they couldn’t stop singing I had the time my life . Everything was perfect, but the staff and how we were treated stands out the most. They made us feel so special...like royalty. We left there calling them family. A very special thank you to Dianely in Public Relations, John, Julie, Luiz and Nebbie, all part of the entertainment crew and last but certainly not least Juan the waiter in the snack bar and restaurant. Thanks for the amazing memories guys. We love you and will most certainly be back to see you. Please if you have a chance go to Cayo Largo and stay at the Iberostar Playa Blanca. You won’t regret it.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
4  Thank Nateshia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada B, Director General at IBEROSTAR Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Nateshia,
Is grateful for all the staff of your Iberostar Playa Blanca to be part of unforgettable moments, to be conceived ¨family¨ and that you share it with the rest of the world commits us to give the best of our service every day.
Your special mentions will be transmitted to the staff..
We hope to welcome you in the near future, to be part of an unforgettable vacation again..

Saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

My boyfriend and i chose this resort to relax and spend time together, and thats what we got. This resort is on a very small island with town consisting of aprox 5 things i.e.:medicentre, store, bank, turtle hatchery, town hall with 3 souvenir stands. There was no beach while we were there, you have to be transported by a neat train to town and then a boat brings you to a beautiful beach that you rent chairs/umbrella 2cuc/person, the transportation leaves 3x/day and returns 3x/day.Our room was simple but very clean, although our fridge, air conditioner and tv didn't work-we asked 5x for the Tv to be fixed as a soccer game was on during the week-but, never got someone to fix tv. The pool is clean and chairs/umbrellas are ample.I have to talk about the food...Cuba is known for bland food, so bring hot sauce, or a sauce of your choice!!! The food was bad, overcooked, bland chicken and rice got tired fast and deserts are from the night before(i understand not wasting but dry at dinner and the next day)Omelettes are the best choice. There is 2 ala carts/week and the snack bar was a good dinner, but Rancheros was a poor experience-We came on time and waited for a while to get seated, then 10mins for water and the menu choices, the food was bad(Cheese cake is not cheesecake, no recognizable cheese is used to make it)The restaurant had 8tables being used but staff spent 45mins setting up a table for 20 so the guests during that time slot were not served. There is huge lobsters for 25cuc at Serenis beach-amazing!!! Entertainment is really wonderful and enjoyed it each night, the dancers have skills. The bartenders were also great, i liked the bar beside the stage cause they put chocolate on the bottom of the glasses and the server Orismel was such a great guy, polite and friendly (we had him at the snack bar for dinner and each night for entertainment)

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa1980_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada B, Director General at IBEROSTAR Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

On behalf of all the staff of Iberostar Playa Blanca, we want you to know that we are grateful for your comments, especially those that contribute to improving our services. Once again, we want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

This resort showed definite damage from a storm, as close to half of the resort still was boarded or windows taped up when we visited this resort in January 2018. BIGGEST complaint is there was a fresh water and toilet flushing problem the entire week we were there. They had a serious water issue getting to the resort 10 days before we arrived, and because I booked our trip 2 days before arriving there, they should not have accepted our reservation. The trip was not enjoyable, as public toilets were overflowing, and not in working order. My thought goes to the kitchen staff...going to the bathroom at lunch time, not being able to flush toilet OR wash hands before coming back to continue preparing lunch or dinner. Our trip was through Air Transat and between Air Transat and Iberostar Head office, no one wants to take responsibility for this poor trip my husband and I went on. I was looking for a refund as it took us three years to save up for this trip, only to have a terrible time at a hotel that should not have been open for business! I did get a voucher from Air Transat in the amount of $150.00 X 2 (for each passenger) but really, I pay 2,000 to go and I get 300.00 back! And it's not even cash, I have to use Air Transat again! which not sure I trust them any longer.... It's very disheartening as I loved the Iberostar resorts in the past, but they have caused me to look at the company differently when you cannot deal with something you clearly should have been aware of (water issues and units needing much repair from the damage of the storm) If I knew that this vacation was going to turn out so badly I would have taken photos of the resort to prove, be aware of this resort, it needs to be fixed up and in working order before it can be full again. #Iberostarfails #airtransatnothelpful #nowaterIberostar

Room Tip: it's on a gorgeous area, total island, not much of a beach but you can get to a beautiful beach near by for free
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank TravelSunshine09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityMCuba, Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for sending us your feedback and for making our hotel Iberostar Playa Blanca the hotel of your choice for your recent holiday.

We truly regret to read that we have not been able to meet your expectations regarding cleanliness due to the water problem we had in the area, which has affected the entire island, and it surprises us, as we follow a strict cleaning protocol and we are characterized for our immaculate and pristine hotels, we totally agree that correct hygiene is essential to offer a comfortable stay for our guests, and we assure you that this is our goal. We have passed on your comments to the correct department and we are sorry that this made your holiday seem less than perfect.
We apologize for haven't made the stay as pleasant as you expected. We have strict sanitary procedures supervised for an external corporation that certifies the quality in services, especially the food. We are very meticulous in the way we handle the food and how we prepare them.
Regarding the situation mentioned about your tour, we regret the inconveniences caused. It is as an external company and independent of Iberostar and therefore they have their own policies, however it is our concern to ensure that quality services are delivered to our mutual customers, to achieve their complete satisfaction. We will look into it.

Anyway, the hotel management team had read your review and will work hard to avoid fail again on meeting the expectations of other guests.

Our door is wide open in case you want to give us the chance to host you under better circumstances.

Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We went for our second time to this resort march 19th 2018 till march 26th and as always great staff and great entertainment always something to eat.Rooms were always clean and great beach and bar staff in lobby was great and will definetly will be back next year this place is paradise pools were great jacuzzi always clean jeff dejong lori baxter

Room Tip: Had a room in the main building and one by the ocean both great
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wild0ne1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada B, Director General at IBEROSTAR Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Lori and Jeff,
On behalf of all the staff of your Iberostar Playa Blanca, we thank you infinitely your comments and loyalty for this your home away from home. We all await for you with open arms for the enjoyment of your well-deserved vacation.

Saludos,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews